We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Canal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sandymount Hotel(Dublin)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cassidys Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sheldon Park Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,894)
Filter reviews
1,895 results
Traveller rating
724
837
249
53
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
724
837
249
53
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgasworks baraviva stadiumtheatre packagedart stationgas workscity centretheatre breakbord gais theatreminute walkfree car parkinglovely hotelbar foodbooked this hotelreception staffstayed here for one nighthotel bartwin room
Filter
Updating list...
1,411 - 1,416 of 1,895 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Having stayed in many hotels due to business, I feel well placed to say that the Grand Canal does what it says on the tin.

From the Bar downstairs to the Reception staff - I cannot praise them highly enough.

I had emailed a couple of queries in advance, which Siobhan was happy to give me very prompt responses including details of transfer from the airport, directions to O2 and Town amongst other things.

The hotel is walking distance to the Aircoach stop (2 minutes)
Walking distance to Grafton Street (15 Minutes)

We arrived at the hotel at 10am, and they happily let us check in early, which was a blessing given the pending late night (O2 for Rihanna)

The reception staff where happy to offer directions and advise to various locations.

The hotel ran a handy shuttle bus to the O2

The bar staff were friendly and the breakfast was hearty

Thumbs Up to the Grand Canal

Thanks Guys.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed it and found the staff helpful. I have passed on your comments to the staff and in partiicular Siobhan.
Thanks again for taking the time and I hope we will see you again soon.
Kind regards
Sheila Baird

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Stayed there on Saturday last, 1st October. The was a wedding function going on which we were not informed about - although it is now normal practice in good Irish hotels to tell prospective patrons this – and we had to endure very loud music in our room until after 1 am. When the music ended it was replaced by the sound of an extractor in our bathroom that would not go off. When we tried to find a manager in the morning the desk staff were unsure who was on duty and we got tired waiting for the manager to come.
A night we would prefer to forget and at 100 euro an expensive one.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciaran m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Stayed ther in 8/11. The room was hot and humid. We were offered a fan as there is no air conditioning in the rooms although the public spaces in the hotel have air conditioning. Don't understand why they wouldn't air condition the rooms but not feel the need to air condition the rest of the place. The hotel restaurant is awful. We ordered a Margherita pizza and got something with some kind of yellow cheddar like cheese on it. We had the Irish breakfast which was expensive (10 euros) , and of poor quality. The Irish bacon was dried out and stiff (probably left in the warmer too long). The hotel is way off the beaten track as it is a long walk to Grafton Street or Temple Bar. Also, if you need any incidentals like tooth paste or a shower cap you'll have to purchase them from the vending machine. I could have stayed at the Four Seasons for only $200 more for the entire 8 night stay and should have. The staff was on the cool side in temperament. I did not see any Americans there, just Irish. Americans would find the accommodations to be on the 1 or 2 star level, as even the Holiday Inn would give you toothpaste or a shower cap. It did have free WiFi and the beds were comfy and the rooms clean. Decor and atmosphere were college dorm-ish.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank techlady4160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments from your stay in August. I am glad you found the room comfy and clean during your stay. It is disappointing to hear that the Restaurant was not good and I have highlighted this with the Food & Beverage Departments for improvement.
While we are reviewing a renovation plan for the bedrooms at the moment, Air Conditioning is something that is only occasionally required in our mild climate so would be a very costly investment for us to install in all our rooms.
We are located in a quiet area an enjoyable 15 minutes walk from the city centre.
Thanks again for your comments.
Kind regards
Sheila Baird

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Our room was a good size, clean, and the bed comfortable. Free Wifi was included and you can choose to include breakfast, which is very good and offered buffet style with the usual Irish Breakfast ingredients. A computer is available off the lobby but is coin operated, expensive, and frustrating to use. They do not have airport shuttle pick up or drop off. The stop for an airport bus is a block and a half away. A fifteen to twenty minute walk will take you to Trinity College, National Gallery, shopping on Grafton Street.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDWCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Hello
Thank you for posting your comments following your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed it. We are working on getting a replacement for our direct airport shuttle but in the meantime as you say the Aircoach Bus leaves you just a block away and runs every 15 minutes for most of the day.
I hope we might have the opportunity of seeing you again at the hotel.
Thanks again for providing your comments.
Kind regards
Sheila Baird

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

4 of us stayed at this hotel for the Dublin Horse Show. The reception area was busy but the staff were polite and helpful. The rooms were spacious, bed was very comfortable and there were tea and coffee facilities. We had an evening meal at a special price €15 - main course with steak and a pint - which was very good. The also had a full menu. The Bar was alive with parties and good craic and not for those wanting a quiet drink. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thuderroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is great to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we will see you again soon.
Many thanks again.
Sheila Baird

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews