We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #39 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Booked as part of Lidl Breaks and was very pleasantly surprised. Instant upgrade to Executive floor (had requested quiet room) on arrival having been greeted by a very friendly receptionist. Excellent parking facilites which are free - most central hotels charge a premium for parking. Enjoyed food and drinks in the bar - cocktails at €5 were delicious. Very central - walking distance to Aviva and city center. Breakfast very enjoyable the following day. Will definitely return. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hello
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regardsHel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 1,739 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Booked this hotel as part of a Theatre package, tickets, dinner and b&b. Its 5 minutes walk from the Bord Gais Theatre or you can get the hotel coach for €5 each return. We were allowed to check in early which was great.

Positives

1. Requested a quiet room and received a quiet room.

2. Both check in and check out was quick and efficient, plenty of staff available.

3. Reception staff and waiting staff were pleasant and friendly.

4. Hotel room was clean and had tea/coffee facilities, a powerful shower, a comfortable recliner and foot stool, a smart tv, hair dryer, iPod Dock and free wifi.

5. Free parking at hotel.

6. Although there was a bit of a queue at breakfast, the self service buffet had a good enough choice. Fresh fruit was nice, toaster very slow but is the same all over the world.

7. Convenient to Board Gais Theatre and 20 minutes walk into Town.

Negatives

1. Large crack in our sink.

2. Large stain in bath.

3. Toilet roll holder broken.

4. Tray for tea/coffee cups in room was chipped.

5. Remote control for tv wouldn't work, went to Reception and had to wait around for about 10 minutes whilst batteries were located, problem solved.

6. We were going to enjoy a pre dinner glass of vino in our room but had forgotten a cork screw. I asked at Reception would it be possible to borrow a spare cork screw from the Bar. The Receptionist rang the Bar and I was told sorry but they didn't have a cork screw I could borrow. End of story. I suggested to the Receptionist that if I brought the bottle of wine to the Bar maybe they would uncork it for me. She said that they probably would. Surely she could have suggested this to me instead of just saying "no". Anyway, the Bar man was very friendly and said that it wasn't a problem, he uncorked my bottle.

7. Although the heat seemed to be off before we went to sleep, it seemed to come on in the middle of the night as the room was very hot. If the hotel would consider putting a flat sheet on the bed, the quilt could have been thrown off and the sheet used as a cover instead.

8. Dinner in the restaurant - starters, toss salad, well presented. Plenty of vegetables, lovely, husband's soup, lovely. Main courses - husband's stirfry, beef was tough and carrots were under cooked in his side order. My Vegetarian Pasta described as Fusilli with Winter Vegetables. How disappointing, my 6 year old niece could have presented this to me. Surely the Chef has more imagination and culinary skills than this. I was served pasta with no sauce whatsoever with 4 lumps of carrot and 2 lumps of turnip and 2 lumps of parsnip. Enough said!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Donegaltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay. I was disappointed to read of your negative experiences and have forwarded them to the department heads to resolve.
I am sorry that these may have upset the enjoyment of your stay and assure we will resolve them immediately.
Thank you again for bringing them to our attention.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Based on a recommendation by someone here on Trip Advisor we chose the Grand Canal Hotel over several others that had higher rankings. We were only in Dublin for a quick 4 day getaway and this hotel was perfect for us. The rooms were clean and modern as were the bathrooms. The staff were very helpful. It's quite convenient (4 blocks or so) to the HOHO bus which we used a LOT. There are a couple of other bus stops even closer. A couple of nights we just took a taxi to the Trinity Bar area for dinner and the trip was only $10 or so euro. The bar at the hotel was a nice place for a nightly night cap of Baileys and hot chocolate. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stcroixscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hello
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will get the chance to return soon. Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Free parking was why we picked this hotel. Taxi to Henry St approx €7 and Grafton €6. Shuttle bus to Bord Gais €5 return. There was 6 of us and we wanted to go out in town so we got a taxi €6 for the 6 of us. About a 5 min walk. Got pizza delivered to residents bar after. No problem. Breakfast lovely but a bit of a queue. Think Maldron or The Marker hotels handier for Bord Gais. Marker has fab food but havent stayed. Maldron on a par with Grand Canal but no parking. Will use Grand Canal again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hello
Thank you for the posting. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again for another show, some great ones coming up, Evita, War Horse and Dirty Dancing all in the next few months.
Thanks again for the comments
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Better late than never I hope to say thank you to the magnificent staff of the Grand Canal Hotel. The Terrific Housekeeping Manager, Night Manager and Front Desk Staff were not only excellent in their welcome but immediately changed our room when we noticed a problem with the bathroom door.
Several things impressed us; the level of cleanliness is great, the staff were all superb; there was a great atmosphere in the Bar and we were in a top location for the Bord Gais Theatre for a show and restaurant afterwards. A short taxi ride to Grafton Street the next day was simply obligatory. We really enjoyed our stay. Thanks so much to all the staff with apologies that I don't remember the exact names. We'll definitely be back. It was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ribtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and I am delighted the team looked after you so well.
The location is indeed great for the city or the theatre, who always have a great line up of shows. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed there with my three sisters on the theatre package deal. lovely clean hotel, friendly staff, close to the city. A shuttle bus to and from the Bord Gais theatre. Food was lovely. Will definetly stay there again. Gluten free options available ,just ask.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alibaba31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Hello
Thank you for your comments and delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel while attending a musical in the Bord Gais and was quite satisfied. Check-in and check-out was very quick and smooth with very friendly staff. The room was very clean, very comfortable, a good sized room and bathroom, had a relaxing recliner chair, had all the usual tea/coffee facilities, toiletries and had bathrobes.

The pub has a laid back atmosphere. I didn’t eat in the hotel so I can’t comment on the food.

This hotel is a little bit out of the Centre and the neighbourhood is quiet compared to the ones closer. If you don't mind walking, you can very easily get to the centre of Dublin its takes about 20mins. You can also get bus or DART. The 02 is about 20mins walk and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium is only 5mins walk from the hotel.

Overall, this is a very good hotel and I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mags200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Hello
Thank you for your posting. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you might get the opportunity to visit again soon. Between the theatre, the O2 and the Aviva there is always something happening to tempt.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,440 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,601 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 150 in Dublin
583 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,609 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £81 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin 4, just a stone’s throw from Dublin City Centre, the 4 star Grand Canal Hotel is the perfect choice when staying in Dublin. The hotel is located across from Grand Canal Dock DART Station which gives you direct access to all areas in Dublin, north and south including Dublin's gorgeous coastal towns. The Bord Gais Energy Theatre and Aviva Stadium are just 5 - 10 minutes from the hotel and the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Grafton Street shopping district and Trinity College are just a 15 minute walk while The Dublin Convention Centre and the 3 Arena are within a 20 minute walk. After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant. Grab breakfast, lunch or dinner at Canal Express. The Gasworks Bar is managed by Galway Bay Brewery, it serves delicious food and a choice of 26 craft beers in a lively atmosphere. We have a secure car park on site. Enjoy a relaxing break or explore Dublin city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing