We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and convenient place to stay”
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardmore Hotel
Ranked #97 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good and convenient place to stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2007

The hotel is not in the city center but you can catch a bus if you walk for about 3 minutes across the street - the bus will take you to Parnell Street, which is at the upper end of O’Connell Street, where you would do some touristy walking.

Breakfast is not included in your room fare, but the room was nice and very comfortable.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and nice (especially considering that most people would only go to their hotels to sleep at the end of the day, it seemed even too nice for that!).

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    244
    76
    23
    15
See reviews for
64
216
43
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2007

Just came back after a long weekend, via Leons Coaches. The staff were extremely helpful and hard working, and although faced with some abusive drunkards in our group, shone through. The reception, security, bar, cleaning and restaurant staff were brilliant, although the poor staff in the restaurant were obviously over-worked and well deserve a gratuity from guests.
The food,,,,breakfast and dinners, were quality,,,the room was spotless
We could understand the road noise problem perhaps being a concern if a window needed to be open due to lack of aircon (there are radiators in the rooms !), and left a suggestion on our feedback form that maybe fans can be supplied
Thanks to the staff at the Ardmore for a good stay

  • Liked — easy access to Dublin by public transport without city centre prices
  • Disliked — noise from the road
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRELAND
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

Stayed at the ardmore hotel saturday night, had been to the slane concert and we had to stay in dublin due to shortage of accomodation around Slane and beyond. Hotel is located in finglas which was in a good location off the motorway on the way back from the concert.

We checked in very late and this wasnt a problem but there is a possiblity I got the last of the rooms...there was a smell of old smoke hanging around. Paint was badly chipped off the wall around by the bed. Room was very clean but my main gripe was the room was very noisy. The traffic outside felt like it was 2pm saturday afternoon.. as opposed to 2am sunday morning. Didnt bother complaining though as the concert at Slane had just been so good so didnt feel the urge.

Breakfast was average, the usual fry up, didnt have as much choice of fruit, yogurts, croissants etc that I have seen in previous hotels. Overall an average stay. Staff were helpful enough though and we managed to get a few drinks after the bar closed.! Wouldnt rush back here, lacked atmosphere or something.....

  • Liked — location wasnt bad on the way out of slane as we couldnt get anything nearer the venue
  • Disliked — Noise outside was dreadful
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LIBRAIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

My wife and i were with a coach party of around 30 other people.
Being that we had travelled from yorkshire,we were all looking forward to our first hotel.
On entering the hotel, my first impression was that it seemed okay.
But a hotel needs good staff, and this hotel just didn't have any at all.One of our cases arrived after a while but no sign of the other,and although my wife phoned reception to see where it was,it still took quite a time to arrive.
The room itself was fine,nice and clean. a decent size,with a modern TV.
The food was excellent, I had boiled bacon and it was really tasty,but the service was awfull, mainly i believe because of a lack of leadership by any member of staff,no politeness,no smile,nothing.Next morning breakfast was the same,nice food,poor service.
I believe if the management get there act together,then the Ardmore hotel could be a really decent place to stay.
PS Glad it was just for the one night.

  • Liked — the food wasnexcellent
  • Disliked — teh staff were terrible
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymob368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl Junction, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2007

After a drive around trying to find the place wasn't in the best of area's but the hotel itself from the outside looked nice enough. Upon entering the staff at the desk was pleasant enough and quick. Our room was very nice and clean. We did not keep our car in Dublin, just getting to the hotel and to the airport was enough driving in that city.

The bus stop is pretty convenient to the hotel. The only problem I had was not being super on the ball with getting on and off and paying. Being from a area in the Midwest where we don't have buses for mass transit it was quite a change and some of the drivers weren't patient. Anyhow, it is easy to get from the hotel to the city center or the airport.

Now to the part that lots of others mentioned service. While the front desk staff was very helpful in our experience. The bar was a totally different animal. We thought instead of going back into town we would just get a little bite at the bar. Wrong answer. After sitting at our table for abit and no one coming to help us I went to the bar to order drinks and I thought food. Upon ordering our drinks I mentioned that I'd like to order food. The server said that someone would come to the tables and see if we needed anything. Well the one server that was working the floor avoided most people like the plague. If you looked like you wanted them to come to your table they went the other way.

Breakfast was ok, like someone else said it was all precooked and just under heat lamps. The yogurt was even warm. I would recommend this to someone else just warn them away from the bar and restaurant for breakfast.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — poor service from the bar and resturant
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SHarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2007

We arrived at the ardmore driving through what seemed to be a ghetto. Upon check in we experience what would be the first of many encounters of rude staff. The hotel itself is modern and quite comfortable (apart from the stained bed linen). The staff whether it be at the front desk, the bar, or restaurant were all extremly rude. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone without thick skin because at times I felt like checking into another hotel but put up with it for the 3 days we were there. Bad bad people!!!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank ageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
4.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown
#1 of 1 in Tyrrelstown
789 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Phoenix Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Hotel

Property: Ardmore Hotel
Address: Finglas Road, Tolka Valley, Dublin 11, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened May 1, 2005 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ardmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing