We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice!”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #39 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good choice!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a mini-break to Dublin and 4 nights at the Grand Canal Hotel. Overall, we were delighted with our choice and found its position away from the city centre to our advantage and it's in a pleasant area near the canal for walking trips. The price was reasonable and continental or cooked breakfast round about 9 euros was also good value. Apart from the adjoining sportsbar/pub where you can dine, a small snack bar is in the lobby and open till about 2pm. We asked for a quiet room on the 4th floor and 406 was perfect. Ice and vending machines close by the lift. Rooms are modern and clean. Some TV channels not always perfect reception but this is not a concern. Free wi-fi in the room was excellent. Reception staff are friendly and efficient and will print off material for you from your laptop for bookings etc. Returning to the airport from the hotel can be booked at reception and costs 4 euros each. Buses run every 2 hours and ours was punctual!
We explored the canal path area on foot the first night and eventually found an excellent hub of shops/restaurants about 10 minutes away on Upper Baggot Street. We ate at the Bloom Brasserie the night after - small entrance and down some steps - and can recommend this restaurant from our personal experience.
Arriving at the airport, we bought a Leap Visitor card for 19.50 euros each (Spar shop) which gives you 72 hours of travel using local bus/train services so it runs out after 3 days use. We got the Airlink bus service into the city ( Custom House Quay) from the airport and then walked across the river to Tara Street rail station (Dart). There may be an easier route to the hotel but we chose this way from the airport. Taxis probably about 25 euros. Two stops to the Grand Canal station from Tara Street and 1 minute walk to the hotel. Trains are clean and quite frequent once you check the times and an easy way of travelling into the centre.
The Aviva rugby stadium is just down the road and run daily tours on the hour from 10am. Well worth a visit to a modern stadium.
So, all in all, the Grand Canal gets the thumbs up and a hotel to seriously consider if you are in Dublin and don't want to be in the centre.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear may be quieter and we did not find any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phil1949_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you have the opportunity to visit again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    749
    220
    47
    26
See reviews for
215
672
78
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel itself if actually pretty nice. The only downside is that it is a bit outside the city center (a bit over a US mile). And with Dublin's winding streets it made walking to and from the hotel a bit of a chore. Cabs are usually out front and it's a quick ride to the city center. Nice people, good room for the money, breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello
Thank you for the feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

From the reasonable price to the amazing location, this hotel was the perfect find for my first trip to Dublin! Really fun bar with good food and great service. Customer service at the desk was excellent too! It was located within walking distance of everything we wanted to do - River Liffey, shoppes of Dublin and Temple Bar. If you go in the opposite direction, theres a pub with the best Guinness prices in town! (I only remember that "bush" was in the bars name - sorry!). Will stay here again when I go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noeta1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip. Many thanks for the posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have no idea how anyone could rate this hotel as a good place to stay. I have traveled all over the world and stayed in hundreds of hotels and this one ranks amongst the worst. Our room was old and smelly (like sewer), the beds were not fit to be called beds (it was like sleeping in a lumpy hotdog bun - you lie down in the middle and the sides of the bed just fold in around you - awesome support!!!), and the service just sucked. The front desk staff could care less that we were not happy, the cleaning staff did a poor job, and overall the hotel is a dive (stained sheets, rags for towels, etc.). Think twice before you stay here!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello
My apologises that your stay with us was not enjoyable. I would be very keen to discuss these issues with you directly, as they do not reflect our normal standard of service or hospitality. If you could contact me on gm@grandcanalhotelc.com I would really appreciate it.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Myself and my boyfriend arrived to the Grand Canal Hotel in June 2014, for a weekend stay. Immediately we were welcomed by the lovely staff within the hotel and were checked in and in our room within minutes! The room was lovely, and extremely clean! It also had a few of the essentials; a kettle, iron board, iron, hair dryer, dressing robe, etc.

Throughout our stay, the staff were nothing but helpful, and made our stay very relaxed and enjoyable.

The only negative thing to note, would be that the hotel was a little bit further out from the city centre than I had realised, however taxi's were nearly always outside the hotel and cost about 8 euro to get into the town.

Overall it was a great stay, for a great price, and would definitely return and highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimear M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello
Thank you for the feedback and delighted you enjoyed your weekend here. Hopefully we will get to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My First trip to the Grand Canal Hotel and the Gas works Bar. Great food in the gasworks bar and a great selection of beers. Reasonable enough on pricing for a hotel in Dublin. Will return in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamieh_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello
Delighted you enjoyed your first visit to us. Hopefully it won't be your last.
Thanks for the posting.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Not far from my work place, stayed there for a few nights.
Had two single beds, bathroom was clean.
the only issue I had was the noise..
was a weekend stay, there was a party and on the ground floor, my room was on the third floor and at 3 am i can hear the music playing..!! other than that, everything was fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caramal_glo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello
Thank you for your posting and my apologises that you were disturbed by noise from other guests. This is something we do monitor and usually control successfully.
Again our apologises for this inconvenience.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#28 of 151 in Dublin
2,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,290 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Property: Grand Canal Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#14 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing