We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments
Ranked #108 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 3 December 2007

Was a little concerned when we found out we were getting put into Capel after reading reviews, however, these were unfounded. Very central location, clean and basic, but with everything you need for a short break. Supermarket just a stones throw away so no carrying heavy shopping very far. Would say if you want 5 star then you pay for it, but for the cost and location very reasonable. Would give a 3 star rating if had to.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2007

Stayed here for four nights mid August. The area is 'seedy' although it is only a short walk to Temple Bar/O'Connell St.

The offices of StayDublin, who manage the apartments are difficult to find having just a narrow doorway down an alleyway. There is a walk to the apartments from here - OK if you are not carrying heavy luggage and the weather is fine!

The staff were very much a mixture; some pleasant and helpful others very much the opposite.

The apartment block has a key coded entrance - and a further one (not
working at the time) to get into the residential section.

The apartment was clean and the bedding and towels were fine. The furnishing was basic and sparce, no rugs or carpets on the floor. The kitchen had the right equipment but again, limited supplies - 4 mugs, 4 small plates, 4 large plates etc. I guess it made you wash up
each time you had a meal!

There was no hot water when we moved in; I found out how to turn the system on but the water never got any hotter than tepid the whole time we were there.

Just felt that this was very poor value for the money (140+ euro a night).

Over the last year I have stayed in apartments in Central London, Paris and Vienna - this has been the most expensive and my worst experience to date.

I will try somewhere else next time I visit Dublin.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Olderguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2007

Stayed in the Capel street Apartments for 3 nights. Very convenient location. Only a very short 10min walk to temple bar and shopping area. Travelled with husband and two small kids. Apartment well furnished, with well equipped kitchen having fridge, oven and hob, microwave, toaster, kettle and washing machine/dryer. Didn't use the washing machine since there was no washing powder! Convenient CENTRA store located next door for groceries. No curtains in bedrooms (but only venetian blinds) means that too much light enters in the morning. Could have been cleaner. Children's socks ended up becoming black after walking around the apartment. No bucket and mop for wiping up spillages, etc. All in all i would still recommend staying in these apartments.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MITSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2006

Our apartment was in the centre of Dublin and access to the shops and tourist attractions was easy.
However I was disappointed with the cleanliness of the apartment. I had to wash the plates and cups before we could use them and the oven tray was filthy. The duvet covers were not clean and were badly in need of a wash. Basic kitchen utensils were not provided, for example, there was no tin opener or vegetable peeler.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank JaneHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andreas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jérémy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank PHILIPPE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,553 reviews
North City Centre
Kingfisher Townhouse
Kingfisher Townhouse
#67 of 151 in Dublin
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castle Hotel
#54 of 151 in Dublin
2,056 reviews
The Morgan
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,932 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments

Address: 95 Capel Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £90 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capel Street, a short stroll over the river Liffey from Temple Bar, The kingfisher have 5 apartments contained in a classic Georgian building. There are four 2 bedroom apartments and one 1 bedroom apartment, all fully equipped with all the amenities you would expect in your own home.Our rooms sleep up to 6 people.Check in for the capel street apartments is located at the Kingfisher Reception On Parnell St. 3mins walk. All our guests receive a 10% discount to use at the kingfisher for breakfast lunch or dinner, also can be used in our Cafe In Cahoots or Violet Hair salon.This Dublin Accommodation is within walking distance of Temple Bar, Trinity College, Henry Street , O'Connell Street, The Spire , The Guinness Brewery, Museums, Rotunda Hospital, Croke Park (venue for Irish sports/international games & concerts),Lansdowne Road, Grafton Street. 15 minutes walk to Connolly bus station, 5 minutes walk to Luas/tram line. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure this is a superb selection of one and two bedroom self-catering apartments in Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capel Street Apartments Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing