We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Dublin”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 July 2008

This was a good hotel to stay at in Dublin. It is about a 10-15 minute walk from the main tourist shopping and attraction areas and is located in a safe and upscale part of town. It was a little hard to find but has turned out to be a nice hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank csb8236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,539 - 1,545 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2008

This is a very good hotel in an excellent location. Five of us (using 3-rooms), experienced none of the problems mentions by some other travellers, and in our opinion, the hotel is far better than many other 3-star hotels at which we have stayed.

Our bedrooms were immaculately clean as were the bathrooms. The staff were most helpful, and the food in the adjoining bar was excellent. The hot buffet style breakfast was also very good and value for money.

One major advantage to us was the secure car park at the rear of the hotel.

We found the hotel excellent value for money, and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thebeardedwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

I stayed at the Grand Canal Hotel in Dublin for one night. It is easy to reach with the shuttle busses.
The room was perfect: spacious, clean and quiet.
The service from the staff was excellent, too.
I can highly reccomend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank karensisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

I stayed in the hotel on the 28th of June with my boyfriend while we attended a concert in the RDS. Lovely hotel and our room was very nice and large. Having read other reviews I wasn't expecting a lot to be honest but it was a grand hotel as the name would suggest. All the staff that we encountered were lovely, the only problem we had was on the sunday morning. At 10 in the morning we were woken up because someone had come into our room, possibly a housekeeper. I was a little annoyed by this but the breakfast that we had later on made up for it. Good hotel, lovely staff and close to RDS so it suited us fine.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CARRIE23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Canal Hotel for three nights before moving on to Galway. This was our first visit to Ireland and we were impressed by the service we received at this establishment.

Our room was positioned at the front of the hotel but it was not noisy and we were able to enjoy a good night's sleep in a very comfortable bed. The car park at the rear was secure so we did not have to worry about our vehicle.

We were able to walk from the hotel to the pick-up point for the open-top tourist bus. The food in the restaurant was good and I would definitely recommend The Grand Canal. We hope to return there sometime.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jilllovescricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

I just came back from staying here over the weekend with my boyfriend. Location was really convenient. We took the AirCoach fron the hotel (12 euro return) and got off at the Schoolhouse stop (~ 20 minutes). The hotel was a few minutes walk from there. Leave for about 45 minutes on your way back to the airport though because it's a round stop bus. From the hotel, it's about 15 minutes walk to Grattan Street (main shopping strip) and St Stephen's Green.

I was pleasantly surprised by how welcoming and helpful the staff were - they were very accommodating and happily did all they could to make our stay easier for us. We were on the top floor and it had a great view over Dublin with the mountain landscape in the distance.

The room itself was sizable and very clean and the bed was really comfortable. The bathroom was quite new and spacious with a great shower (which can be hard to find in even 4 star hotels in Europe).

We were both really pleased with the hotel and would definitely stay there again. From my experience, definitely above average for a three-star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalFootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Quite a good location although only if your prepared to walk 10-15 mins to Trinity College / Stephens Green. Free onsite parking is useful and the Grand Canal Dock area has some coffee shops.
The hotel breakfast is a waste of time with too many guests in too small a dining facility - avoid the need for cattle prods and get yourself a coffee and croissants at the dock.
Bedroom and bathroom were a good size with a spare single in the room but internet access was expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mark_ncompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,613 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,061 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £73 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin 4, just a stone’s throw from Dublin City Centre, the 4 star Grand Canal Hotel is the perfect choice when staying in Dublin. The hotel is located across from Grand Canal Dock DART Station which gives you direct access to all areas in Dublin, north and south including Dublin's gorgeous coastal towns. The Bord Gais Energy Theatre and Aviva Stadium are just 5 - 10 minutes from the hotel and the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Grafton Street shopping district and Trinity College are just a 15 minute walk while The Dublin Convention Centre and the 3 Arena are within a 20 minute walk. After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant. Grab breakfast, lunch or dinner at Canal Express. The Gasworks Bar is managed by Galway Bay Brewery, it serves delicious food and a choice of 26 craft beers in a lively atmosphere. We have a secure car park on site. Enjoy a relaxing break or explore Dublin city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing