We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but just one gripe.”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #40 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Having stayed here twice in the last few weeks i thought it would be appropriate to make some comments. The hotel is situated close to town and is in a nice area. Rooms were great and beds were so comfortable. Restaurant on Sunday night was a little dirty and the service a bit patchy but overall would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomtom48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hello
Thank you for your feedback, which I have past on the Food and Beverage team who will address it. I hope you do have the opportunity to stay again with us.
Many thanks again for taking the time to post.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,719)
There are newer reviews for Grand Canal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed at the Grand Canal Hotel for 1 night with 2 friends as part of their Theatre Package. Really very good value. Very comfortable room for the 3 of us. We had dinner in the restaurant which was lovely. Only fault which really isn't a fault was the heat in the hotel. Great location away from the busy city centre but close enough to enjoy Dublin. Would highly recommend the hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebelcorkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Delighted you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will be back soon as we have great packages for more shows coming up in the Bord Gais Energy Theatre. Wicked is in full flight at the moment, followed by some classics in the new year - Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Evita over Valentines weekend and Fiddler on the Roof.
Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I have recently stayed here with my boyfriend. It was our first time to Dublin and after narrowing down the hotels, we decided on the Grand Canal Hotel, and it was a great decision. We had a great time in Dublin and our hotel was brilliant. It has an excellent bar with a nice chilled out feel to it. Our room was an executive room and it was amazing, couldn't fault anything. The location is not on top of the main city, but actually that was quite nice because its a nice walk into the town along the river. The reception staff are really welcoming as well. Will be staying here again definitely, we are actually already planning out next trip!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mich1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hello
Thank you for the posting. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and your trip to Dublin. Hope you do get the chance to visit again soon.
Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We booked the Grand Canal for one night in November 2013 as we were down in Dublin for the rugby. We wanted somewhere close to the Aviva Stadium, at a good rate, with car parking available. We found a great deal at the Grand Canal and it definitely lived up to expectations. The staff were all very friendly and efficient, the room was spotless and extremely comfortable. We had dinner from the bar adjoining the hotel, and apart from being a little expensive, it was quite enjoyable. A full Irish breakfast was included in our deal and it did not disappoint either. So much choice on offer and we definitely went away feeling full for the rest of the day! Brilliant stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCraig2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you after Christmas for the next international. Keep an eye on our own website for the best rates.
Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here recently as was attending a conference in the Aviva. hotel is ideally placed on DART line and 5 mins from the stadium. Its got free parking and free WiFi and nice rooms. They were clean and warm. Staff always friendly.
Food was average - room service food was cold. Go to breakfast early as it tended not to be topped up with fresher stuff. Other than that it was a very pleasant stay. Would stay again as its handy to several places.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamblingMan_IRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hello
Thank you for your posting. Glad you found our location convenient, we are located centrally between the Aviva Stadium, RDS, the city centre and the Grand Canal Dock area, so in the middle of everything !
Hope you will get an opportunity to stay again and thanks again for the taking the time to post.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

If you are going to Lansdowne Road this is a perfect hotel - I stayed here in September for a concert and it is literally 5 mins from the stadium. If you are going to the City Centre it is a little way - about 15 mins walk but the Dart Station is across the road and can get you there in about 5 mins. Room was very comfortable and clean. Good quality HD TV - albeit limited channels in Ireland - but at least could get UK Terrestrial channels. Free internet in hotels means 256k connection with limitations on what you can access. Not here - the free internet is fast and the connected TV lets you access your Netflix account. Breakfast very good selection to keep you going for the day.
IF you are staying for a few days and want to do something different - instead of taking the Dart to the City go the other way to Bray - a lovely seaside town - and the trip itself has spectacular views.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_Yankee_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the concert. The stadium is very close and a great venue.
The Dart is a super way of getting out of the city for an hour or two - the other direction to Bray is Howth, which is also a beautiful place to visit with lovely restaurants and walks.
Hope we will get the opportunity of weeing you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting family in Dublin. We arrived early for check in and asked if we could leave our bags, but were informed our room was ready, and were checked in there and then. The weekend we went happened to be a home match for the Irish Rugby team, and the bar was very much trended towards the game - our request for coffees took a while to be delivered, and we were not asked what sort of coffee we wanted. The room was adequate, although the bath had no plug, but this was delivered quickly when reception were informed. The breakfast was of a buffet style, full English or continental, and we were seated quickly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAR6463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello
Thank you for your posting. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the reception team were able to offer you an early check in. We are very close to the stadium which creates a great atmosphere on match days in the bar. I hope you might have the opportunity to visit us again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 150 in Dublin
2,373 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,947 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 150 in Dublin
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
1,369 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
4,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £83 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing