We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average rooms, would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
Ranked #91 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, average rooms, would stay again”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

What a great location - off Grafton Street, close to St Stephen's Green and lots of local restaurants and shops. Rooms were a bit strange though - old, with strange electrics etc. Nothing 'wrong', but strange! Shower was just ok - ranged from very hot to tepid in one shower. But, I would overlook the smaller 'strange' things for the location. Oh, and don't forget to check out the great cafe next door.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlybap83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Curlybap83

Thank you for your recent comment and We appreciate all your comments regarding your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    199
    120
    48
    42
See reviews for
87
190
34
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Very good position. Only 10 minutes on foot from O'Connel Street. Nice place, medium level of bedroom! Clean. Very nice the cafè inside the hotel which serves a wide choice of breakfasts. I wish I go back Dublin to taste again those breakfasts!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoTurista79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
ViaggiatoreCurioso79,

Thank you for your review, we love to get feedback from all our guests. We are very lucky to be situated in such a prime location. I do hope you return to us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

If you are taking a short break in Dublin I recommend this hotel. It is in a great location within walking distance of shopping and pubs etc..
The rooms are roomy and clean with all the mod cons. Flatscreen tv, tea, coffee etc as you would expect in all modern hotels. The restaurant is great I had the full Irish breakfast and I have to say it was one of the best I have had in a hotel. The staff were in hand to help when needed to call taxis etc.. Loads of info of things to do. A great benefit is the car park next door. Central Dublin is difficult to park in most times but not at this hotel. Well done guys :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Keroo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Keroo,

Thank you for such positive feedback. I'm glad you took the recommendation on board and that we exceeded your expectations. The staff at Stephens Green Travelodge are truly fantastic and great feedback such as yours encourages us all to go that extra mile.

We look forward to you visiting us again in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is cheap and the location is superb, just at the back of Grafton Street so it`s perfect for shopping, sightseeing and socialising without the madness of staying in the Temple Bar area. The staff are friendly and efficient and the room was spacious, clean and decent for a budget hotel. What really made this place for us was the cafe, an unexpected treat in a Travelodge. The quirky decor and delicious breakfast came as a surprise to us, not your average fry up but a range of gourmet options and good coffee too. I`ll stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWestLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
LuLu,

Thank you for such a positive response and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I really can't fault this hotel. It is not salubrious by any stretch of the imagination but if you are aiming for luxury then you wouldn't be booking into a Travelodge in the first place, now would you? If staying in a budget hotel, all one requires is a good, central location, a clean room and a comfortable bed. This hotel scores top marks on all three. The decor is tired, the amenities are limited (I didn't like having to pay for WiFi to use my iPad) but in saying that, the hotel is so centrally located, the staff accommodating and the rooms spotless so in that regard it is top marks from me. It does what it says on tin. This wouldn't really suit a romantic break away (although the king size bed my husband and I shared was really comfortable) but if you're coming to Dublin for a shopping or theatre weekend then you couldn't ask for better. I intend to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hi Rebecca C,

Thank you for this very positive review and we do look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here twice and have the same impression on both occasions:

Firstly, the location of this hotel is very central, and ideal if you are looking to be close to St. Stephen's Green or Grafton Street. But the street it's on is not very pleasant, stuck at the back of a narrow street that is a main access for a car park. Not nice to walk to late at night, and across the road looks like Social housing, not very reassuring placement of a hotel entrance.

The hotel itself is quite basic and looks okay from the lobby, but the rooms are very worn and tired and have seen better days. Upkeep is not good at all and maintenance of the rooms is very overlooked.

The first room had blinds, windows and curtains that were falling apart and the second had bed clothes that were in desperate need of replacement! Televisions in both rooms were tiny with bad signals, barely usable. The kettles and cups weren't very clean and one was still full of stagnant water from the last guest... however long ago that might have been before I got there.

In the second room I stayed in the couple next door could be heard crystal clear, so the sound proofing between the rooms was minimal if non-existent, might as well have not put a wall between the two rooms at all. Not relaxing when you have a 6am start in the morning and need a good nights sleep.

Breakfast/restaurant is fine, nice setting, efficient, selection is good and the coffee thankfully was as well, price is reasonable enough.

Service in the hotel was not great, staff weren't too interested or friendly. First place outside of the USA were I saw telephone conversations taking precedence over guests in the middle of conversation with receptionist.

Lastly, one major caveat with the hotel - there is NO FREE WIFI.... I repeat there is no internet included in the room price! In Dublin in 2013, you really would expect better, and their website suggests that there is, but it is a pay for service! For the rates of this hotel, which is not cheap for the low standard that it is, this was a major drawback!! If like me, you travel with a tablet or laptop and need to keep up with work and emails, this just won't do.

Overall, the location was just what I was looking for, the rate was okay, bit high, and the standard of the hotel was quite low with not great service... I will be looking for somewhere else in future even if I have to travel further.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor away from the traffic below, definitely avoid connecting rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Global Nomad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hi Global Nomad 1,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.

Although I am sorry to read some of your comments I appreciate the details as this will help us improve our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here 4 nights in July; 1/2 business & 1/2 pleasure. Fantastic location - easy walk to shopping, restaurants, points of interest, etc. Convenient breakfast every morning at the little cafe next door. Hotel is very inexpensive, and staff were friendly & helpful. Rooms are very basic, and the hotel is quite dated. Bed was okay, but I'm not picky. I visited in summer, and there is no A/C, so I had to keep windows open. This was an annoyance because of street noise, 'til the wee hours of the morning. Overall, this location worked fine for me because I only returned to the room to sleep.

Room Tip: Tr not to get a street-side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hi Edward M,

We thank you for writing this review about our Hotel. We appreciate all your comments regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,459 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#79 of 151 in Dublin
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Citi Hotel
#76 of 151 in Dublin
1,018 reviews
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#105 of 151 in Dublin
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel

Property: Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
Address: Lower Mercer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Mercer Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel situated in Dublin's center near to Grafton Street & St. Stephens Green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing