We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend, Valentines and our wedding anniversary”
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardmore Hotel
Ranked #99 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Nice hotel, staff were really friendly and helpful, good modern decor/facilities. Bed was really comfy, room service. Had a great atmosphere on Valentines, and the ambience was really warm and cosy ..... made it a great romantic weekend. We chose the hotel as we were meeting some friends who live round the corner so we weren't too worried about the distance but if you want to go into the town it's a bit too far away, 20euro for a cab which was really steep but the bus back was only 1.15euro - amazingly cheap! Would defintely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldRomantic_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, Management Team at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2010

Everyone at the Ardmore Hotel would like to thank you for your kind comments and we are so delighted that you enjoyed a romantic break at the Hotel. Indeed, our Valentine's menu was decided with that in mind and we do hope that you enjoyed the treats we had available. The ambience at the hotel was great during that weekend and it made for a great Valentine's! We do hope to welcome you again in the near future and once again congratulations on your wedding anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
There are newer reviews for Ardmore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2010

It was a vacation time when i went to dublin with my wife Shaveta. Dublin is a happening place with its famous pubs. While planning the trip i went through number of web sites to explore more about dublin and plan my trip accordingly. One of the hotel name which I found common in every website was Ardmore hotel. So I booked one. Though the reviews of hotel were good on every web site but I was quite sceptic about it, dont know why but I was.

During my 2 day stay @Ardmore i reallised i was wrong. A warm welcome at my arrival was something my wife appreciated, I guess I was jealous.
Hotel was big and my suite was pretty relaxing.
Hotel is just 7 minute drive from city.

In simple words its a great hotel, at great location with great staff to help you out.

cheers
mnj81

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mnj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, Management Team at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments and for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have passed on all your kind comments to all members of staff. Next time you are in Dublin, we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Nice clean room; business feel, slight smokey smell. Bus on the doorstep to/from city centre. Good bar.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, Management Team at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2010

Thank you very much for your review. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Ardmore this past summer. I had booked online and the rate was absoloutely fantastic, so I was a little skeptical about what we'd find when we got there. We were pleasantly surprised!

The hotel is very clean with good ammenities, and has a nice modern feel. The room was a good size and clean. It was so nice to have the bar downstairs with live music. It was great to go there at the end of a long day.

There aren't many cons to this hotel, but we did feel that breakfast was a little overpriced, and the service in the breakfast room not terribly good. The hostess seemed a little stressed, and we weren't given any directions on how to go about getting our breakfast! She asked which type we wanted, and seated us, but never returned. We ended up going to the buffet and asking someone there if it were open to us. They didn't seem to know but told us to take it anyway. A little disappointing, but not something to make us avoid going back.

The hotel is a little far from the airport, so budget for an expensive cab ride. Also, the walk from the hotel to the city centre is a long one. I recommend picking up a bus schedule from the front desk and utilizing the bus stop right outside the hotel.

Overall, this hotel is a great find! I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wtbwordly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, Management Team at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2010

Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback on your stay at the Ardmore Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay during the summer and that you found our rooms and Bar welcoming. Since your stay we have made considerable changes in our menus as well as our service and we do hope to welcome you in the future again. We have shared your comments with all members of staff and we truly hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

This was the third hotel in our latest trip to Europe, and while I really liked the room we had the location was terrible. Yes, there was a public bus stop across the street, so getting to the city centre was relatively easy....BUT...the taxi ride from the airport to the hotel was pretty expensive :(

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FL53095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, Management Team at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2009

Thank you for your review of our hotel and we do hope you had a very nice Christmas.
We are delighted you really liked the hotel and the room you stayed.
We appreciate your views about our distance from the city centre, however, we should note that public transport links are immediately outside the hotel with regular buses serving the area and an average journey of 15 minutes into town.
Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Chose this hotel on the basis of reviews on Tripadvisor. Stayed three nights going to and from England by boat. Arriving back from the night sailing before 7am, the staff let me into my room even though check-in is at 2pm.
I can't find fault with this place. An unbelievable find. You might get a few superficial frills in other hotels, but at the prices they charge it has to be one of the best hotels around, ridiculously cheap. I thought there had to be a catch but there wasn't. You'll get a lot less for a lot more in most other hotels. If you book online on their own website, you get great deals.
As usual it's the staff that make or break it, and the staff here were as good as you'll get. No negative experiences at all.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonardsmalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, Management Team at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our services. We are delighted you had a good stay here in Dublin and that the hotel and its services exceeded your expectations. We are always striving to exceed your expectations and we do hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Stayed here on the saturday night of the horslips concert in the 02. Travelled by train to dublin and was in the hotel in less than an hour of arriving in heuston.Check in was quick and friendly Room was large and clean as was the bathroom. We had a meal in the bar which was tasty and value for money before ordereing a taxi to the 02 for later.

We had good craic in the bar after the concert with a couple of groups having their christmas parties with Live music and a DJ which werent too loud, Breakfast the next morning was good,Hot and freshly cooked with an excellent array of choices for those who didnt fancy the full Irish,

The Ardmore is an excellent hotel with no pretensions and a very friendly and helpful staff.It is not in the city centre but its only a 10 minute bus ride away away and the taxi to the 02 was just over 10mins and cost €15 , Our nights B&B cost us €74 which is excellent value for a saturday night in a dublin hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gufct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreDublin, Management Team at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted you found our services to be good value for money and we take pride in offering excellent service and value. It's wonderful you were able to enjoy yourselves along with our Christmas bookers and we truly hope to welcome you again soon. We wish you a wonderful Christmas and our best wishes for 2010.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
2.2 mi away
Metro Hotel Dublin Airport
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
2.1 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,949 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Phoenix Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Hotel

Address: Finglas Road, Tolka Valley, Dublin 11, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened May 1, 2005 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ardmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing