We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice but a bit noisy on saturday night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #38 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very nice but a bit noisy on saturday night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Canal Hotel with our baby for 3 nights and had an enjoyable stay. The room was nice and quiet thanks to the 2 double glazing windows! However on Saturday night we could hear the music from the bar until 2AM even though we were on the third floor. I don't get why they wouldn't be careful with the noise level for their client?
The breakfast is great, buffet, with a choice of fried Irish breakfast and cold continental breakfast. The service is impeccable and the receptionists are really helpful.
Yes the location is not in the city centre but we actualy liked that. It's near the docks and I haven't read any comment about it but the docks are beautiful, there are restaurants, nice cafes, great atmosphere. Do check it out! From there you can walk to temple bar area along the canal. We found the city centre crowded anyway and were happy to come back to the hotel in the evening. There is a free secure car park too.
Yes I would recommend this hotel and yes I would come back. But they need to do something about the music in the bar!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hello
Thanks for the comments and glad you all enjoyed your stay. We would have to agree The Grand Canal Dock area is lovely during the summer and is only a few minutes walk from the hotel. The Bord Gais Energy theatre is there along with some great restaurants and bars. Well worth checking out.
The music in the bar is normally regulated so it does not affect the rooms and I am sorry that on this occasion this wasn't the case.
Thanks again for the comments.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    729
    215
    46
    26
See reviews for
206
651
76
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights when visited Dublin for a business. It was the best of all 3 stars hotels in Dublin I stayed before but still...Room was generally clean and quiet but the heavy lime scale in the bath was disgusting. That should not happen in 3 stars hotel. Also the curtains were broken, half part was hanging only on 2 hooks so it was impossible to close it which was annoying at night when a strong light was coming to the room. I left it like that for 2 days when I found the hooks laying on the carpet hidden behind the curtains. That means they have not hover the room and if they did then not properly. Why the housekeeping did not reported that to the maintenance? Just a poor approach otherwise I will give it 5 stars. The gym is nothing exiting but good for 3 star hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hello
Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that the standards in your room were not to our normal standards. These issues will be monitored more closely and thank you again fro taking the time to provide your feedback.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

we pick this hotel cuz we need 1 close 2 O2arena and really like it :)
Rooms are good size with nice bathroom - we had double bed room.
The only thing u maybe dont like here u have to walk about 30-40mins to get into city centre but we were lucky with weather .
I would come back we payed 110£(with breakfast) a night so good value for money

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hello
Thank you for your comments. Delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are located about a 15 walk from Grafton Street and Temple Bar. For other areas of the city the Grand Canal Dock DART station is only 2 minutes away or for those who are feeling energetic there is a Dublin bike station beside us, which is a great way to move about the city, especially on the weekends when the traffic is lighter.
Many thanks again for the feedback.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

My main complaint with the Grand Canal hotel was the noise level at night. I was booked in for a Saturday night. I had just gotten in from an overnight flight and was exhausted. Unfortunately, I was on the second floor, which is apparently over their 'bar'. I use this term loosely because this, in my opinion was a club, not a bar.
Beginning around 7 pm, music blasted into my room from the club downstairs. This music continued until 2 in the morning!! The front desk concierge was apologetic, but unable to do anything about the volume of the music, and there were no other rooms available to switch to.
I have stayed in hotels all over the world, and most 3-4 star hotels pride themselves on providing a quiet environment for their guests. Clearly, this is not the case for the Grand Canal Hotel, which in my opinion conducts itself more like a cheap motel than any decent hotel. They gave me a a free breakfast that morning to make up for it, but the breakfast was average at best and hardly made up for the $300 I paid for the room.
Basically, if you want a decent night's sleep (at least on a Saturday) DO NOT stay at this hotel. There are much better options in Dublin and I would not recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the second floor, it's above the 'bar' and extremely noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Audrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hello
I am sorry that your stay was disturbed by the noise from the bar and that we were not able to resolve the issue for you on the night. It is not normally the case that the bar operations would disrupt the guests in the rooms.
Our apologises again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed in the hotel during three nights, and I must confess that i was very happy during those days. However there are many things you should consider:

1. If you're looking to be in the downtown, close to temple bar and the thousand of pubs in that area, then this is not the hotel you should look for,
2. If you don't mind walking 15 min from Temple Bar area to hotel, they don't hesitate and book, the hotel is within a walking distance, you can walk and get in downtown in around 15 min, if too late, thin take a taxi.
3. Personally, i would stay here again, I don't like to be part of the masses of tourist that get wasted in downtown, second point, in downtown there are not many options to have breakfast or a really Irish meal whereas here you have really good places around the area.
4. Price probably is half the price of a similar room situated in the Temple Bar area.

Room Tip: Looks like all rooms are very good
See more room tips
Green Features: Don't know of any, and I didn't ask. But looks like the hotel has something in place to reduce ipacts
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emaxil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hello
Thank you for your posting and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you get the opportunity to visit again soon.
Kind regards
Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Nice hotel with very friendly and helpful reception’s staff. They have own bus transfer from/to the airport which is great, just look around for a green bus with yellow-orange inscription on: Paddywagon.
The hotel is with wonderful location, quite area, maybe a little bit noisy if your room is in front and window is open, but is ok, comfortable beds and clean bathroom with bathtub in. No fridge in the room, but there are vending machines on each floor for ice and soft drinks and also in the room you’ve got set to make your own tea or coffee. Notice that the coffee downstairs work only Monday to Friday, same for the coffee shop in diagonal opposite of the hotel.
Don’t forget to check your plugs, there are not with European sockets, so if your plugs are not fit with Irish/English standards you can buy an adaptor from vending machines in the hotel on each floor and they even cheaper then other places I saw in town. Also there is free with good speed WiFi in the rooms which is nice complimentary of the hotel and also you'll find in the room steam iron with ironing board and hairdryer.
The train station Grand Canal Dock of DART (Dublin area rapid transport – it’s great way to explore Dublin area, south or west off the town, don’t miss!) is just 3 minutes away and with more few steps you will reach the supermarket where also have a coffee shop in there. The area around is nice with its Georgian architecture, you can stroll along the canal or go for a walk on the river, town centre is only about 20 minutes by feet, also there are wonderful parks near the hotel and also you can go to the beach of Dublin bay by foot. Nice place to stay in Dublin, i'll be glad to stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello
Thank you for the posting. Delighted you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and in Dublin. Hope you get the chance to return again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for an evening with special rate of €80 room only for twin room.

Room was lovely a spacious and the desk was great to work from. Beds were comfy and hotel was very clean & quiet. Maybe I was just lucky that I was at a quiet side.

Staff friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubSte75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will get an opportunity to stay again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Property: Grand Canal Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing