We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, but some minor flaws”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #40 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed here on a city break at the end of May - stayed in an executive room.

Hotel well located - 15 mins walk to centre of town, DART station 2 mins away and close to theatres and (Aviva?) Landsdowne Road stadium.

Room was tidy, spotless but a little tired. Desk lamp had one foot missing so wobbled constantly, one of the overhead lamps in the bedhead was missing and the bedside lamps weren't very bright. That said, the room was spacious and well equipped - Free wi-fi throughout the hotel was a welcome bonus.

Bathroom was also clean, but dated and the shower had a mind of its own when it came to pressure & temperature changes.

Only used the restaurant for breakfast, but buffet selection was decent,and well fairly priced for a hotel in this range.

All the staff were excellent - service was first class throughout the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Hello
Thank you for your posting and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have in the last week upgraded our hot water system so am sure we have the showers back under control but apologise that this affected you during your stay.
I hope we might have the chance to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,719)
There are newer reviews for Grand Canal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

943 - 949 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

We had a lovely stay, spacious room, nice evening meal with friendly service. Breakfast good,we like our rashers well done and it was no problem.Having tickets for the show waiting at reception was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gstewart76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Hello
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I booked this hotel through VivaStay and got a really good price for bed and breakfast. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the Grand Canal area and it would be easy to get to the O2. The hotel ran a return bus service, but we didn't avail of it.
Our room was comfortable and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was ok, but pretty standard fare and the cooked bacon tasted as if it had been prepared hours earlier!!
I would definitely return to this hotel for its location and comfort. Added to which it provides complimentary car parking for overnight guests - something that very few central city hotels do.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Viva Stay
Thank MotherBird77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Hello
Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The location is great for the especially for the theater. I have past your comments regarding breakfast on to the chef and we will monitor it.
Many thanks again for the posting.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for two nights and observed what I would call at best a 'mixed' experience. Firstly, we had a free upgrade to Executive room for our anniversary which was very nice of the staff and management. The room itself was nice, spotlessly clean and large enough for our needs. However, with the room overlooking the traffic, it did get a little noisy at night, and we did need the window open as the room was roasting hot! The free car parking and wifi were both great additions to our stay. The location was good also, around 20 minutes walk to O'Connell Street and 10 minutes stroll to the Bord Gais theatre. The hotel also operates a shuttle bus service to the theatre which is a nice touch. The staff were very friendly on a whole, especially Bartholomiej at breakfast and the chap who was supervising at breakfast also (whose name eludes me).

However, we availed of the pre-theatre menu for dinner that night, and were subjected to 'A Comedy Of Errors' while we sat down for our meal. Firstly, a young fellow (who did not wear a name badge) with a strong Dublin accent sat us at our table and asked us did we want a drink. My partner obliged to order rosé wine, and he returned almost 10 minutes later to inform us that they didn't have any rosé left, and asked would we like a West Coast Cooler Rosé spritzer instead. My partner agreed and he returned after a few minutes with a regular West Coast Cooler drink (not rosé) without blinking an eye? He then finally returned after a further 15 minutes (a total of around 30 minutes) to take our order. We actually witnessed a fellow guest, who was seated at the exact same time as us, get up and leave after finishing 3 courses before we had even eaten our first bite of our first course!

When the food finally arrived (40-odd minutes after our arrival), it was good, however I noticed no salt or pepper shakers on the table. I asked for some, and we were given one empty salt shaker. I asked again and we were given working ones! During our meal, we were asked by the shift manager how our meal was. It was a rare moment of attentiveness, as he didn't seem to take any notice of what was going on before this (hence our extremely long wait for ordering).

We then ordered dessert from a lovely young brunette waitress who was a breath of fresh air among the rest of the dinner service staff. When dessert arrived, it was very good, and when we were in the middle of eating ice cream the same young anonymous Dublin waiter came over and asked us if we wanted to order dessert?

When we went to pay the bill, it was considerably more than we expected, as we had been charged for two steaks instead of the one we received. When I queried this, the bartender looked flustered and seemed unable to operate the till to make the change. In the end, he gave up and actually undercharged us by €4.25.

The next morning, I noticed a lack of salt and pepper shakers on the tables yet again. The breakfast was however very good and myself and my partner both enjoyed it. There was a good mixture of continental and Irish foods complimented by toast, juices and pastries.

I must say we had a good laugh at the dinner service, however from a professional perspective there were some errors I feel the superiors at the Grand Canal would appreciate knowing about. These errors are probably what sticks out most in our minds after the stay, which is a shame.

I am not sure if we will stay here again, we certainly have some engagements in this area of Dublin over the coming months at the Aviva and so on, however if we do I would expect things to be a little more polished on a whole. I am certain that the management will take an interest in these comments and the staff on a whole were good. Actually - I think I would welcome the chance to see if an improvement has been made the next time I am in Dublin!

Room Tip: If you like a quiet night's sleep, ask for a room away from the street.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and you are correct, we are very interested to receive them. I have past them on to the food service team and manager as i know they would like to bring all the team members up to our normal standard.
I hope you will consider staying with us again and be assured we will have improved.
Thanks again for the comments.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Recently stayed at the Grand Canal hotel - we were looking for somewhere close to the Bord Gais Energy Theatre.
We went to see the Lion King.
The hotel is well located - close to pretty much everywhere. Aprox ten minute walk to Stephen Green and about 5 mins walk away from the Grand Canal. If you happen to be going to watch a game at the Aviva - your about 10 mins away from that as well.
In terms of location - perfect.
The parking is tight - you nearly need to get out the sun roof. here is plenty of street parking though, that is free from 18:00 Fri for the whole weekend.
At check in we were told that we were upgraded to an Executive suite. In truth I wouldnt like to see the normal bedrooms as the executive suites are a normal room size - it does come with a smart TV which has access to the internet. That really is the only bonus I see to the room.
The room was tidy and clean which is a must. The food in the resturant was good and the atmoshere in the bar was great.
Wasn't that impressed with the breakfast the following day. Bufft style which is fine - but it was extremely greasy, very unlike me I had t leave it.
All in all - probably would go back.
Certainly recomend it, the location is key.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadYolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Hello
Thank you for your posting. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
All our rooms are recently refurbished and upgraded to a similar standard, but the executive rooms do have a few little extras such as in room safes, robes, complementary water and pillow chocolates. We are centrally located and the car park is very handy, as well as the on street parking on the weekends.
Many thanks again for the comments and hope you will have the opportunity of staying again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Have recently returned from a 3 night break at this hotel with my partner & 2 other couples.

Good points:-
Nice large clean & comfortable rooms
No noise from inside the hotel
Efficient friendly staff
Easy check in / check out
5 minutes to the Dart
5 minutes to bus stops
15-20 minute pleasant walk into town

Negative points -
The room was soooo hot. The window could be left open, but being on the front meant a lot of noise from people walking past or early morning traffic.
The breakfast was plentiful but poor quality. We only ate there once.
Some people may not enjoy 20 minute walk into town.

Overall a good choice. Would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: If you need to open a window because of the heat, do not get a room over looking the front
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is great for us to get the feedback. I hope you will have the opportunity to join us again soon.
Many thanks again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Nice clean hotel, good breakfast, the attached bar/lounge/Restaraunt was good. The staff was most helpful including showing us the best spots on the map to get the hop on hop off and exchanging currency. Closer than it looks to downtown- less than a mile walk to Trinity College.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dipietro88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Hello
Thank you for your posting. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Many thanks again for the feedback.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 150 in Dublin
2,373 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,947 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 150 in Dublin
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
1,369 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
4,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £83 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing