We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most accommodating staff we encountered in Ireland! Great place!”
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #5 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2010

My boyfriend and I booked a total of 5 nights at the Croke Park Hotel, both the beginning and end of our trip to Ireland. Having lived in Ireland for a little bit I knew that this hotel wasn't going to be in the very center of Dublin like the Gresham, and I preferred it that way. It would only take us about 10 minutes to walk to O'Connell street, add another 10 minutes to get to Temple Bar & Grafton St. Its a pleasant walk, you pass a large Police Station and a cute park along some residential neighborhoods that have a lot of B&B's. The streets you travel are not as touristy as other parts of the city (so you'll see litter) but other than that I felt safe walking back to the hotel, even at 2am. If you are going to see a match at Croke Park, this is the best possible hotel you could ask for.
We arrived at the hotel in the morning on Oct. 2nd, even though check-in wasn't until much later in the day we decided to see if by chance our room was ready since we were beat from our long flight. The staff was amazing! Not only did they allow us an early check-in but they were very informative and helpful. Later that afternoon, I tried to straight iron my hair, so I used my adapter that I used during my last trip, well unfortunately it was busted, so when I plugged in my flat iron, I blew the circuit to our room, how emabarrassing! So I had to walk shamefully down to the desk and explain what I did =(
The concierge was so pleasant (I wish I could remember the gentleman's name), not only did he take a look at my adapter, come upstairs to our room to fix the circuit, but he also offered to let me borrow an flat iron for $20, in which I would get the $20 back upon return. I was so impressed with the service (and the flat iron, it had to be worth at least $150). I was so appreciative!
The rooms were amazing! Everything is updated. large bathroom with a big glass shower and a large tub. Big mirrors to do your hair & make-up in. (Tip, the rooms power won't come on unless you put your room key in the little contraption when you first walk in, same goes with the elevators, which makes the hotel very safe).
The bed was large and great for sleeping. Everything was super clean (the maid staff very friendly as well). The breakfast is very good, I would try not to miss it! The have a very nice bar/restaurant and it gets pretty busy in the evenings. The Fitness facility is not very large but its perfect for the size of the hotel. All the equipment is new. Tv's and music provided along with fresj fruit, newspapers, towels and water. I loved that I could go down in the morning and get a few minutes of exercise in. I also should mention that for those of you who do not want to walk a lot, there's usually always a cab outside for those just in case moments (we had one being late from getting back form the Jameson Distillery (which is def worth a visit as well).
I would highly recommend this hotel, our stay was perfect!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nickels91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,990 - 3,996 of 4,733 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2010

This was our first stop on our Ireland vacation and we received a warm friendly welcome to the country here. Our plane got in a 7am, so by the time we collected our car and got to the hotel it was only 10am, and our rooms were not ready but they allowed us to park in the garage, use the main guest baths to freshen up and the concierge was incredibly helpful. Once we got in the rooms they proved very clean and modern. Very sizable bathrooms for Europe including a massive tub and separate shower. Comfortable bed and all the conveniences you could ask for in the room. The walk to city center wasn't bad at all (and we did it quite a few times!), probably 10-15 minutes. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. We stayed at Burlington Hotel on our last night back in Dublin really wished we had booked the Croke Park Hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lcb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

The hotel was of excellent quality ! our room was great and an extra bed was added for one of our children. For a hotel so far out of town i thought the food and drink prices were too high. We did not eat there because of this. But my oh my those lifts have a mind of there own. We spent 7 minutes one evening trying to get from the car park ( -1 ) to our room on ( 1 ). With young kids that can be more of a chore thatn you know ! We had to exit one lift at the ground level. it only went down. and wait for another lift to arrive which despite pressing 1 we were dispatched to floor 4 and then back to ground again before eventually getting to our floor on the 4th attempt. No it wasnt us , we met 4 or 5 people who left the lifts in fustration and used the poorly marked stairs.. Come on Ladies and Gents in the Croke park Hotel sort out the lifts and give us more time to enjoy Dublin..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lochGorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

The place is corporate & soulless, but that's nothing new for a lot of hotel in Ireland & is a matter of taste to be honest so that's not my concern with this place.
I had a series of issues with the hotel which I left a note explaining to the management but the major problems were
A freezing cold room on check-in so much so I had to leave for an hour for it to become habitable.
Broken chair
Broken locker door
Tea /coffee stained cups
No bedside lights
All the lighting on one circuit (wall, ceiling, above the bed).
A shower that was plumbed backwards (pressure control marked temperature, temp marked pressure).
Kitchens that close 1/2 hour earlier if you want to eat in the bar rather than pay an extra €5 for room service.
All in all, I would recommend staying anywhere else in Dublin, unless you REALLY need to be across the road from the stadium. That's its only saving grace.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hhavatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Stayed at the Croke Park Hotel twice in October. Great hotel with excellent services. Room was large and well decorated. Excellent bathroom with both stall shower and tub. Terrific complimentary breakfast. Also provided complimentary computer and Wifi services. Good staff that provided very fine services. Only negative is its location which was near the airport (good for us), but not near central Dublin. It is right by the Rugby Stadium which was a good landmark, but did not mean anything to us.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip-Review01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Stayed in hotel for 2 nites. We were celebrating a special occassion. Upon arrival we had been upgraded to 4th floor. The room had been especially decorated with banners & balloons, as well as complimentry wine!
The staff were awesome & worked hard to ensure we had a lovely stay. Hotel is very clean & modern, some might say out of the way but this made for undisturbed sleep. The food was fantastic especially the fish! Well worth a try. We had dinner in the hotel both nites.
Only suggestion i could make to hotel is live entertainment at the weekend. We definately wouldnt have travelled into the city centre at nite time, had the hotel had a band.
We will definately return to Dublin & to the Croke Park hotel, in the near future, hopefully before christmas!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devlin1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanSmullen, General Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2010

Dear Devlin1810

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Your kind comments regarding the team here in Croke Park are fantastic to read. Our aim is to provide highly individual luxury experiences to our guests, and it made me proud to read that we succeeded in delivering this to you.

If I can be of any assistance in the future please feel free to contact me directly and I look forward to welcoming you back to Croke Park.


Yours sincerely,


Alan Smullen
Hotel Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

I stayed one night, and thought it was great. Good sized very clean room. Friendly & helpful staff. The only drawback I can think of is that it's a bit of a walk to many of the typical Dublin tourist attractions.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
Thank jsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
2,067 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £82 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing