We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but nothing special”
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardmore Hotel
Ranked #100 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We have stayed at the Ardmore Hotel a few times before & it had been good value for money, although this has been over the last 8 years when it was still fairly new. This time however, we were disappointed. We were over for a family funeral.
The room was, as usual, a good size with a comfy bed & Tea/Coffee facilities in the room. This was marred though by the fact that it overlooked the rear of the hotel & local houses gardens. We were kept awake by barking dogs for 3 of our 4 night stay. The domestic staff didn't empty the little pedal bin in the bathroom at all during our stay but the rest of the room and bathroom were cleaned and tidied.
Reception staff were friendly but not as helpful as could be. The receptionist had to ask the duty manager if it was possible when we tried to order room service and when we asked to borrow an umbrella (as stated in the info pack in the room). On one day we were standing at the reception doors trying to leave & had to ask the receptionist to open the doors to let us out.This was at half past nine in the morning.
They offer free wifi in all rooms, however it is far from useable. Although our devices connected well & showed full wifi reception, it was almost impossible to use the Internet. Landline Dial up would have been faster & more reliable. More often than not the connection failed to open the page & timed out. When I asked at reception, I was told it was probably my device & to turn it off & on again. I did & the problem remained so the receptionist then said she could restart their wifi but that would affect the whole hotel & she didn't want to do that.
All in all a disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 324 or those in the same corridor unless you like being kept awake by barking do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodgerous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you did not feel that the Ardmore Hotel offered you anything special. In relation to the points that you made, thank you for pointing out the issues that you experienced at Reception. We do have umbrellas at the hotel, clearly on the wet day that you required them there were not enough- we will replenish our stock to make sure that we do not run out again. I am not sure what reason the Receptionist would have to check with the Duty Manager regarding room service, unless it was out of hours, you do not mention so I cannot comment. We offer room service breakfast until 10 am each morning, usually guests fill out their card the night before and we collect them from the rooms. Room service is available 24 hours per day for sandwiches and until 10pm Monday to Saturday hot food is available, until 9.30pm on Sunday.
The fact that your pedal bin was not emptied was an oversight and I apologise for this, I am delighted to hear that apart from that the room was cleaned and tidied. Our wifi system has recently been upgraded, I am sorry to hear that it was not working or timing out on your device- once the signal is being picked up there should not be an issue, I will have our Computer Company look at this in the room that you have indicated.
Again, I am sorry that you were not entirely happy with your stay but thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, only by getting feedback from guests can we work to continually improve the service at our hotel.

Kind Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel is very nice, staff helpful. Location is a little hard to find butonce there it's good, there are bus stops right across the street and its about 30 min bus ride to downtown. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Ardmore Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hoe that you return to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a fine hotel if you need to be in the area. The rooms are basic but are a decent size with a comfortable bed and are well maintained and clean. The staff are friendly and the breakfast is good. Underground parking and wifi are both free. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dochogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the Ardmore Hotel. I am happy to hear that on your stay with us you found that we exceeded your expectations. I hope that you will come back to stay with us again soon.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had the afters of a funeral here in mid December. The hotel was busy but it did not impact on the service we received. This was second to none. The staff here is terrific. They are all very pleasant and could not do enough for us all. They went out of their way to ensure all our guests were accommodated, even the fussy ones who wanted peppermint tea. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was hot, tasty and plentiful. Can highly recommend the Ardmore.
A friend stayed at the hotel the night before the funeral. Her room was spotlessly clean, bed comfortable and again she commented on how nice the employees were.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrienneHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel and your experience at the funeral which you attended. Also for passing on the comments that your friend made about the overnight stay. I hope that when you visit us next time that it will be for a happier occasion.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Wanted to stay just outside Dublin and found this hotel, only €55 for a double room, no breakfast, very clean, everything you'd need. Nice bar, candles on tables, friendly staff. Great FREE underground parking.

Room Tip: Ask fir better pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decbIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of the Ardmore Hotel. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with the free parking, the room and the cleanliness of the hotel.
I hope that you will return to us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Ardmore Hotel in the Finglas section of Dublin is every traveler's dream: location, convenience, amenities, dining, pub, underground carpark, friendly helpful staff, reasonable price, modern comfortable rooms, Internet access. We started & ended our tour of Ireland at Ardmore: two days in Dublin, then by rental car to Cork, Killarney & Dingle & back to Ardmore on the M50 Motorway from Limerick for 4 more days in the Dublin area. Frequent busses into Dublin right in front of the hotel so we didn't need to drive into center city, & only a short trip to Dublin Airport. Tasty Smithwicks (Smit-ix) Ale & many others on tap @ Premier Bar where 'locals' frequent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed both of your stays with us at the Ardmore Hotel. It is not often that people choose the Smithwicks over the Guinness, you definitely must have been speaking to our friendly local clientele if they were recommending that you drink it. As you mention the hotel is very suitable for guests travelling around Ireland as we are only minutes from the M50. I hope that you decide to return to Ireland to visit other parts and that when you do the Ardmore Hotel is once again your base.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel kept in good condition, clean spacious comfortable rooms. Free Wifi, secure free parking, good food, good bar, good prices. I have used this hotel several times now and will continue to do so. Locals seem to use the bar and it adds to the atmosphere.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,
It is very nice to hear that you stay with us on a continuous basis and that you are pleased with the hotel and Premier Bar. Thank you for taking this time to review the hotel and I hope that you continue to choose the Ardmore Hotel to stay in when you are in Dublin.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
2.2 mi away
Metro Hotel Dublin Airport
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
3.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Hotel

Address: Finglas Road, Tolka Valley, Dublin 11, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened May 1, 2005 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ardmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing