We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Canal Hotel”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #39 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ballyconnell, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Grand Canal Hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We booked in here for the Eagles concert as it was near enough to the O2 to walk there, about 20min and had free car parking. The staff were welcoming and first impressions were favourable. The room was a decent size, very clean and had all the essentials. We decided to eat at the hotel restaurant and once again no complaints. The food was well cooked and presented and arrived promptly. The room was very quiet at night, now this is why not the full five stars, one of the reasons it was quiet was the location, not exactly close to any happening stuff. It suited me fine but for someone looking to take in Dublin night life it was just a bit off the beaten track. But if a good nights sleep is wanted and your like me are a light sleeper, well it is worth the extra walk.
Free WiFi that was quite fast for a change also a bonus. For a three star hotel the Grand Canal delivers a fine service and I have no qualms in recommending it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be able to return again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    757
    223
    47
    26
See reviews for
221
683
79
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I had a flying visit last week to Dublin and was booked into the Grand Canal Hotel and had a great time. To say this Hotel is only a 3 star it is very luxurious with chocolates on your pillows and fluffy dressing gowns in your rooms. It's ideally placed to explore Dublin (no time for me to do that sadly this time). The staff were very helpful and I couldn't asked for a nicer time
Thanks to everyone in the hotel for there help.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello
Thank you for your feedback and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you might get the chance to stay again soon.
Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here on bank holiday weekend and got an excellence price for the room. Upon arriving we were kindly met and given our keys to the room. The room was clean and had a excellent view of the aviva stadium, for a rugby fan anyway. Biggest disadvantage of this hotel is its location, about 20min walk from the Temple Bar and O'Connell street, but we did get the Dart service which is about 2mins walk from the hotel into Pearse station which got us a little closer, approx 3euro return trip. Will def stay again if deals on again. We had breakfast this morning on a recommendation of this site, i would def not be so keen to get again, the meat seemed of poor quality and not feeling the greatest this evening. But will not take this away from the hotel itself.

Room Tip: We stayed in Level 4, 428 and had a spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fearghal324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with breakfast. All our products are Irish in origin and generally we have found the quality to be very good. We will certainly review them to ensure the standard is maintained.
Thank you again for your comments.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stay at this hotel for the last night on our tour of Ireland. The hotel was not located in a convenient place in Dublin. There was a restaurant and bar in the hotel for food but for the most part they were basic. The rooms were very small, we barely had enough room for our two large bags etc....... Rooms were clean and comfortable however one of the beds dipped quite a bit in the middle so I am guessing that the boxspring was broken. It was the last night so there was no complaint made. Continental breakfast the next day was ok but not much to choose from. I would not stay in this hotel again as there are better ones to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that the bed in the room was uncomfortable for you and disappointed you did not notify us as we would have been happy to change the room for you.
The continental breakfast is generally has cereals, breads, fruits, cheeses and yogurts on the buffet along with teas and coffees. However we will look at the offering again to see if can be enhanced for early departures.
Many thanks again for the comments.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I arrived very early in the morning to the Grand Canal Hotel after an overnight flight from Chicago to Dublin. We checked in and expected to have to store our bags till the afternoon, but to our surprise the desk manager was able to get us a room right away. The room was very clean and the hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello
Thank you for your postings and feedback. I am pleased we were able to accommodate an early check in for you, Hope you enjoyed your time in Ireland.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia,IL
Level 6 Contributor
679 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our last day in Ireland and we booked in at the Grand and glad we did . The room was very nice and comfortable. Tried from all the running so we ordered in room service and was very pleased with the service and the meal. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollinsthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello
Thank you for your feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a good journey home.
Thanks again for the posting.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Caetano do Sul, SP
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Despite of being a little bit far from the main attractions of Dublin, but very close to the Aviva Stadium and O2 Arena the hotel is good. The room is not very big but it is clean. The bathroom is not the strong point of the room and I think the room we were offered was for disabled.
The breakfast is very good. Have a good selection of breads, cereals, fruits and hot options.
I believe I have taken a good Irish breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeferson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello
Thank you for your posting. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have a couple of wet rooms with walk in shower facilities. Always happy to change if a bath is your preference. Hope we will see you again soon.
Many thanks again for the feedback.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
2,218 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
1,884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Property: Grand Canal Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#13 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing