We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardmore Hotel
Ranked #100 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 13 November 2008

Stayed in the Ardmore last Saturday night, booked online and got good rate. Like to park in underground carpark as feel safer, is included in the rate.
Room was nice, clean and best of all had free wifi.
It was pouring rain so we decided to eat in hotel bar. Food was excellent and staff very friendly.
Over all I found everyone very helpful from the receptionist who gave us helpful tips on where to go in Dublin to the bar staff who were nice and chatty. Definately one to recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pauloc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2008

The is a a comfortable hotel located not too far from the airport. It is a new hotel and is very well decorated. Just 10 minutes from the airport, it is quiet and peaceful . The staff are very accomodating and friendly, but never intrusive. We stayed two nights and we enjoyed it. Secure parking for our car was included. This hotel is reasonably priced and offers good value for a city break.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PMagnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

I booked the Ardmore as a weekend getaway. A Double standard room cost £49.00. The Hotel allowed early check in at no extra charge. The room was spacious and immaculate, with a plush, modern and warming decor. An iron, ironing board and flat screen tv were in situ and the bathroom was perfect. There was a busy road outside the hotel but from the room the noise wasn't at all noticable. There are excellent transport links 20euro to or from the airport or there is a bus every few minutes to the city centre at 1.70euro. The staff at the hotel were pleasent and attentive. The onsite catering covers most palates and is competitively priced compared to the city centre. I will definitely be returning to the Ardmore in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DJBarryJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

Stayed here Aug 25th before flight to Reus. Very good value for money, very comfortable room, pleasant staff, good barfood, short taxi ride to airport and able to leave my car at hotel. Was away too early for Breakfast but on a room only rate. Would recommend and am staying there again in next week before trip to US. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MTZinzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

The Ardmore Hotel is located in the Finglas area of Dublin. Coming from the Airport, it's a 20 Euro taxi ride or you can buy an Airlink bus ticket from the tourism office in the Airport. The Airlink takes you to O'Connell St in about 20 mins (The main street in Dublin City Centre) then you jump on the number 40, 40b or 40c from Parnell St which is just around the corner, and that takes around 15mins to get to the hotel and it stops right outside the Ardmore. I'd advise anyone to buy a freedom or rambler ticket for the bus if you don't have a car or stash of cash to pay for taxi's during your stay there since it is by no means 'within walking distance' of the city centre.

The room looked great. Modern decor and very clean. It has plenty of storage space and has an iron and ironing board which comes in useful. The bathroom is the same, clean and well decorated. The beds are a good size and very comfortable.

Now for the gripe. When you first walk into the corridors coming out of the lift, it feels like you've walked into a sauna, and the rooms are no different. We were at the front of the hotel overlooking the busy road. No problems there, until you want to open the window because of the heat. Then you're confronted with noise so loud you can't hear the TV. So there's your choice, heat or noise. This doesn't work well when you want to sleep. I'd advise the hotel to stock some fans since to put in air con would be an expense i can't imagine they'd want to pay for (we did ask for fans but there were none).

Overall i'd say the hotel is great apart from noise from the road, which they can't really help, and the heating which they can. If you're going in the winter then it'd be fine!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank superstylin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Stayed at the admore last weekend and everything was perfect. firstly was greeted at reception by very professional receptionist who gave me a lovely room and helped me book dinner and city tour. every menber of staff from restaurant staff to bar staff to management was so helpful and made out stay one that i wont forget. highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a very enjoyable stay in dublin. will deffinetely be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ciararo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Stayed in the hotel for one night because it was near enough Dublin airport and cheaper than the hotels beside the airport.
The staff at reception was kind and the room itself was not that bad.
We went for dinner at the restaurant in the hotel and it was the worst meal I ever had in Ireland. The restaurant was empty which was not a good sign for a friday night. The menu was very limited. Ordered a bottle of wine from the limited wine list, half way through the starter the waiter says they don’t have it. Ordered another one, which arrived halfway through the main course uncorked. Returned the bottle and asked for an uncorked one, 10 mins later he brings another one which he could not open. I cancelled the wine order. For dessert had an apple pie which was cold and tasted worst than the ones you get in the supermarket. Food was terrible and service was the worst I have ever came across.
The hotel was very noisy all night long and did not sleep very well. Full irish breakfast in the morning was made of the cheapest, tasteless food, even all the toast was burnt!!!
I have stayed in other hotels near Dublin airport which are a bit more expensive but have learnt my lesson. First and last time in the Ardmore hotel, never ever going back there again. If you need a hotel near Dublin airport, try the Clarion!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank oranGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, Ardmore Hotel Management at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2008

Thank you for your recent review of the Cream Restaurant at the Ardmore Hotel Dublin.

We are disappointed to read that the service you received was not up to standard and I apologise for this. We have taken your comments and reviewed them to ensure that our service standards are restored and will be maintained.

The Ardmore Hotel offers good value for money in a location near both the city centre and the airport and will continue to work to ensure our guests receive friendly and efficient service.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to draw these issues to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
2.2 mi away
Metro Hotel Dublin Airport
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
3.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Hotel

Address: Finglas Road, Tolka Valley, Dublin 11, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened May 1, 2005 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ardmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing