We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor security and requires a facelift, stay clear”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
Ranked #91 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor security and requires a facelift, stay clear”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed in the Travelodge Stephen Green Dublin on Dec 20th 2013. Poor experience of the Hotel. Checked in and had to change rooms immediatly due to faulty sink taps. The next room had a broken ironing board. Headed out for the night and returned to my room to discover it had been ransacked with cash stolen. The culprit had gained access to my room with a keycard! Over two weeks later still awaiting a refund of room fee and stolen cash. Stay clear of the place. Better to pay the extra few Euro in a more secure Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NavanMan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
NavanMan2014

Thank you for your comments, although I do believe that your comment regarding the refund was unfair as I personally foreseen the refund to the account in which the bill was settled with a member of my staff. The delay regarding the refund reaching your account was due to issues with the Christmas banking hours which were completely out of our control. This breach of security was the first at this establishment under my management and I can guarantee that this does not occur on a regular basis in any of our properties.

I do hope you will return to us in the future so that you yourself can see that this is not the norm.

Regards,

Khristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    195
    119
    47
    41
See reviews for
85
185
34
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Fantastic located hotel with the best café attached you could ask for in a budget hotel. Rooms slightly worn out but great value for money. Quick walk to pubs, shops and restaurants. Closer to the town centre than we had thought.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t_lockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
T-Lockley

Thank you for your recent comments. We appreciate your positive feedback and hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Regards,

Khristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My sister and I stayed here on the 28th of December and what a great stay we had! The location is great as it is close to Graffton street shops, restaurants and bars and it is close to Temple Bar but not right in the middle of it. The bed was amazing, the most comfortable I have stayed in at a hotel. Being a Traveloge, we didn't have too high an expectation but it really impressed us. The two down sides we did experience were the shower which in all honesty was terrible. There was no water pressure and the temperature range was awful. The other was the staff, not friendly at all and we had to ask for toilet paper as the roll in our room was 3/4 used up and no second roll was provided. We also opted to pay for a late check-out but the receptionist did not validate our access cards and we could not access our room in the afternoon. All in all I would definitely consider saying here again, depending on my social needs. The price of our stay was also extremely competitive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyTravelBugSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
MyTravelBugSA

Thank you for your recent comments, it gives us a chance to build a better team and make for a better customer experience.

Regards,

Khristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

What a great location - off Grafton Street, close to St Stephen's Green and lots of local restaurants and shops. Rooms were a bit strange though - old, with strange electrics etc. Nothing 'wrong', but strange! Shower was just ok - ranged from very hot to tepid in one shower. But, I would overlook the smaller 'strange' things for the location. Oh, and don't forget to check out the great cafe next door.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlybap83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Curlybap83

Thank you for your recent comment and We appreciate all your comments regarding your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Very good position. Only 10 minutes on foot from O'Connel Street. Nice place, medium level of bedroom! Clean. Very nice the cafè inside the hotel which serves a wide choice of breakfasts. I wish I go back Dublin to taste again those breakfasts!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoTurista79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
ViaggiatoreCurioso79,

Thank you for your review, we love to get feedback from all our guests. We are very lucky to be situated in such a prime location. I do hope you return to us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

If you are taking a short break in Dublin I recommend this hotel. It is in a great location within walking distance of shopping and pubs etc..
The rooms are roomy and clean with all the mod cons. Flatscreen tv, tea, coffee etc as you would expect in all modern hotels. The restaurant is great I had the full Irish breakfast and I have to say it was one of the best I have had in a hotel. The staff were in hand to help when needed to call taxis etc.. Loads of info of things to do. A great benefit is the car park next door. Central Dublin is difficult to park in most times but not at this hotel. Well done guys :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Keroo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Keroo,

Thank you for such positive feedback. I'm glad you took the recommendation on board and that we exceeded your expectations. The staff at Stephens Green Travelodge are truly fantastic and great feedback such as yours encourages us all to go that extra mile.

We look forward to you visiting us again in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level Contributor
193 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is cheap and the location is superb, just at the back of Grafton Street so it`s perfect for shopping, sightseeing and socialising without the madness of staying in the Temple Bar area. The staff are friendly and efficient and the room was spacious, clean and decent for a budget hotel. What really made this place for us was the cafe, an unexpected treat in a Travelodge. The quirky decor and delicious breakfast came as a surprise to us, not your average fry up but a range of gourmet options and good coffee too. I`ll stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWestLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
LuLu,

Thank you for such a positive response and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
1,433 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#86 of 151 in Dublin
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Central Hotel
#92 of 151 in Dublin
882 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
1,002 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel

Property: Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
Address: Lower Mercer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Mercer Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel situated in Dublin's center near to Grafton Street & St. Stephens Green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing