We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good, some not so good, nothing bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #38 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Some good, some not so good, nothing bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Currently on my second week staying at this hotel and on balance a positive experience.

The good: Reasonable rooms, clean, tidy, fair size, comfortable bed, good hot shower, good breakfast, free parking, free wifi, friendly staff that deal with an issues, the DART station is right opposite (when it's running)

The not so good: Location is a little out of the way for tourist central, but I'm not here as a tourist. The hairdryer is annoying. Their is a fan or aircon running somewhere at the rear of the hotel that vibrates the headboard, grrrrr. The fan noise stopped at 21:30 but the vibration continued I've got earplugs but last week noise from other guests is bad at night and in the mornings - but the hotel can do little about that, but when a party was getting out of hand the night staff address it very quickly (great job).

The bad: nothing really, good value and good hotel for the price.

Very nice to see the hotel has reacted to comments about road noise. I was in a front room last week and with the window closed there was very little sound at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwain_Pipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are aware of the issue with the hairdryers and are looking into alternatives, but unfortunately no immediate remedy. The fans at the back of the hotel we are reviewing, both their maintenance and time settings to ensure no further disruption.
If there is anything we can do to assist you while you are still with us please do let us know.
Thanks again for the comments.
Kind regards
Sheila Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    726
    215
    46
    26
See reviews for
205
651
76
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I loved this hotel it was the last hotel my husband and I stayed at on our honeymoon. We did 20 days in great britian and Ireland. This was BY FAR the biggest and best. we got upgraded to the top floor suite that overlooked the rugby stadium. A-Mazing!! Loved it. The staff is awesome and so nice and the downstairs pub is really good too. :)

Room Tip: I book a regular room and then got an email to upgrade to a suite for only $25 extra so I took the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZR6Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Hello
Thank you for your comments. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - especially as it was such a special trip.
Hopefully you might get the chance to come again.
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments.
Kind regards
Sheila Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Stayed here for one night on the fourth floor. The room was very clean and tidy with coffee making facilities. I thought it was fairly quiet and had a good night's sleep although my other half found the fan in the bathroom a bit noisy. We were rather worried at first as, when we arrived, there was water dripping from the ceiling in the corridor about a metre away from our room!! They did fix this by the end of the stay and there was not a problem in our room itself. We ate in the adjacent Gasworks restaurant for dinner which was nothing special to be honest. The breakfast was fine- tasty and a reasonable choice. It is 15-20 minutes stroll into the city centre and 10 minutes to the theatre of the same name which we had no problem with but I think some people have found it a bit far out. The free wifi was great. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 432 was good with an excellent view of the Aviva Stadium (formerly Lansdowne Road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ge0Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay. We did have a minor maintenance issue near your room and I am sorry that it caused you concern.
I have passed on your comments regarding the food to the chef. We are always interested in such comments as it helps us work on the menu items.
Thanks again for your comments and I hope we will see you again soon.
Kind regards
Sheila Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed here for two nights as boyfriend was doing the marathon. We paid a bit extra so we could have an exec room, and were given one of the corner suites which was brilliant. Lovely spacious room, large seating area. On fifth floor, facing main road but no issue with noise and we sleep with the windows open. Didn't eat in restaurant but food prices looked good. Although we couldn't have a late checkout, the hotel put aside a number of rooms for runners to shower in after the race, and we greatly appeciated that. Distance to town is abut 15 mins walk to Trinity college so not bad at all. Staff at reception were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Will use this hotel again in the future. My one minor complaint? The hairdrier. One of those ones you have to hold the button down on..grrrr!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyflyme2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed it and hope we will see you back again soon.
Congratulations to your boyfriend for taking on the marathon, an impressive achievement !
Many thanks again.
Kind regards
Sheila Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel was clean, tidy and well managed. It was slightly further out of the centre than we expected - more like 20mins walk - but maybe it tool us longer as we were there during the torrential rain and floods!

The staff were efficient, rooms were perfect as a base to stay. A good location for the O2 arena and the Grand Canal Theatre as well as the developing docks area.

There was some noise from the bar on our first night as it was a Saturday but the remaining nights were peaceful and undisturbed.

Overall, a pleasant stay and good value for money.

Tip - if you want any supplies, the Eurospar shop down the road is open 24hours.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AT2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and hope we might have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Thanks again for your comments.
Kind regards
Sheila Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stay in this hotel 2 or 3 times a year for meetings whilst in Dublin.
Service, location all good.. Rooms are good, last time the shower wasn't working properly. Other then that good hotel for the money.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thisthatandtheother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I spent two night in this hotel, it was very good, room always clean and comfortable, free parking and good breakfast.
Excellent free wireless coverage in the room.

Had dinner in the pub near the reception, average food.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vallors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Hello
Thanks for the comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kind regards
Sheila Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Property: Grand Canal Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing