We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location for business in city centre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines
Ranked #102 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal location for business in city centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Staff were very friendly and informative. I found the rates to be very competitive and the rooms were in excellent condition. It is a pity that they don't have their own restaurant, however the availability of so much choice in the Rathmines and Ranelagh area more than make up for this. Transport to the city centre is literally outside the door, but I would advise people to walk as it is a short and pleasant stroll.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMTL, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear StephenO,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you found the staff both friendly and informative and found that you received value for money.
Yes we are ideally located in Rathmines area with plenty of restaurants, bars and shop to choose from.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    157
    146
    62
    51
See reviews for
55
183
44
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here as it offered secure parking for our motorbikes,location had some nice bars close by,and a good cafe for brekkie a stone's throw away as they didn't do it? Or it was way more expensive can't remember anyway the rooms were clean spacious a bit basic but hey we just wanted to get our heads down after a long ride.no frills but did the trick.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMTL, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear AdyS,

Thank you for your review of Travelodge Rathmines. I am delighted to read you your stay with us and enjoyed the local amenities,

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The room was small with a double bed which almost filled the room. Room and bathroom were basic but clean. Lighting in the room wasn't great. Main issue was the carpark which is located at the back of the hotel and shares with the apartments. When we arrived at the hotel there was no one at the front desk. We saw the electric gate to the carpark open and so drove in and parked in one of the designated spaces (which aren't all together). We then couldn't get out of the carpark and so after ringing the hotel several times a staff member came out and opened the gate. He was extremely rude and reprimanded us for parking without going into the hotel for the key. I advised we were short on time and the desk was unattended. He advised there was a sign saying he would be back in 5 minutes and seemed to think this justified it. I find it ridiculous that you should abandon your car and wait at the front desk for someone to return and let you into the carpark!! Also he was rude in advising me that I needed to pay for the caprark. I was aware I had to pay and had no issue with this. Also after checking out I was given the key/control for the carpark and then after driving out I had to go back into the hotel with this, meaning if I was alone I would have had to abandon my car to do this!

The one bit of good service was from the man at the front desk when we returned from our night out who got some ketchup for my friend (for her chips) from the kitchen!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiRiAmAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMTL, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear MirianAK.

Thank you for your review. It is great to see that you found your room clean and that night porter was accommodating.

I am however disappointed to read about your encounter with the receptionist and would be grateful if could contact me with more information regarding this.

My email address is Claire.omahony@travelodge.ie.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Tyrone
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very clean and staff very friendly
Had bus stop outside location so was easy to get to places in Dublin ! Without the need to take your car! Would use this hotel again ! Great value for money would recommend this hotel to any one looking for a place to stay on Dublin

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Kerrs706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMTL, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Kers706,

Thank you for your kind review. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your stay was great value for money.

We hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Rathmines in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have been here now for 4 nights and it was not by choice as my company had booked me in and everywhere else was full or very expensive due to the one direction concert.
The bed is uncountable and the pillows are as thin as a wafer.
This place is very dated and needs a major refurb, so do not look at the pictures that the hotel has added as you will be very disappointed.
Breakfast time here is a sham, and you will be better off going out into the street to one of the many cafe's as the so called restaurant has only 4 tables and dry limited continental breakfast. You need to book a time slot and if you miss it, well good luck.
I needed to leave for work at 7.15am during the week and 10am on Sunday, however breakfast starts at 7.30 weekdays and 8.30am Saturday and 9am Sunday. What stupid times and these are not mentioned when you book online and breakfast needs to be booked and payed at time of booking. I missed 3 of my breakfast's due to it's late start.
This hotel advertises that it is city centre, don't be fooled as it is €13 each way, so nearly an extra €30 on top of the hotel rate, so add this to a hotel city centre and it would be cheaper and nicer elsewhere.

Room Tip: €13 taxi to City Centre each way so add €30 to the price of the hotel and look for somewhere closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMTL, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear mattarm33_11,

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

In response to your comments on breakfast times, We serve breakfast from 7.30am however we are more than happy to oblige and serve breakfast that bit earlier for our guests. I am unclear from your comments as to whether or not this was requested?

In terms of the location, we are located just 2km from Grafton Street and Stephens Green Area and have a bus stop directly opposite the hotel which operates over 5 services every 4 minutes to these areas.

I would be most grateful if you could contact me directly with more feedback on experience of breakfast. My email is claire.omahony@travelodge.ie.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

When we arrived in the late afternoon of May 15th 2014 without any reservations we were greeted in a very kind and considerate manner by Miss. Claire O'Mahony, the hotel manager. She made sure we had everything we needed from a place off site to park our car to giving us the Wifi pass codes. She even offered to help us bring in our luggage. We were most grateful for her friendly assistance and glad we found a welcoming place to stay on our last night in Ireland before heading back to the USA.

Room Tip: Reserve early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinsnest48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMTL, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Robinsnest48,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us here in Travelodge Rathmines and it was an enjoyable end to your trip.

We do hope to welcome you back to Dublin again in the future.

Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scootland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I recently stayed at Travelodge in Dublin. my stay was very plesent and could not fault the staff or service. The staff were helpful, and if I ask them for any thing they were prompt and delivering. My room was clean and of a good size when i arrived at Traveloddge they asked me if I wanted a room at the front or back of hotel, witrh or without a shower, which I thought was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMTL, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear ElaineM,

Thank you for your kind respond. I am delighted to read that you found the staff both helpful and efficient and that your rooms was to your satisfaction.

I will ensure to pass on your comments on to the team who I am confident will find very motivating.

We hope to welcome you back to the Travelodge Rathmines in near future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dergvale Hotel
#70 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#65 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#132 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines

Property: Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines
Address: Rathmines Road, Dublin D6, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin - Rathmines Travelodge is perfectly located in a vibrant area 1km from Dublin city centre with many quirky shops, cafe-bars and restaurants, and offers modern, elegantly designed, spacious bedrooms. Designed to meet the needs of today's budget conscious family, corporate guest or short break customer the Dublin - Rathmines Travelodge cannot be beaten for inexpensive accommodation, special offers and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin
Dublin Travelodge
Dublin Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing