We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveller rating
129
207
167
71
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
207
167
71
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews budget hotel leap card dublin city centre bus stop stayed here for nights room was spotless twin room would stay again tea and coffee temple bar lidl buses moda pubs stops concert
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 631 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 1:30 am, our room let in lots of light through the window and the heating system was not working was
We had to find solution to cover the light coming in abundance in the room.
The next day we left by 7:30 am, and spent 1 day and a half from the hotel called us to say that we had to pay an extra night because we leave the messy room , threatened us who called police to the hotel manager .
It's a nasty situation and that a hotel should not treat customers well .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gilberto89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It is clear the hotel could do with a facelift / upgrade more in line with the new look travelodge's one finds on ones travels especially in the UK. The mattresses as a previous reviewer has highlighted you can actually feel the boniness of the springs. Identifying and replacing those that are well worn is something the Travelodge can easily rectify. The stainless steel lift doors need a good clean then treated with baby oil or equivalent then buffed as it is looking pretty shabby. Having said that there is a lot of positives in regard to the Travelodge in Rathmines. The location is around 1.5 miles outside the city centre but it could easily be bang in the middle as the numerous bus routes that pass the hotel is very good. In fact in the many hotels I have stayed in this one must be the closest to a bus stop I have ever stayed in literally 2 metres outside the front door just perfect for getting in and out of the city. It is also situated very close to lots of amenities shops, cafés, cinema, swimming pool and probably the best Burger place in Dublin Jo Burger. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was large and light at the front of the hotel adjacent to the Main Street. When the windows are closed it reduces the street sound significantly. Unfortunately the bed was not made on our 2nd night as it was still unmade on our return later that day. I am a big fan of travelodge's because they are affordable with just the right standard of amenities necessary for a comfortable stay. To get a room in Dublin on Easter weekend at less than 50 Euros a night (saver rate booked well in advance) is pretty good in any ones book. This hotel would of got 5 stars because it ticks many tourist boxes very well but the general tiredness of the hotel reduces that score. I hope travelodge give it their modern refurb because it would become a definate 5 star all round in my book.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMTL, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear AndrewS,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to read that you felt you received value for money and that you found the staff friendly and helpful.
It is great to see that you enjoyed some of many local amenities in the area and found the location convenient.

I can assure you that I have taken all your comments on board and we have looked in to the mattress in your room.

We do hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Rathmines.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was a really nice hotel to stay in. While it isn't the best hotel to stay in, it was a good place to stay for budget travellers. One other minor problem that might bother some people is that it's outside the city centre but even then public transport was right outside the front door.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMTL, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Aaron H,

Thank you for your review of the Travelodge Rathmines, Dublin.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that you received value for money.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I with fellow travellers were booked into the Travelodge from Friday 4th April until Tuesday 8th April. Upon arrival the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room on the 2nd floor looked out onto the main street which was very busy but most of the noise was blanked out by the double glazing, however when open the noise was what one would expect from a main road. The hotel itself is in the main part of Rathmines with many shops and cafes etc so from an availability point of view it was good. The rooms however were small and the shower so small it was claustrophobic. The shower did not work properly and went from hot to cold, to boiling never ever the same. The bed was small and the mattress springs were shot and stuck into our bodies at every turn. The Rooms do not have hair dryers and it appears the hotel only have two for the whole building and these are kept under lock and key most times. The continental breakfast offering each morning was in our view a minimal cheap disaster and after the first morning we decided to miss the event. Coffee and tea both at the breakfast and in our rooms was the cheap granular muck with the milk pots with no indication of how old they were. We can say however that the linen both on the beds and towels etc were fresh and clean.
Plastic jam packs fitted in well to this overall presentation. So in summary we would not choose this hotel unless we were desperate.

Room Tip: My advice would be to choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMTL, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear WiggleOxford,

Thank you for review of Travelodge Rathmines. It is great to read that you found the staff both Friendly and helpful.

I am disappointed to hear that you had problems with your shower and mattress. It is a pity that you did not inform us during your stay to resolve these issues.

I take on board your comments about breakfast and rest assured we are working on improving this.

On a positive note I am pleased to read that you found the linen and towels clean and fresh, Also that you enjoyed the area and the amenities.

Again thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Claire O'Mahony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

What a lovely friendly hotel in Dublin not far from the city centre. We would definately come here to stay again as even though it was cheap, it didn't look or seem cheap. The staff are lovely and if there is a problem at any time it gets resolved immediately. If you get a taxi from the airport then you get ripped off and charged double what it should be, flag one down in the street or get 2 buses. Also all buses in Dublin only take exact change, so either keep coins to use or use the tourist bus shops around, u would save yourself a lot by getting family tickets. People in the shops, on buses, local taxis, well everywhere really were so lovely, we never had any problems and we were party of 4 women. Can work out quite expensive due to the Euro, but you can spend minimal too. Had a lovely Chinese meal along the road just past the travelodge, come out and turn right, and then go to the pub near, really welcoming. Can't fault Travelodge or Dublin, a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Corina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMTL, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear CorinaM,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here in the Travelodge Rathmines and found the staff both friendly and helpful.
I will ensure to pass all your comments on to the team who I am sure will find your comments very motivating.

We do hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future.

Regards,

Claire O'Mahony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews