We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheelchair user”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
Ranked #91 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wheelchair user”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Gives the option online of booking an accessible room but you should ring the hotel to see if they have one. On arriveval at the hotel I was told that they only had one accessible room & it was occupied also accessible only meanes that you can get a wheelchair into the room none of the bathrooms have wheel-in showers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
4 Thank tthouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
TTHouston

Thank you for your comments. I have explained to you via e-mail, we have some accessible rooms here in Stephens Green but none have a walk in/ wheel in shower. Upon check-in my colleague noticed that the room assigned to you was smaller than you would need due to your wheelchair, thus she gave you a larger room.

I will certainly take your comments on board and look at creating a wet area in one of the bedrooms in the future.


Kindest Regards,

Khristina Ridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    199
    120
    48
    42
See reviews for
87
190
34
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed here for a stag weekend, I arrived a night early so spent the previous night at the lovely Radisson, so I was not looking forward to spending a few nights here. I was pleasantly surprised. Yes the reception is small and the rooms could do with a bit of a touch up, but for the price, given its super central location, I don't think there can be many complaints. There is a cute little cafe next door where you can have a beer or coffee whilst waiting for mates, or you can take the two minute stroll to the nearest Irish pub.

For the price and location I don't think this place is a bad option at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGooner81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
GlobalGooner81

Thank you for your recent review and kind comments. Since you have been with us, our rooms are currently in the process of being cosmetically enhanced. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope you will return to us again, should you come back to Ireland.

Regards,

Khristina Ridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed in the Dublin hotel which was very small and has hardly any reception area. Feels like you get a key to a place where there are no staff. It was a cold weekend and there was no heating on in the corridors. Neither of the two rooms had heating on for our arrival so weren't welcoming. They have a heating fan and electric heater which all takes a long time to heat the room. So we sat there for 20mins at least with hats and coats on in bed. No heating in the bathroom which is made worse by the fact it all white - has very cold floor tiles and large window with white shutters that were broken so let in cold. On day two we returned back to our room to find the cleaner had left the window open in addition to turning the heating off. Room was like an arctic fridge. In one room it had blood all up the bath. Some TVs are very small and hard to see when hanging on wall opposite. Otherwise very basic and what you would expect. It was very quite and good location. Wouldn't recommend in winter.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Tracey,

Thank you for your recent review. We are in the process of placing new heaters in the lift lobbies and also the corridors. I have also made a requested with housekeeping not to leave windows open in rooms where guests are staying over, no longer than the cleaning process of a room.

Kindest Regards,

Khristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed in the Travelodge Stephen Green Dublin on Dec 20th 2013. Poor experience of the Hotel. Checked in and had to change rooms immediatly due to faulty sink taps. The next room had a broken ironing board. Headed out for the night and returned to my room to discover it had been ransacked with cash stolen. The culprit had gained access to my room with a keycard! Over two weeks later still awaiting a refund of room fee and stolen cash. Stay clear of the place. Better to pay the extra few Euro in a more secure Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NavanMan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
NavanMan2014

Thank you for your comments, although I do believe that your comment regarding the refund was unfair as I personally foreseen the refund to the account in which the bill was settled with a member of my staff. The delay regarding the refund reaching your account was due to issues with the Christmas banking hours which were completely out of our control. This breach of security was the first at this establishment under my management and I can guarantee that this does not occur on a regular basis in any of our properties.

I do hope you will return to us in the future so that you yourself can see that this is not the norm.

Regards,

Khristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Fantastic located hotel with the best café attached you could ask for in a budget hotel. Rooms slightly worn out but great value for money. Quick walk to pubs, shops and restaurants. Closer to the town centre than we had thought.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t_lockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
T-Lockley

Thank you for your recent comments. We appreciate your positive feedback and hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Regards,

Khristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My sister and I stayed here on the 28th of December and what a great stay we had! The location is great as it is close to Graffton street shops, restaurants and bars and it is close to Temple Bar but not right in the middle of it. The bed was amazing, the most comfortable I have stayed in at a hotel. Being a Traveloge, we didn't have too high an expectation but it really impressed us. The two down sides we did experience were the shower which in all honesty was terrible. There was no water pressure and the temperature range was awful. The other was the staff, not friendly at all and we had to ask for toilet paper as the roll in our room was 3/4 used up and no second roll was provided. We also opted to pay for a late check-out but the receptionist did not validate our access cards and we could not access our room in the afternoon. All in all I would definitely consider saying here again, depending on my social needs. The price of our stay was also extremely competitive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyTravelBugSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
MyTravelBugSA

Thank you for your recent comments, it gives us a chance to build a better team and make for a better customer experience.

Regards,

Khristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

What a great location - off Grafton Street, close to St Stephen's Green and lots of local restaurants and shops. Rooms were a bit strange though - old, with strange electrics etc. Nothing 'wrong', but strange! Shower was just ok - ranged from very hot to tepid in one shower. But, I would overlook the smaller 'strange' things for the location. Oh, and don't forget to check out the great cafe next door.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlybap83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khristina R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Curlybap83

Thank you for your recent comment and We appreciate all your comments regarding your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,459 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#79 of 151 in Dublin
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Citi Hotel
#76 of 151 in Dublin
1,018 reviews
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#105 of 151 in Dublin
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel

Property: Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
Address: Lower Mercer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Mercer Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel situated in Dublin's center near to Grafton Street & St. Stephens Green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing