We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for the price”

Crystal Boat Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #1,983 of 2,573 Restaurants in Dublin
Restaurant details
County Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good for the price”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

had a meal here last night 28/4/14 just before going to the bord gais energy theatre,found the staff very pleasant.On the food i would say average to good,we had two starters and two main nice and tasty, the only down side was that the plates were a little cold. I would say for the price and being close to the theatre it would be good enough to go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stormycos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    17
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Dreadful”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We ate here or rather we did not eat here on the 30th January, On arrival there were two parasols to climb over to get to our table but were then brought around the other side where there was a death trap of a stairs, We ordered as starter smoked chicken etc, When this arrived it was totally inedible. It tasted of plastic and had some kind of orange coating. When we asked for the starter to be changed the waitress called the lady in charge who was extremely hostile. How she ended up in the hospitality trade is above and beyond us. She sent down an irish girl who was extremely nice and did change our starter to vegetable spring rolls which were just about edible, We thought we were on safe ground as we had ordered lamb chops and fillet steak for which there was an extra charge of E3 and E4 respectively. Wrong, No mint sauce for lamb chops which mainly consisted of gristle and the steak was more horsemeat than fillet steak. We asked the Irish waitress for our bill and explained that it was the worst meal with the most hostile attitude by the lady in charge that we had ever experienced. We appreciated that it was not her fault and that rather than face the wrath of the lady in charge we were just going to pay our bill and leave never to return, We did get a doggy bag so at least our dogs were happy. Mind you expensive dog food. Do not ever waste your hard earned money in this establishment.

Dymhna L

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadford, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for a pre-show meal”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I have eaten here twice, and would probably go back again.

I found the food to be very tasty, with more than enough on the plate. The starters are excellent, and though the sauces are a little unusual, the mains are good too. No issues at all with the meal,

The only reason that I haven't given it more stars is that both time I have been, the service has left something to be desired. When you can get someone's attention, they are quick and efficient, but getting their attention is difficult, and the simple pleasantries I expect from wait staff (a smile, or a 'you're welcome') are non-existent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsBorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst and unauthentic Chinese/oriental food ever!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We came into restaurant and had to wait around to be acknowledged even though it wasnt that busy and staff were running around.

There were 2 of us and we ordered the 1/4 aromatic duck to begin with. I have been to many restaurants and ordered this before and even cooked this at home but the size was more like 1/6 or 1/8 so if you are hungry and then its unlikely to be enough. It also came with shredded carrot and pickled chilli cabbage - odd! However it all tasted good. We ordered more sauce and more pancakes and didn't get charged extra.

Unfortunately it went downhill from there. We ordered 2x chicken and prawn pad thai for our mains. It was a complete disappointment. I have also ordered this dish many times (and also had this many times in Thailand) and cook this at home. This was not a pad thai. As far as we are aware pad thai is glass noodles, veg, lime, peanuts, tamarind, fish sauce etc. It came as tasteless flat noodles, not really any veg, no taste of lime or peanuts or fish sauce. When we asked for peanuts we got whole cashewnuts. It was tasteless so we had a word with the staff who agreed to recook my friend's pad thai. This ended up being a curry powdered based noodles with chicken and prawn with some chilli but ate it as she was hungry. I opted change mine to have the ribs (a starter) and egg fried rice. They used the cheapest rice and it was pilau rice and not the traditional long grain rice with egg. Tasteless so I only ate a spoonful. The ribs were meaty but just had a gravy mixture as sauce/seasoning.

The staff tried to explain that the meals were how the "irish enjoyed it" (friend is English and I am English/Chinese). However, the pad thai were wayyy off the traditional dishes and were tasteless and bland. The staff were very defensive. When the bill came, we were even overcharged and there was no apology or any compensation.

Summary: bland, unauthentic oriental food and bad customer service. Will never come back here again. Loads of nicer restaurants in the area to go to instead.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crystal Boat Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Crystal Boat Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing