We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, stayed there twice on our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments
Ranked #113 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
West Dundee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, stayed there twice on our trip”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I was very pleased with the apartment on Capel Street. The people in the Parnell Street office were very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for site seeing and visiting a lot of pubs. We were able to walk everywhere, including Trinity college, the Guinness Brewery, and all of the other tourist attractions. The apartment looked just like the pictures and provided plenty of space for 4 of us.
We stayed 2 days in Dublin, then went on the road for a few days, and then returned for 2 nights. It was great to stay somewhere that was familiar. I would definitely stay here again on future trips to Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcox6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    18
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

The apartments were situated just outside of the centre, and a short distance from reception. The street was a little run-down, but very quiet at night and not too dodgy. Security to enter apartment building is good.
Rooms were clean, spacious and had all the facilities needed for a short stay.
There was a great pub practically next door, and a fantastic cafe/restaurant/club down the road called 'Church's'.
I am a little shocked by previous reviews as I found the apartments to be perfect for exploring Dublin on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Illustratedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Was pleased with the location of these apartments. Yes the street is a little run down but has a cracking pub (Slatterys) right next door to the apartments as well as supermaket and cash machine (which are hard to find in Dublin)
Apartment was good size but was quite cold. Has too keep over riding heating timer. This wasn't helped by the fact the windows and balcony door were wide open on arrival, but least it was aired.
Was annoying that had to pick up and drop off key about 5 minutes away. Could have left key in apartment when leaving and shut door.
Receptionist was helpful and let us store suitcase with her until room was ready as we were early.
Overall I would use these apartments again but pack a few more jumpers!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Heating system
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaksBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

Just back from long weekend stay in capel street apartments. Was disappointed to say the least as we were expecting to stay in millennium apartments as that was where we had originally booked for and were given no indication we were being moved until we checked in. Pictures in the photo galleries on various websites are obviously for penthouse apartments in capel street as our apartment was a lot smaller and not as nice as this. The location was ok, 5 mins from temple bar but that was about only good thing. Quite a few "seedy" shops in the street which is the norm for this street apparently There was a funny smell in entrance hall of complex and second door to get into apartment area was never locked. (building has offices of some sort on ground floor) Definitely not worth the amount of money we paid for it!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank belle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2008

Stayed 3 nights in Capel Street apartments. Location isn't too bad but was very disappointed with the state of the apartment - Dirty floors (shoes stuck to them so no chance of relaxing and kicking your shoes off after a days walking around Dublin), broken blinds, rooms all stank of smoke even though apartment was supposed to be non smoking.

All in all the property could do with a total refurbishment - would benefit first from having a good clean first though!

Will be going back to Dublin but will be staying elsewhere - not an experience to be repeated.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2007

Was a little concerned when we found out we were getting put into Capel after reading reviews, however, these were unfounded. Very central location, clean and basic, but with everything you need for a short break. Supermarket just a stones throw away so no carrying heavy shopping very far. Would say if you want 5 star then you pay for it, but for the cost and location very reasonable. Would give a 3 star rating if had to.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Walk from receiption to flat
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

Stayed here for four nights mid August. The area is 'seedy' although it is only a short walk to Temple Bar/O'Connell St.

The offices of StayDublin, who manage the apartments are difficult to find having just a narrow doorway down an alleyway. There is a walk to the apartments from here - OK if you are not carrying heavy luggage and the weather is fine!

The staff were very much a mixture; some pleasant and helpful others very much the opposite.

The apartment block has a key coded entrance - and a further one (not
working at the time) to get into the residential section.

The apartment was clean and the bedding and towels were fine. The furnishing was basic and sparce, no rugs or carpets on the floor. The kitchen had the right equipment but again, limited supplies - 4 mugs, 4 small plates, 4 large plates etc. I guess it made you wash up
each time you had a meal!

There was no hot water when we moved in; I found out how to turn the system on but the water never got any hotter than tepid the whole time we were there.

Just felt that this was very poor value for the money (140+ euro a night).

Over the last year I have stayed in apartments in Central London, Paris and Vienna - this has been the most expensive and my worst experience to date.

I will try somewhere else next time I visit Dublin.

  • Liked — Difficult to identify a single feature that I would praise
  • Disliked — Poor value for the money
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Olderguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Kingfisher Townhouse
Kingfisher Townhouse
#69 of 151 in Dublin
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercantile Hotel
#115 of 151 in Dublin
406 reviews
Temple Bar
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#85 of 151 in Dublin
1,552 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#88 of 151 in Dublin
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments

Property: The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments
Address: 95 Capel Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capel Street, a short stroll over the river Liffey from Temple Bar, The kingfisher have 5 apartments contained in a classic Georgian building. There are four 2 bedroom apartments and one 1 bedroom apartment, all fully equipped with all the amenities you would expect in your own home.Our rooms sleep up to 6 people.Check in for the capel street apartments is located at the Kingfisher Reception On Parnell St. 3mins walk. All our guests receive a 10% discount to use at the kingfisher for breakfast lunch or dinner, also can be used in our Cafe In Cahoots or Violet Hair salon.This Dublin Accommodation is within walking distance of Temple Bar, Trinity College, Henry Street , O'Connell Street, The Spire , The Guinness Brewery, Museums, Rotunda Hospital, Croke Park (venue for Irish sports/international games & concerts),Lansdowne Road, Grafton Street. 15 minutes walk to Connolly bus station, 5 minutes walk to Luas/tram line. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure this is a superb selection of one and two bedroom self-catering apartments in Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capel Street Apartments Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing