We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, not so cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines
Ranked #98 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Limerick
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cheap, not so cheerful”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here only because the Travelodge in Stephens Green double booked me. A taxi was paid for me to go to the sister property in Rathmines. Only 15min walk to Grafton St. Reception area needs a lick of paint or new lighting to make it more inviting. I was given Room 214, overlooking the road. The traffic noise was slightly louder than I would like but nothing too annoying. However what was annoying, was the slight flicker the lights would get every now and then, the TV even turned off at one point. Room was very clean and tidy. Bed was quite comfy, if the pillows were a little flat. Bathroom was small, with a small shower cubicle that only had a shower curtain that kept sticking to me whenever I raised my hands. It also left puddles of water on the floor when I was done.

Very well located for Dublin city, and Dundrum Town Centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troyman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hi Troyman 100,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We appreciate both your positive and constructive comments which enable us to improve our quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    169
    155
    64
    53
See reviews for
62
195
46
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel was in a great location in Rathmines, the receptionist was extremely professional and friendly, however, the double room we stayed in was a real let down, so dreary and drab, overall a neglected feeling about the place, the mattress on the bed was soo lumpy and thin, the pillows were really flat and uncomfortable, we got up really early and left the hotel the next morning as it proved impossible to sleep in such an uncomfortable bed, apart from the location, this hotel has nothing going for it, and l definately will not be staying again.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KildareZiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hi KildareZiggy,

I am sorry to read your recent review on our property.

I would like you to private message me the details of your stay so I can investigate this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

London
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Comfortable, budget hotel. Located in Rathmines which has a lot of cafés and is pleasant to walk around. It takes about half an hour to walk into the city of Dublin.

Perfect for a budget stay, but not if you are looking for luxury.

Room Tip: Family rooms are available by request? Room 319 is quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anita s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Hi Anita s,

Thank for for your positive review.

We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed in this place and it was £149 for a room which I was lucky to get due to high demand but which didn't include breakfast or car parking. I know it is a budget hotel but this was not a budget price I have paid less for 5 star hotels albeit not in Europe.The reception staff were definitely nice I couldn't fault them at all; its just the place is dreary and looks downmarket in the entrance but I have to say in its favor it is very well located in relation to going to Grafton street,Stephens Green etc.I didn't have breakfast but I understand that it was extremely poor.The car parking cost me an additional 6 Euros. I know that this was a very busy weekend in Dublin and normal price would probably be a third of this which would be OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank heggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Hi Heggers,

Thank for taking time out to write this review.

We appreciate both your constructive and positive feedback.

For future bookings especially on weekends with high demand I would advise to book as far out in advance in order to obtain the cheapest possible rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Good Room, Good location, Good receptionist. Everthing you want from an hotel for a brief nights stop.
Good Room, Good location, Good receptionist. Everthing you want from an hotel for a brief nights stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Hi Davidjjarvis,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your positive feedback.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The hotel is about a 20 min walk out of the centre, so you need your walking shoes. Plenty of local shops for breakfast and is on the bus route to the airport which was the cheapest way back. Staff were very friendly and the room was clean although a little noisy in the morning

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Clowcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Hi Clowcock,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here because the location is fabulous, I needed to be in Dublin6 so this is perfect.
Budget hotel, so everything is standard.
Staff were nice though!
Room was ok, was clean but its a little old. But again - its so cheap to stay there, Its what we expected.
Beds were actually really comfortable!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Trigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Hi Girlgregg,

Thank you for your positive review and taking the time to post it.

We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Tara Towers Hotel
#119 of 151 in Dublin
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#91 of 151 in Dublin
630 reviews
South City Centre
Trinity College Campus
Trinity College Campus
#74 of 151 in Dublin
501 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines

Property: Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines
Address: Rathmines Road, Dublin D6, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin - Rathmines Travelodge is perfectly located in a vibrant area 1km from Dublin city centre with many quirky shops, cafe-bars and restaurants, and offers modern, elegantly designed, spacious bedrooms. Designed to meet the needs of today's budget conscious family, corporate guest or short break customer the Dublin - Rathmines Travelodge cannot be beaten for inexpensive accommodation, special offers and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin
Dublin Travelodge
Dublin Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing