We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad, bad service in the restaurant”
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardmore Hotel
Ranked #100 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 6 June 2008

Booked this trip as a surprise for my mum for her 70th birthday. The restaurant looked lovely when we arrived and we decided to have her birthday meal there. Upon being seated, we waited 25 minutes at least for our drinks to arrive. The waitress had trouble grasping what a "diet coke" was. We then proceeded to watch while another individual went round every table with our starters before bringing them to our table. The portions were tiny and the customer service beyond appalling. When we complained, no-one seemed interested. We asked for the duty manager and was advised by the inept individual who had previosuly taken our food to the wrong table, that he was the duty manager and the problem stemmed from having only one chef in the kitchen. This experience thoroughly wasted what should have been a memorable evening.
The hotel itself was more than adequate, however, if you are intending to stay at the Ardmore, I would recommend that you don't eat at the restaurant - heaven knows how they would cope if it was busy.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank ChezScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
There are newer reviews for Ardmore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2008

We were booked with a tour group and arrived four hours before the rooms were ready. When we finally got settled, we discovered that there was no electricity in the room: no lights, no outlets, no TV. Staff was unable to correct the problem and there were no other available rooms for us to switch. It was a long, dark night. When we returned at the end of the tour, we found flowers, a chilled bottle of wine and two boxes of chocolates waiting for us, along with a sincere letter of apology. Nice effort! Food in the bar was excellent. The biggest drawback is the distance to the center of the city, but the #40 bus stops right in front of the hotel.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank SpryWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

We stayed for our last night in Ireland after a 17 day trip, arrived early, 11 am, couldn't check in but were able to park car in locked underground car park, and take bus into city center. returned at 5:30pm, got our room on 2nd floor, nice clean and comfortable, flat screen tv, coffee and tea fixings,nice decor, but loud road noise from N2 out front.Excellant service, cheap food from room service.excellant staff.Highly recommend this for a place to stay north of city center.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbill72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2008

We got a very good deal at this hotel - two nights in a double room cost us £84 without breakfast .
Our full Irish breakfast which cost 15 euros per head was inedible and served by rather slovenly staff.
We decided to head into Dublin for breakfast on our second morning -- Debenhams does a fantastic breakfast until 11.30am!
The standard of accommodation was good with plenty of space in our room which was nicely decorated but the bathroom floor could have been cleaner.
Our taxi from the airport was quite expensive at 21 euros to our hotel, but we used the buses which stop just across the road from the hotel during the rest of our visit and spent our last morning in Dublin city centre where we joined the Airport bus at 7 euros each direct to Dublin airport.This bus runs from 0'Connell Street every 15 minutes.
The hop on hop off Dublin Tour bus is a must for anyone who hasn't been to Dublin before since it gives you the chance to get your bearings

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

One night at the Ardmore hotel was more than enough. The first thing I would like to mention is that the hotel is not as close to the city centre, despite what their website indicates. While the location is not ideal, it was at least well-serviced by the busses. The receptionist was friendly but seemed overwhelmed by the amount of booking errors she had to rectify - and did so unsuccessfully. We booked a room with a double bed and instead were given two single beds. Another couple we spoke to at the hotel had to go back to reception multiple times due to the problems with the different rooms they received. We arrived at 1pm and were told we'd have to wait until 2pm before our room was ready. We returned at 2pm and only after another 45-minute wait did we get to our room. It really did not feel like we had booked this months in advance! The room itself was fine, aside from having the wrong type of bed. The complementary tea and coffee was nothing to get too excited about. And while the hotel advertised itself as having free wifi in the rooms, it was only available on the ground floor. Our stay at the Ardmore was short, so our impression is merely left from a problematic check-in and disappointment from false advertising on their website.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Leeandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2008

My friends and I booked flights to Dublin for a short break over Easter weekend. We were very shocked when we started looking at hotels as everywhere seemed to be expensive. We eventually came across the Ardmore which was a little way out (about 2.5 miles) but had rooms at a very reasonable price.
We arrived quite late and were pleasantly suprised by the hotel. The reception staff were helpful and the rooms spacious, clean and modern. It takes about 15 to 20 minutes on a bus to get into the centre of town and we never had to wait more than 15 minutes for one to come along.
I guess the only downside is the area the hotel is situated in.... one of my I rish friends commented "so tell me, how exactly did you end up in Finglas" - apparently it is a pretty rough area!
However, we did not experience any trouble and would happily stay at the hotel again given it's price and the quality you get in return.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paloma34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

The Ardmore had very nice, large rooms. Everything was clean and the staff was very friendly. There was a nice bar attached to the hotel that had good prices on drinks. It was pretty far from the city center, way too far to walk. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel but it still takes awhile to get downtown. I would not stay there if you are interested in seeing the sights.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JackieJaxx84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
2.2 mi away
Metro Hotel Dublin Airport
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
2.1 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,947 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Phoenix Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Hotel

Address: Finglas Road, Tolka Valley, Dublin 11, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened May 1, 2005 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ardmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing