We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Budget Hotel”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #40 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Good Budget Hotel”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Having never been to Dublin, wasn't sure what we were looking for, but this was a good budget hotel. The location was not the greatest for us as we ended up walking for ages to get to the areas where the main shopping/attractions/restaurants and pubs are, but the price of a room to sleep this hotel was great. Found the rooms to be a good size and the shower had amazing pressure!!! The staff were friendly and helpful. Downside for us was the fact that the coffee bar was not open on weekends, which was the main reason for choosing this hotel as we knew we'd have a very early morning departure and it would have been a great place to grab breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbiegirl_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Our coffee bar is open Monday to Friday mornings but our staff as always available to get you what you need if a full breakfast is not required on the weekends. We do love our showers. Hope you might get a chance to return to Dublin again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    765
    227
    47
    26
See reviews for
223
690
80
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday in September as we were going to a night at the dogs in Shelboure Park. Very convenient only about 8 minutes walk. We were checked in very quickly and parked our car in the underground car park at the hotel. Room was nice and in the front of the hotel but no view. Got a little noisy during the night as it was quiet warm and we had to sleep with the window open but not a major issue.
Breakfast was excellent. Staff all very friendly. Only issue was the price for B&B which we felt was a bit pricey. Lady Gaga was on at the Aviva and hotel was packed maybe this was the reason?

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autoplas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Hello
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The rates will vary but to be sure of our best rates keep an eye on our own website.
Thanks again,
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Grand Canal Hotel was a nice place to stay. Friendly staff, adequate breakfast and clean rooms so all the basics were ok. Extra plus from the gym! Small but adequate! Restaurant in the hotel was nice too, good food and reasonable prizes.

In the room I could hear some traffic noise and noise from the corridor, however, this was not too bad but may be inconvenient for light sleepers.

Hotel is well located, specially if you are visiting Convention Centre or theatre. It is also walking distance from the city centre, but you have to be prepared to walk approx. half an hour.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phantom30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Glad you enjoyed the hotel and hope oyu have the opportunity to visit again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Very good location close to various convenience stores, pubs, and restaurants. The rooms are exactly what you need and a bit more. Smart TV, internet, comfy bed, clean bathroom, good service, great value!
There is a pub on the 1st floor which is really convenient (of course, you are in Dublin).
Take a 15 min walk and you're on Grafton Street.
The staff is very friendly.
No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannevam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Hello
Thank you for the posting and good to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel just for the one night to attend a concert at the nearby stadium. The Aviva stadium is just a 10 mins walk in a straight line which was fantastic. The Hotel itself is very nice, room was clean and looked like it had been recently renovated. Not the best of views from our room but that's not important. Great amenities in the room dressing gown, iron, iron board and free Wifi. Breakfast in the hotel was also good - good selection of both hot and cold food.
Overall a great hotel and would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emjay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Hello
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012

From the moment we arrived till the time we left we experienced polite friendly helpful staff and great service.The food was of the highest standard and delicious.The room was clean,aired and bright,we also had a great view of the Aviva stadium where the great Lady GaGa was performing on the night, because of this the hotel was buzzing and the atmosphere was great.We however went to Shelbourne Park which was a great experience also.We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are dleighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ND
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Picked the Grand Canal when traveling to Dublin for the marathon. Very clean and newer looking. Good location to walk to Many major attractions for active folk. Good breakfast included. We had no car so not sure on parking. An easy quite worry free place.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Hello
Thanks for the posting and glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will get to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#27 of 151 in Dublin
2,309 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#14 of 151 in Dublin
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
516 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,549 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Property: Grand Canal Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing