We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, staff and service”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #39 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Nothing but praise for the hotel and it's staff. Close to buses, the DART, St Stephens Green, Temple Bar and so many other landmarks.
The rooms are quite spacious. I had asked for a quiet room and definitely received one. There were coffee and tea making facilities in the room, maps in the lobby and the staff was on hand to give great directions whenever needed. Reception was really fantastic.
Wireless in the room was strong, I never had a problem with a slow connection even during high traffic time.
I stayed here March 7/8 and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor. No view, but a very quiet room which was just what I asked for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dim-sum-mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Hello
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and your trip to Dublin. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed here last weekend while in Dublin to see the rugby. A crowd of us stayed here, chosen for its proximity to the aviva stadium. The hotel was very clean & the staff were lovely & helpful. The bed was very comfortable & there was tea/coffee making facilities in the room. There are vending machines on each floor as well as ice machines. Breakfast was tasty, there never seemed to be a huge rush & there was a good variety of food.
Overall we were very happy with our choice & would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Hello
Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the match - great result. Hope you get to return soon
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Traveled here for a weekend away to see a concert. Hotel was great and in a brilliant location. Reception staff were brilliant and in particular, Andrea, was a great help, no question was too much for her and she always had a smile on her face. Would definitely return!

Cheers!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and delighted you enjoyed your stay. Andrea was thrilled with the mention. I hope we will get the chance to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel but Unfortunately when I stayed I was unable to get any sleep until the music in the bar stopped at around 2am I was able to hear the DJ and the music as clearly as if I was in the bar. I stayed in room 207 so don't know if this is a problem in other rooms or if I just got unlucky. This wouldn't put me off staying here again but I'd bring ear plugs next time. Free car parking is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiddlingfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Hello
Thank you for your posting. I am very disappointed that you were disturbed in this way but assure you it is isolated. If you do get the opportunity to return please do let us know.
Many thanks for taking the time to advise us of this.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I was in the coffee shop recently and was greeted by a very pleasant friendly lady.
Sylvia seems to know all the customers by name and has a great rappor with the customers.

I must say she is a great asset to the hotel and if there are employees of the month in the hotel I am voting for her. Next time I am in the area this is one coffee shop I will not pass by and would highly recommend it

Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Hello
Thank you for your posting. I am delighted you enjoyed the service at Canal Express - Sylvia always has a great smile to go with her great coffee.
Hope we will see you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at this fine hotel to celebrate my wife's birthday.before our arrival I had one or two queries which was handled superbly by the lovely exec Lisa.Nothing in this hotel was too much trouble for the superb staff from reception to bar and resturant .If you read any nit picking review please ignore them as petty.On closing ,if you need a lovely hotel in Dublin for any reason ,head for The Grand Hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank brian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hello
We are all delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your special visit with us. Lisa in particular will be delighted with the mention !
Hopefully you will be able to visit us again soon. Thank you for taking the time to post.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed with a group on Valentine's night. 5 Couples in our party. We were on theatre package. €129 for pre theatre meal,tickets to Evita and Bed & Breakfast. Meal was 2 course with option of starter or dessert with main course. Good choice and meal was good quality. Nice touch with romantic decorations on table and complimentary tea/coffee. Optional return bus transfer to theatre extra €5 per person was very good value. Room was excellent and breakfast was also faultless. Free car parking added to make our stay a memorable occasion at a reasonable price.
Highly Recommended

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brendan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hello
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us and the show. Hopefully you will get the chance to visit again soon. There are plenty of shows in the theatre and the O2 to tempt over the coming months.
Thanks again for the posting.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,441 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,606 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 150 in Dublin
584 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,613 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £82 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin 4, just a stone’s throw from Dublin City Centre, the 4 star Grand Canal Hotel is the perfect choice when staying in Dublin. The hotel is located across from Grand Canal Dock DART Station which gives you direct access to all areas in Dublin, north and south including Dublin's gorgeous coastal towns. The Bord Gais Energy Theatre and Aviva Stadium are just 5 - 10 minutes from the hotel and the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Grafton Street shopping district and Trinity College are just a 15 minute walk while The Dublin Convention Centre and the 3 Arena are within a 20 minute walk. After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant. Grab breakfast, lunch or dinner at Canal Express. The Gasworks Bar is managed by Galway Bay Brewery, it serves delicious food and a choice of 26 craft beers in a lively atmosphere. We have a secure car park on site. Enjoy a relaxing break or explore Dublin city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing