We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price”
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardmore Hotel
Ranked #95 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price”
Reviewed 21 November 2008

Really surprised how clean and modern this hotel was.
We booked through the hotels own web site having picked up the information from the Ryan Air site whom we flew with and they were ontime and efficient so no complaints there either. The hotel is an easy bus ride (every 10 - 20 minutes) from the centre of Dublin with journeys being 1.7 Euros each way. A taxi from the airport to the hotel was 26 Euro. The hotel has a modern bar which serves bar snacks and drinks and a restaurant although this wasn't at all busy. They have a little bit of entertainment at the weekends as well. The bedrooms were very modern, exceptionally clean and quite spacious, probably on a par with Holiday Inn Express although a little better in my opinion. The reception staff were extremely helpful including helping with information about the area, booking taxis, minding luggage etc and were always cheery and polite. The area is a residential area and is probably about 3 miles from Dublin city centre (about 13 Euro in a taxi) with only a couple of bars locally. The only one we found that I would say was worth a visit if you like lively pubs / clubs is the Full Shilling in Finglas - about half a mile from the hotel. Having said that Dublin is full of bars and restaurants so probably better to head into the city if you are looking for nightlife. I would also recommend the Guinness Store House for a visit whilst you are in Dublin

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Not much in the area
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    244
    76
    23
    15
See reviews for
64
216
43
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
westport
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2008

Stayed in the Ardmore last Saturday night, booked online and got good rate. Like to park in underground carpark as feel safer, is included in the rate.
Room was nice, clean and best of all had free wifi.
It was pouring rain so we decided to eat in hotel bar. Food was excellent and staff very friendly.
Over all I found everyone very helpful from the receptionist who gave us helpful tips on where to go in Dublin to the bar staff who were nice and chatty. Definately one to recommend.

  • Liked — Free carparking and free wifi
  • Disliked — didnt come across anything
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pauloc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clackmannanshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2008

The is a a comfortable hotel located not too far from the airport. It is a new hotel and is very well decorated. Just 10 minutes from the airport, it is quiet and peaceful . The staff are very accomodating and friendly, but never intrusive. We stayed two nights and we enjoyed it. Secure parking for our car was included. This hotel is reasonably priced and offers good value for a city break.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PMagnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

I booked the Ardmore as a weekend getaway. A Double standard room cost £49.00. The Hotel allowed early check in at no extra charge. The room was spacious and immaculate, with a plush, modern and warming decor. An iron, ironing board and flat screen tv were in situ and the bathroom was perfect. There was a busy road outside the hotel but from the room the noise wasn't at all noticable. There are excellent transport links 20euro to or from the airport or there is a bus every few minutes to the city centre at 1.70euro. The staff at the hotel were pleasent and attentive. The onsite catering covers most palates and is competitively priced compared to the city centre. I will definitely be returning to the Ardmore in the near future.

  • Liked — Overall quality, room, food and value for money.
  • Disliked — No issues
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DJBarryJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Donegal, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

Stayed here Aug 25th before flight to Reus. Very good value for money, very comfortable room, pleasant staff, good barfood, short taxi ride to airport and able to leave my car at hotel. Was away too early for Breakfast but on a room only rate. Would recommend and am staying there again in next week before trip to US. Recommended.

  • Liked — Comfortable quiet room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MTZinzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2008

The Ardmore Hotel is located in the Finglas area of Dublin. Coming from the Airport, it's a 20 Euro taxi ride or you can buy an Airlink bus ticket from the tourism office in the Airport. The Airlink takes you to O'Connell St in about 20 mins (The main street in Dublin City Centre) then you jump on the number 40, 40b or 40c from Parnell St which is just around the corner, and that takes around 15mins to get to the hotel and it stops right outside the Ardmore. I'd advise anyone to buy a freedom or rambler ticket for the bus if you don't have a car or stash of cash to pay for taxi's during your stay there since it is by no means 'within walking distance' of the city centre.

The room looked great. Modern decor and very clean. It has plenty of storage space and has an iron and ironing board which comes in useful. The bathroom is the same, clean and well decorated. The beds are a good size and very comfortable.

Now for the gripe. When you first walk into the corridors coming out of the lift, it feels like you've walked into a sauna, and the rooms are no different. We were at the front of the hotel overlooking the busy road. No problems there, until you want to open the window because of the heat. Then you're confronted with noise so loud you can't hear the TV. So there's your choice, heat or noise. This doesn't work well when you want to sleep. I'd advise the hotel to stock some fans since to put in air con would be an expense i can't imagine they'd want to pay for (we did ask for fans but there were none).

Overall i'd say the hotel is great apart from noise from the road, which they can't really help, and the heating which they can. If you're going in the winter then it'd be fine!

  • Liked — Room Decor
  • Disliked — Heat and Road Noise
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank superstylin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Stayed at the admore last weekend and everything was perfect. firstly was greeted at reception by very professional receptionist who gave me a lovely room and helped me book dinner and city tour. every menber of staff from restaurant staff to bar staff to management was so helpful and made out stay one that i wont forget. highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a very enjoyable stay in dublin. will deffinetely be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ciararo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
2.1 mi away
Marino Conference Centre
Marino Conference Centre
#122 of 151 in Dublin
6 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Phoenix Park
Travelodge Phoenix Park
#2 of 3 in Castleknock
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
2.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Smithfield
1.3 mi away
Sycamore House
Sycamore House
#63 of 150 in Dublin
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Hotel

Property: Ardmore Hotel
Address: Finglas Road, Tolka Valley, Dublin 11, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened May 1, 2005 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ardmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing