We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle class”
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardmore Hotel
Ranked #98 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Varies all the time
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Middle class”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel is situated appr. 15 minutes from the city centre by bus. From Connell Street take bus 140 or 40D and tell the driver that you are going to Ardmore. The price of the ticket is 2.60 euro unless you have a Leap card (available at Spar shops, can be topped up), then it is cheaper.
Lobby is rather spacious and has an internet terminal. Breakfast room is also spacious and the selection of buffet breakfast is ok (price 9,50 euro).
Our double room was ok as far the size is concerned. There were some slight signs of wear&tear but in general it was acceptable. The bed had rather soft mattrass. Quite a few tv channels and old cathode ray tube style television device.
We had some difficulties during our visit: the key cards stopped to work so we had to go to the lobby and complain about that. We were helped swiftly - no apologies however.
Ardmore is totally ok and somewhat easy to reach from botn the city and airport. Nothing special though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SneakerGeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that you thought our hotel was nothing special but thank you for taking the time to review it. It is unfortunate that you had difficulty with the key, I am happy to hear that the issue was resolved quickly. I hope that you do return to stay with us again in the future, as you mention the hotel is very convenient, accessible by different bus routes which have buses stopping just outside the door, our breakfast is very reasonable and we offer 15% off our Bar Menu.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    244
    76
    23
    15
See reviews for
64
216
43
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in May 2014 for 14 nights. You get what you pay for. Staff not really engaging - not really helpful. Had an issue with messages not getting passed along. The hotel is close to public transport with stops just out side the hotel however the hotel is about 20 mins away on bus.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Australian_aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing the Ardmore Hotel. I am surprised and sorry to hear that you did not find the staff very engaging. It is disappointing to hear that you felt that there was an issue with your receiving messages, a company that was to provide a tour for you did call and confirm the email address of the hotel but did not leave a message-they simply confirmed our email address, no email was received for you and no follow up call was received from that company to ensure we got something that they believed that they sent which you would expect since they were cancelling your arrangements with them and the email was obviously of great importance to you. I can assure you had they left a message or sent an email it would have been passed on. That being said I hope that you enjoyed your trip to Ireland and hope that you return again soon. As you mention the hotel is very convenient for the city centre with buses stopping outside of the hotel.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had a one night business stopover in the north city area. This hotel filled the bill perfectly. Great value rate for bed and breakfast. Staff excellent. Room clean and comfortable. Bar food in the evening was exceptional. Free car parking. No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to be exactly what you wanted. I hope that you will return to Dublin in the near future and that you will stay at the Ardmore Hotel again.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel in May 2014 for four nights and I have only good things to say. The room was always very clean, the staff was amazing, always eagger to help and always so thoughtful in little gestures for the everydays towards guests.

Definitely will come back in the next opportunity.

Room Tip: My room faced the street but still I cannot say the noise bothered me. The area is calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the lovely review that you gave the Ardmore Hotel, I have passed your kind comments on to the staff who will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you have occasion to come and stay with us again in the near future.
Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed 4 nights on November 2013 and must say that the price was really low for 2 persons (even including good breakfast).Many people have complained that it is far away from the city but i say that its not true! There are several buses going to the city so you'll have to wait on average less than 10 minutes and the stop is just 50 meters from the hotel so I wouldn't complain. Besides the views are nice from the double deckers upper level so try it.
Pros and cons are:
+ Really cheap
+Good breakfast and okay dining
+Nice bar with a good feeling
+Location is okay considering the bus connection
+Staff were nice

- Rooms can be a bit noisy if facing the road which is just 15 meters away (ask rooms facing opposite direction!)

In total I would highly recommend this hotel for a budget stay and why not for everyone else also. In my opinion its not worth paying fortunes for hotel if your only gonna sleep there. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: Pick a room which inst facing the road next to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeppenaattori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 4 night stay with us. I am glad that you found the breakfast, bar and the staff to be nice. As you mention we are very convenient for guests that are travelling to the city. I am happy that you were pleased with our reasonable room rates, in addition to this we also offer 15% off our Bar Food Menu. I hope that you choose to come to Dublin again soon and that when you do you return to the Ardmore Hotel.
Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for five nights - our welcome was very business like, the room was clean and quiet. The food in the premier bar was excellent and with 15% discount good value for money. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel as felt this was a little expensive. Whilst the hotel is a little way out of the city centre there are at least three buses that run right past the door 140, 40d and 40?? - they usually run from O'Connell Street or Parnell Square West - at as the stops are clearly signposted announcing when the next bus is arriving it is a great service. Just one observation if you are using the public transport it is a little sparse on Sunday mornings so check if have any plans that day. We invested in a five day rambler ticket which gave us unlimited travel on the buses for 5 non consecutive days and included the airport transfers.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 222 which was quiet other than when you opened the window it did howl through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HFD093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, a really lovely, modern hotel. Our room was great, the pillows were too thin for our liking but bathroom, decor etc was lovely. Underground parking was great, saved any worry about the hire car. On our first evening we ate at the restaurant (show your room card to get a 15% discount!) And the food, both meals were beautiful! Both were good sized portions. The staff were very professional throughout the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the Ardmore Hotel. I am sorry to hear that the pillows were a little thin for your liking, if you do come to stay with us again in the future be sure to contact us in advance so that we can arrange some pillows that are a little more plump, it is a shame to let something so simple spoil a night sleep. I have passed on your comments to the staff who I am sure will be delighted to hear your nice words.
Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
2.1 mi away
Marino Conference Centre
Marino Conference Centre
#122 of 151 in Dublin
6 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Phoenix Park
Travelodge Phoenix Park
#2 of 3 in Castleknock
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
2.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Smithfield
1.3 mi away
Sycamore House
Sycamore House
#64 of 150 in Dublin
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Hotel

Property: Ardmore Hotel
Address: Finglas Road, Tolka Valley, Dublin 11, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened May 1, 2005 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ardmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing