We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location is good”
Review of Citi Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Citi Hostels
Ranked #79 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Paris, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“location is good”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Well, I stayed there for 3 nights in a twin without private bathroom.
My staying is in another building, 2nd floor.
The room is old and small. I think it's clean. the heater works very well.
The elevator was not working.
There are 2 bathrooms with toilets, 1 bathroom on our floor.
They are all 'not clean' but still acceptable.
In the beginning , it was discusting, but after 3 nights, I got used to it.
actaully for this price (2 ppl/100 euros/3 nights), it should be better!!
Cause the conditional is really a shame for a hostel.
So next time i will pay more to have a clean one at least.
But the locations is really good:) the bus stop to the airport just 5 mins by walking.
There is a BBQ just next to, which is very good and cheap.
No suggest to other travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palace1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    37
    42
    72
See reviews for
9
52
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Me and my partner stayed at this hostel for a six nights, we thought it was a bargain therefore went for it. Basically, in a short-tense this hostel is a 'get-what-you-pay-for' kind of a place, if you want a really nice hotel then this isn't the place for you.
- The staff didn't speak very good English, but were never rude towards us.
- They did try and put me and my partner in two single beds, but we said no to this and they said that was fine and placed us in a double as we booked and paid for.
- Breakfast wasn't up to much. Cereal (Corn Flakes) was placed out in a container and toast with jam/butter was provided. If you want a luxury breakfast look elsewhere.
- The bed spread was clean, the room looked half-decent, the layout of our room was rather strange but nothing to majorly complain about.
- The bathroom was usually clean in the day and was cleaned everyday. However, if you are like me and you need the bathroom in the night, there was often urine on the floor which I personally found discusting. The shower wasn't very clean, had mildew ect but it did the job, wasn't too hot or too cold.

Overall, this place was a half-decent place to stay for cheap, great central location, literally a five minute walking distance from St Stephens Green and a 15-20 minute walk to the town centre. Enjoyed my stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetroGirlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Cyberflânerie
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I only stayed here because every other place in Dublin was full for the night, and I found the experience to be generally disappointing. The location is south of Grafton St and a 20-minute walk from Temple Bar and Trinity College, or half an hour from Busaras and Connolly station. The layout of the hostel was very confusing, having to go down and up multiple stairs to get anywhere from reception. The bathrooms were in serious need of cleaning, and the rooms themselves were rather lacking as well. Breakfast was provided in the morning, but it was a long wait to get some milk and toast, and there weren't enough dishes to go around.

There is functioning wi-fi, however, and the staff did seem rather proactive with trying to help, albeit not much they could really do to improve the situation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrapDivisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We booked this at the last minute as we needed something in this area that was affordable. The building was old and very run down. Communal showers and toilets were filthy- thought I would catch something just being there! Room was unpleasant and felt like it hadn't been painted in 50 years. Finally, the bed had springs that would be more suitable for a torture chamber.

Room Tip: Dont come here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deutschland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

After we were shown our room - which was at the far end of the building and only accessible via the roof - we inspected the kitchen and were kind of disappointed. It's small and neither clean nor tidy. The bathrooms were okay, but not what I'd call clean. The common room was rather small and not very welcoming. At least there was free WiFi, but not in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tintinn9920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This hostel was recommended by an individual who lives in the area. I booked it online even though I was extremely nervous about the reviews I had read on here. We booked a double room with a shared bathroom. However, they gave us a four person room with a private bath for the just two of us. The linen on the bed was clean and the bathroom looked like it had just been cleaned. There was plenty of toilet paper provided. They offered breakfast, but didn't actually check it out. The staff was helpful and with the questions we did have they were willing to help us with no problems. This place was a pleasant surprise (no smells, dirty bathroom, or unpleasant staff as previous reviews suggested). The beds were also pretty comfortable with really warm blankets. Just have to remember that this is not a luxury hotel...it is a cheap hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilflyer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Out of all the hostels i've stayed in Dublin this must be worst hostel ive been in with defective shower which you cannot the temperature and a very bad smell in the room not to talk about the other people I was sharing with . They gave little comfort when i made a complaint.

Room Tip: I was in a four bed dorm which you would think to be better than sharing with more people I wouldnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Avalon House
#23 of 112 in Dublin
821 reviews
Four Courts Hostel
#19 of 112 in Dublin
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Dublin International Youth Hostel
Abrahams Hostel
#22 of 112 in Dublin
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citi Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citi Hostels

Property: Citi Hostels
Address: 2 Charlemont Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Citi Hostels 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citi Hostels is located in the highly fashionable " village quarter" in the heart of Dublin city and only 10 minutes walk from Grafton Street - the shopping centre of Dublin and 15 minutes from Temple Bar -Ireland's Culture Capital with its lively pubs, restaurants and festivals!We are also located at the edge of old Georgian Dublin, which boasts the finest example of Georgian architecture anywhere in Europe. Our reception is open 24 hours as is our fully fitted kitchen!Don't want to cook? No problem -breakfast is included in the price Stay in our en suite dorms from €10 per night or book a private twin/double room from €16 per person per night Nowhere else will you get such competitive rates for such high standards!-All our rooms are en suite, except the Double Rooms shared bathroom.-Free use of Hostel Computers & free WIFI-We have Double, Twin, and Double/Single private en suites as well as dorms-Did we mention the free breakfast?! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Citi Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing