We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, comfortable stay at the Grand Canal”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #40 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 June 2008

I just came back from staying here over the weekend with my boyfriend. Location was really convenient. We took the AirCoach fron the hotel (12 euro return) and got off at the Schoolhouse stop (~ 20 minutes). The hotel was a few minutes walk from there. Leave for about 45 minutes on your way back to the airport though because it's a round stop bus. From the hotel, it's about 15 minutes walk to Grattan Street (main shopping strip) and St Stephen's Green.

I was pleasantly surprised by how welcoming and helpful the staff were - they were very accommodating and happily did all they could to make our stay easier for us. We were on the top floor and it had a great view over Dublin with the mountain landscape in the distance.

The room itself was sizable and very clean and the bed was really comfortable. The bathroom was quite new and spacious with a great shower (which can be hard to find in even 4 star hotels in Europe).

We were both really pleased with the hotel and would definitely stay there again. From my experience, definitely above average for a three-star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalFootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,718)
There are newer reviews for Grand Canal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,460 - 1,466 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2008

Quite a good location although only if your prepared to walk 10-15 mins to Trinity College / Stephens Green. Free onsite parking is useful and the Grand Canal Dock area has some coffee shops.
The hotel breakfast is a waste of time with too many guests in too small a dining facility - avoid the need for cattle prods and get yourself a coffee and croissants at the dock.
Bedroom and bathroom were a good size with a spare single in the room but internet access was expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mark_ncompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Just back from a great weekend in Dublin with my wife.I would recommend this hotel to anyone,spotlessly clean and tidy.The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.We ate breakfast which was hot ,hearty and fresh.The adjoining pub, The Gasworks was priced reasonably,with better prices than local pubs.I never thought id say a hotel was cheaper than a local.
A good location for the RDS, and a fifteen minute stroll to the city centre.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busgeezer1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at the Grand Canal Hotel. From the pictures online we were expecting great things. It didn't take long for us to realize our expectations were a little too high. Overall, it is a nice looking hotel. The rooms are nice and clean, when the staff actually cleans the room. On many occasions, we would come back to a half-cleaned room: the electric kettle still holding yesterday's tea water, crumbs on the main table from yesterday's snack, etc. The room looked clean, but on closer inspection looked rushed through.

One of our biggest complaints was with the staff at the front desk and attached restaurant. The lobby staff looked annoyed when asked questions, and when answering phone calls from rooms had pained expressions. Also, don't expect to rely on the front desk to actually call with the wake up call you requested. We missed our tour bus because of their inability to follow through.

The attached restaurant/pub, The Gasworks, had decent food, when you actually got attention. On one occasion, my husband and I sat for over an hour waiting for a menu after drinks had been ordered. We finally gave up when all staff had apparently vacated the premises. When you do finally get some attention, they immediately brought the bill and never came back to see if there was anything else you needed, such as a refilled water glass or after-dinner coffee and dessert. When ordering room service, expect to have cash available as they do not allow charging it to your room, even though you may charge meals/drinks when you eat in the restaurant.

When it comes to the size of the rooms and amenities, we were not impressed. When we vacation, we do not just use our hotels as a "flop" house or just as a place to lay our head at night and therefore like to enjoy the rooms themselves. The room is quite small, and though they boast views of the quay, the best we got was a view of the opposite side of the building. The windows only open a crack, even on the fifth floor. The rooms become uncomfortably warm and stay that way as there is no circulation due to the inability to open the curtain. The mattress is hard as a rock. My husband and I like our mattresses on the firm side, but this went beyond firm. The bathroom is okay with nice counter space. However, the sink does not empty, even with clear-appearing drain. This also goes for the shower. You end up standing in ankle-deep water because both the faucet and the shower head run at the same time. With a slow-draining drain, this creates a problem.

If you are a light sleeper, good luck getting to sleep at night. Even the quietest conversations come through the walls as if you are standing right next to the speaker. Constantly slamming doors literally shake the room. With all the earthquakes happening lately, I thought we were done for on many occasions.

On the plus side, as small as that may be, there was in-room internet offered at the cheapest rates we found in Dublin. The full Irish breakfast was also one of the cheapest we found and was also quite good. When my husband and I arrived in Dublin ahead of schedule, they did let us check in a few hours early, which was nice after traveling for 20+ hours.

Overall, I would not and do not recommed this hotel. For the price, you can definitely get friendlier staff and higher quality rooms within a closer vicinity to anything in the city center. Travelers beware!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cheesyatosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2008

Good modern clean hotel about a 15 minute pleasant walk from Graffton Street. Room was nice, bright, spacious and airy, fully tiled bathroom with bath and shower, plenty of hot water all kept immaculately clean. TV, tea and cofee making facilities, iron and ironing board, wi fi, everything you would expect from a qood quality chain hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The breakfast which was included in the package that I booked via superbreak.com was excellent and eat as much as you like. The hotel rate was very reasonable and location is nice and quiet. Having secured very cheap flights I was shocked at the prices being charged for hotel accommodation in Dublin, in particular I was anxious to book quality accommodation but not at rip off prices; I trawled through the internet for a long time before booking this hotel. For the sake of a 15 minute walk I would recommend this hotel every time.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jozie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

This hotel is an excellent place to stay. The staff is excellent, very professional, efficient, pleasant, quick. The hotel is immaculate in every way. Breakfast was the best I've had on my travels. Close enough to walk to other eateries and attractions. I had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend it.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank mcl1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

We found the Grand Canal to be modern and clean. Staff couldn't be more helpful and our room was a good size and spotless. Not far to walk to the city centre and it's in a nice part of town. Much cheaper than some others of a similar standard. No complaints at all.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank kiks28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 150 in Dublin
2,368 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
1,944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 150 in Dublin
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
1,368 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
4,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £83 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing