We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A story of good and sad”
Review of ABC House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ABC House
Ranked #25 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked this guest house as it said on the website "minutes from the 02" so to find it was 15 euros/12 minutes in a taxi from the 02 was disappointing......the bus alternatives was to go into Dublin on the bus and change to get another out....which was problematic as concerts finished too late

we had an attic room in the 2nd house which was scrupulously clean however the room needs a repaint, the wardrobe has a door missing, we needed to ask to have bulbs changed, the only real place to plug a kettle in was on the floor at the foot of the bed and whilst comfy the single beds are 2ft 6 not 3ft

The staff are lovely, breakfast was plentiful and freshly cooked however we arrived tired after the flight and had a concert at 6 so wanted a rest but the room was freezing and when we went down to ask about the heating we could not find anyone, rang the number got no one so got into bed to get warm

so yes we like the staff, breakfast, clean rooms and definitely great value for money, on a great bus route for town....but the 02 thing was a real pain and the other things a bloody nuisance x

Room Tip: ask for a room in the 57 side not the 55 house and ask re size of bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeCorrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

I recommend this place when you travel on a budget ! The staff is shiny and helpful ! Atmosphere of this place is really cozy. Right at the entrance there are a lot of travel advertises so you can bring them with you and choose something according to your need (one day trip close to dublin, or going to Belfast, or even cliffs of moher etc...) Besides you have everyday room cleaning!
The location is good enough cause there is a bus stop right in front of the house. Thank you for the hospitality!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aleksandar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I just stayed here for 3 nights as a single female traveller on business in Dublin. I was allocated a single room (double bed) ensuite at the front of the hotel. The glazing in that place was amazing as even though it is on a very busy main road the only thing I ever heard was sirens on ambulances etc, the traffic noise barely filtered through. The room was clean and well equipped as well as being warm, I probably would have found it a bit small if there was 2 people in it but just for myself it was perfect. The shower/wc was clean and towels lovely and fresh. Ample supplies of tea and coffee. The write up states wifi in common areas but I was lucky enough to get a couple of bars in the room. I used the private car park at the back accessed up an alley at the rear with keypad entry. I didnt take the breakfast (extra cost) but my 3 or 4 meetings with staff they were lovely, friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjwagdomEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We spent three nights here to watch Ireland v Wales rugby. 20 min walk to O'Connel Street. 10 euro for taxi.2.60 euro for bus. Pubs, resturants, take aways & Spar nearby. Spent time in Ivy House Pub across road, very friendly and helpful staff. ABC B&B clean & comfortable, good breakfast (extra cost), floor boards bit squeaky above our room but nothing to spoil stay. Excellent value for money. Thank you to Mary & staff.

Room Tip: We had rooms at rear - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshrugbyfan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I loved our stay at the ABC House. The lady who owns the B&B was quite helpful in not just our accommodation but also getting around town. The room was very clean and spacious as well! The only downside is that the walls are probably thin and you can hear a lot of noise if there are other noisy guests but it wasn't enough to ruin our stay. The stay felt much like home and was nice after a long and hard day of traveling!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I spent there two nights and was satisfied with what i got for a reasonable price. Room was rather basic but there was everything you need. The place is in the Northern part of the city (lovely clay-covered buildings around) but it is very well connected with the centre via many buses. Recommended if you want a quiet and not overpriced place to stay to visit mysterious and beautiful Dublin

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raffiqvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.9 mi away
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse
0.8 mi away
Egans House
Egans House
#27 of 150 in Dublin
457 reviews
3.7 mi away
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
1 mi away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 150 in Dublin
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Almara Bed & Breakfast Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABC House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABC House

Address: Abc House 57 Drumcondra Road Upper | Dublin 9, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £61 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the ABC House. ABC House provides comfortable, quality accommodation for visitors to Dublin City Centre, Ireland, with a friendly welcome and free private car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your ABC House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abc House Hotel Dublin
Dublin Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing