We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Citi hostel”
Review of Citi Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Citi Hostels
Ranked #78 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Armidale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Citi hostel”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Citi hostel has a wonderful location and is very close to the tram, train and the bus stops, for example it appears that the train runs through the building itself. When we arrived we were greeted pleasantly and told we would have to wait 6 hours until the cleaners were finished with our room. Fair enough... And thankfully they are happy to store your bags in a locked room for no extra charge. Upon arriving back at the agreed upon time we were greeted with surprised looks and a frantic scrambling. The cleaners had just finished with the room, which is a private room with it's own bathroom. Upon entering the place looked nicely made up. The bathroom was grubby but acceptable if you don't suffer from claustrophobia or if you for some reason believe that the stainless steel cube of a shower isn't a prison cell from area 52. The bed was quite good and the heavy wooden shutters on the windows were great for blocking out the noise and also for leaving gaping holes in the wall which previous residents have used for ashtrays. When closing the shutters beware the crack in the roof which opens and spills a few gallons of foul 'water' on your luggage. Although after 48 hours when they sent the handy man to have a look (it turns out it was the drunk who woke us at 5:30am that morning by banging at the door yelling for his daughter) who looked at the crack and merely said "ugh I'll look upstairs".

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mort87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    37
    42
    72
See reviews for
9
52
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A pretty good hotel when we went 3 years ago or something. I was pretty much smashed for the whole time though. But it was cheap and in an alright location. I do remember you had to make your own food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt987610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I live outside Dublin and had to stay in the city at very short notice for a I had an early appointment in Sandyford. I chose this place as it was very close to the LUAS stop on Harcourt Street which would take me to Sandyford. Little did I know what I was letting myself in for. I picked it as it was cheap and most other places were booked up and/or too expensive so I took a chance on it.

When I arrived at reception, I was met by a foreign woman of non-determinate nationality who barely looked at me as she was checking me in. She was tucking into a microwaveable meal (no, seriously) as she took my details and handed me my keys with a lack of warmth that was quite breathtaking. Behind me, an older gent sat looking at me opposite the reception area. I never really found out who he was but he may have been a permanent resident of the hostel, judging by his un-self consciously relaxed demeanor.

And so to the room. It was so sparse that it made the average jail-cell look a room in the Savoy. The bed was hard and uncomfortable and the sheets were dirty and possibly unchanged - there were still hairs on the pillow. There was no TV and the view from the window was of inner-city Dublin in all its grim glory, a litter-strewn wasteland, bifurcated by a wall densely covered in graffiti. Beyond that, a grey flats complex where track-suited teenagers seemed to be staring right back at me or may have just been my imagination. There was no kettle or any real facilities in the room. There was a wardrobe but it looked like it had been rescued that very day from a skip nearby. And a sink. The room was too depressing to stay in before sleeping, which I had planned to do, so I went to nearby pub for a quiet drink and to come to terms with what I had just experienced. The barman asked me if everything was ok. When I returned about two hours later, I noticed that there was no lighting on the landing where my room was located so I had to use the light from mobile phone to find the keyhole. How I slept that night I will never know. I usually find it hard to rise in the morning but never was I so happy to see dawn's early light and I was up and out of there quicker than it takes to microwave a cheap lasagne. To all tourists, backpackers and any Irish who consider this a cheap option for a night in Dublin - avoid. It is a smelly, damp, nightmarish hellhole.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

If it's filthy everything you want, stay here. In the kitchen there is the smell of sewage, it is absolutely filthy throughout, and the showers and bathrooms look like they have not been cleaned in years, with damp, mould and mildew very much in evidence. The Spanish lady at reception is an obnoxious cow. She can't speak English properly yet gets narky and sarcastic when asked to clarify what she's trying to say. Her general demeanour is that of a woman constantly on the verge of an explosive psychotic episode.

This place has absolutely nothing to recommend it (shouldn't TripAdvisor have a zero-out-of-five option???), and should be closed down. But hey, this is Ireland, where mediocrity rules in these matters.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddielennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have just returned after a two nights stay and I can safely say I have had no sleep what so ever.
We had to stay here as our original booking had been cancelled at short notice and because it was cheap. I know you get what you pay for but I have stayed in much nicer hostels for the same price.
The hostel reminded me of a scene from the film taken. There weren't enough security lockers so in a 16 person dorme your belongings were not safe. There was mould on the walls and the ceiling in the showers leaked from the showers/ toilets on the floor above! I think the hostel was used to by crime gangs and illegal immigrants rather than the usual genuine travelers! Sleep with one eye open! The rooms were dark dingy and stunk of sweat!
The staff gave a very good welcome and were fair with customers and didn't take any rubbish from some idiots that were staying there which was good. On the upside the kitchen was very clean with free tea coffee cereal and toast.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in a huge dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We went to Dublin to study, and Citi Hostel has a partnership with the school, so we stayed there.
On the second day, we bought bedding, because they were in our room were not changed for a long time.
We were with heavy bags, and stayed on the top floor. To get there we had to go through a maze of stairways and corridors with people very weird.
There isn´t a friendly place, but if you want an experience that is a cheap hostel, can serve.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giseli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The location is not very good, it took us ages to talk anywhere but was advertised as being close to the main attractions, The rooms were clean but very very basic which i understand because it was cheap. However the staff were rude, the showers were freezing cold and unusable, the lock on our door was broken, I felt f=very unsafe. We were put in the side building which was unmanned. I have since stayed in Dublin elsewhere and had a much better experience

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Avalon House
#23 of 112 in Dublin
821 reviews
Four Courts Hostel
#19 of 112 in Dublin
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Dublin International Youth Hostel
Abrahams Hostel
#21 of 112 in Dublin
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citi Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citi Hostels

Property: Citi Hostels
Address: 2 Charlemont Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Citi Hostels 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citi Hostels is located in the highly fashionable " village quarter" in the heart of Dublin city and only 10 minutes walk from Grafton Street - the shopping centre of Dublin and 15 minutes from Temple Bar -Ireland's Culture Capital with its lively pubs, restaurants and festivals!We are also located at the edge of old Georgian Dublin, which boasts the finest example of Georgian architecture anywhere in Europe. Our reception is open 24 hours as is our fully fitted kitchen!Don't want to cook? No problem -breakfast is included in the price Stay in our en suite dorms from €10 per night or book a private twin/double room from €16 per person per night Nowhere else will you get such competitive rates for such high standards!-All our rooms are en suite, except the Double Rooms shared bathroom.-Free use of Hostel Computers & free WIFI-We have Double, Twin, and Double/Single private en suites as well as dorms-Did we mention the free breakfast?! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Citi Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing