We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hotel with lovely staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardmore Hotel
Ranked #96 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel with lovely staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I booked this hotel for my Mum's birthday present for a trip for myself and her. It was an excellent price and thats the main reason for booking. Being so cheap, I didn't think it was going to be as fantastic as it was!

The location of the hotel is just north of Dublin city centre in Finglas. It's easy to access the centre by using buses. There's a bus stop into the centre across the road and the 140 bus from the centre stopped directly outside the hotel. Alternatively the 40 bus stops just a 5 minuet walk away. It's fairly cheap to get into the centre - costly about 2.40euros each one way.

The hotel itself is very well presented, clean and has good facilities. The rooms are of good really size - we had a twin room with two single beds and a small table and chairs. In the room there's also a TV, Tea/Coffe making facilities and glass cups. There's also an ice machine out in the corridor next to a couple of vending machines. The bathrooms are good size with bath and shower facilities. Showergel and Soap is also provided and towels changed up to daily if needed. Theres also a hairdryer in the main room.

As the hotel is on a main road there is some noise from outside traffic but its not overly noisey - just as you'd expect from a city area.

During our hotel we ate at the hotel a few times for Breakfast and Evening meal.
Breakfast is really good - it costs 9.50euros for a full Irish breakfast, which is a little pricey for some peoples liking but there's plenty of food avaliable. This includes; Tea/Coffee, Orange/Apple/Grapefruit juice, Water, Toast/Bread, Cereals, Pastries and Crossiants, Yoghurts, Fruit such as pineapple and berries, Cheese, Ham, Sausage, Bacon, White and Black pudding, Fried Egg, Beans, Mushrooms. Also avaliable are items such as Porridge or Scrambled egg on asking staff.
Evening meal is also very good with plenty of differnent options of starters and mains avaliable in the bar. For instance; Salmon, Prawns, Soups and so on for starters. Mains including; Steak sandwhich, Pasta, Curries, Burgers and so on. Prices for the meals in the bar are slightly expensive but it obviously depends on what you have and you've got to remeber it is a city so prices are always higher.
Drinks in the bar are as normal - plenty of variety. Again, slightly expensive but it's cheaper than the main area.
If your thinking of alternative places to eat/drink then it's got to be the main city centre as there isn't anywhere close to the hotel except the hotel itself.

Also on the Saturday there was entertainment on in the main bar, although we didn't stay for this as we were knackered for walking around all day! The hotel also offers a DVD night where you can rent a DVD player, DVD from a big and varied selection, get a 2 litre bottle of fizzy drink and a big bowl of popcorn. Free Wifi is also avaliable in the hotel and there is a computer downstairs.

What makes the hotel is the staff. The are all incredibly friendly, helpful and attentive. On checking out the receptionist asked if we would like a taxi or needed to leave our bags at the hotel. Additionally, all waiters/waitresses were very good - asking if everything was alright or if we needed anything else and so on.

Overall, I would definately reconmend this hotel as it's absoultely fantastic especially for the price we paid!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Happy Belated birthday to your Mum!! I am delighted that you chose to spend her birthday treat at the Ardmore Hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have posted your review on our staff notice board as it is always nice for our staff to receive the feedback sent by guests.
I hope that you are returning to Dublin in the near future and that you will come and stay with us again.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    244
    76
    23
    15
See reviews for
64
216
43
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Could not praise the hotel or staff more. Comfy beds. Great location (you can park securely and get into town easily). Really friendly staff who went above and beyond (we have two small children snd had lots of requests). Food in car was lovely too. I will stay here again when we are in Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your 'Fantastic' review of the Ardmore Hotel. I am delighted that you found all of the staff to be really friendly who went above and beyond. As always, I will post your review on our staff notice board so that they too can see your kind comments. I really do hope that you are visiting Dublin again and that you will come and visit us at the Ardmore Hotel.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is very clean and although not central it is very close to the famous Glasnevin Cemetery and Botanic Gardens. If you are in town on a budget this hotel offers good rates, free parking (adjacent to hotel and also in the area as it is mainly residential). Clean and modern rooms...Perfect for business stay or leisure..

Glasnevin museum hosts weekly events and exhibitions and a guided tour around cemetery is certainly worth a go. Coffee shop has fantastic breakfast menu, French toast brioche being personal favourite accompanied by a strong latte...definitely a good start to any day.

If you are heading to Botanic Gardens, make sure to stop at the pub called "Gravediggers" (less commonly known as Kavanagh's) at the back of the cemetery and around the corner from the gardens..You can sit out on the sunny day...Good atmosphere and full of locals...

Room Tip: Rooms are very standard but if you want to have a good sleep, try and ask for a room with a window f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrlandeRussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Ardmore Hotel and got to experience the local attractions. I am not sure if you were too early for it but recently there has been an entrance created between the two so that you can go between the Glasnevin Museum and the Botanic Gardens making visits that much easier.
I hope that you are in Dublin again soon and that you return to the Ardmore Hotel when you are.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Reception area is clean and welcoming
Booking in was speedy
All members of staff were polite and friendly
Rooms are clean and quite large
I was at the front of the hotel so the early morning traffic was quite noisy.
Breakfast was good
Evening meal in the bar was served quickly and the member of staff was very hospitable
Food in bar was good for the money you paid
Booking out was simple
There is nothing in the area to walk to at night or in the day for that matter unless you like tesco or Burger King
Would stay again for business as it suited all my needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Ardmore Hotel. I am delighted that you found the hotel to be your liking and the staff and service to be efficient. I understand that you were staying for business purposes and so there may have been time constraints but if you do return be sure to leave some time to go to the Botanic Gardens which are a short walk or if preferable an even shorter bus ride from the hotel. They are connected to Glasnevin Cemetary of which you can take a walk about yourself or do a tour of the cemetery and museum.
You mention that you found the Bar Food to be of good quality and value, I am glad to hear it- the 15% off food which hotel guests receive is very enticing.
I hope that you return to Dublin again in the near future and look forward to welcoming you to the Ardmore Hotel.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silver spring, md
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The Ardmore is a basic hotel in the Finglas area of Dublin (accessible by bus across the street from the hotel). It is an affordable, no-frill, older hotel with very good and friendly service.

The rooms have thin walls, so it's important to bring earplugs (this was true of all the hotels in which we stayed in Ireland). The room was also warm so we slept with the window open...a slight problem since we were just above the recycling/garbage area and were awoken each morning with the sound of glass being sorted.

The hotel is within walking distance (5 min) to the grocery store which was a plus for us. The city bus costs about $1.80E to ride into town and about $10E for a taxi. You need exact change (no bills) for the bus. The location of the hotel is extremely convenient to Glesnevin Cemetary, the Botanic Garden and the wonderful 'Gravediggers Pub'/Kavanagh's on Prospect Rd.

Although several people (taxi driver, waitress, locals on the street) cautioned us about walking around the hotel neighborhood at night, we did find ourselves walking home from a pub one evening, to and from the grocery store another, and had no problem. However, we were watchful and aware of our surroundings. The main road is dark and there are not many people on the street.

The service is wonderful - all of the young women at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful with travel advice, making change for our bus fares, sending for ice to our room, and calling taxis. One morning, i misplaced my jewelry bag and called the front desk to report it missing..the manager immediately came up to collect information and was extremely efficient and concerned. When I realized my error and let them know I had found it, they were gracious and did not make me feel embarrassed by my mistake.

Room Tip: Avoid room on the second floor that overlooks the garbage recycling area due to the noise of the sor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citygirl4evah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Ardmore Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent trip to Dublin and even got to see the filming of the new Mrs Brown's Boys. We are indeed very well located to visit the beautiful Botanic Gardens and Glasnevin Cemetary which are both well worth a visit for anyone coming to Dublin.
As you mention, like any large city or area it is important to take care when walking around Dublin and its suburbs especially late in the evening and you are unfamiliar with the area.
I will pass your kind comments on to the staff of the hotel who will be happy to receive your comments, in particular the Front Desk Staff that you complimented so nicely.
I hope that you return to Dublin and are able to visit us in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed here on my visit to Dublin. The hotel itself is fine. The rooms are slightly worn but not too bad. The bathroom was in good condition. I didn't realize how far from the city center the hotel was. It wasn't very conveniently located unless you are taking a cab to the airport which was relatively short ride.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank and_beyondChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Ardmore Hotel and despite the location not being suitable to your particular needs, giving us an overall good score. As you mention we are located between the Airport and the City Centre- buses stop outside the door going to the City Centre and we have a set rate to the Airport by taxi which is €19.00. I am delighted that you found the hotel to be good overall and hope that if the location does suit you in the future that you will be returning to visit us.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

-Great hotel with free wireless and a lot of information about interesting things to do in your stay.
-Great location, bus stop just across the street (bus 140) takes 10min to the city center (O’Connell Street).
- Staff is nice and friendly and can help you throughout your stay
- the room was comfortable, clean modern and well equipped. With a nice and clean bathroom.
-Near to Glasnevin Cemetery, an amazing interest point
I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TILL-Joao-Cardoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the Ardmore Hotel. I am delighted that you had a good time and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope that you are returning to Dublin again in the near future and that if you are that you return to the Ardmore Hotel.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
Travelodge Phoenix Park
#2 of 3 in Castleknock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Regency Hotel Dublin
#117 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
West County Hotel
#87 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Rathfarnham
Abrae Court Guesthouse
Abrae Court Guesthouse
#103 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Hotel

Property: Ardmore Hotel
Address: Finglas Road, Tolka Valley, Dublin 11, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened May 1, 2005 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardmore Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing