We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, not the best location”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #39 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
los angeles
1 review
“Great Hotel, not the best location”
Reviewed 20 November 2009

My girlfriend and I both liked the hotel. The front desk was very helpful and accomodating. The room was very comfortable and clean. The location is about a 15-20 minute walk from the city centre so I wish I could have stayed closer. When you're out all night the last thing you want to do is walk far back to your hotel. Overall, I was pleased with the service and features. The internet wasn't the best though.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trackstar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    757
    223
    47
    26
See reviews for
221
683
79
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Easy walking ditance from city, shops, museums, galleries, etc.
Convenient for public transport.
Very helpful, friendly staff.
The Gasworks Pub is a bit dour, impossible to escape from television screens showing wall to wall football.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank willie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

This is a standard business hotel with very good value. The rooms are clean and quiet, the beds comfortable and the staff is very friendly and helpful. There are more luxurious options but they cost at least the double. The only negative thing is the free internet service which is really slow but hey, it's free. I will be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Around 15-20 minutes walk from town (or plentiful buses or DART station across road) it benefits from therefore being quieter than what you'd get in and around Temple Bar for example. Also better value than hotels in the centre. Staff very friendly and helpful and the room was big and clean. Hotel pretty new and has been built in an area that's being redeveloped to include new bars and restaurants on the Grand Canal and the new Landsdowne Stadium. Also close to all the amenities in Ballsbridge and the fascinating Beggar's Bush (old Army barracks where Erskine Calders was executed).

Hotel is attached to an Irish pub of the 'pretend Irish pub' genre (ie modern and identical to the sort of Irish pubs you find in the UK). Good to know you can have a pint before bedtime (and live music) but serious pub-goers should buy a Dublin pub guide and look for the loads of proper old and historic boozers around.

All in all, good value and a quiet night.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london,england
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

This hotel is in a good location as it is within walking distance of the main attractions in dublin but far enough away to feel relaxed and quiet. My room was of a good standard and the beds were comfortable which is always a bonus when travelling.
I would of liked to have fridge in the room but as it was a short visit it wasnt really an issue and the coffee bar in the reception sells cold water in the morning.
I would recommend this hotel for short weekend stays, for longer visits its worth paying a little more to get all the little luxuries.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvtotravel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and this was our first visit to Dublin. The location is good. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, very welcoming. The room was of a very high standard, lovely bathroom, very comfortable bed too, nicely decorated. Breakfast was very good, something for everyone. We couldn't fault this hotel and would stay here again. Definitely deserves higher star rating.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Co. Kerry
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

I had stayed here a few times with work & had numerous meetings here which were always successfull.
Even after leaving my job, I still booked in here with my other half when we came to Dublin as it is so convenient to the city centre (you could walk it in about 20 mins) and great if you were going to anything in the RDS.
Hotel is very clean & modern. Rooms spacious and comfortable. FREE parking for residents or anyone who has a meeting booked there.
Good bar food in bar...which is quite a popular place too. Breakfast not included in price, but good breakfast can be had there.
Stayed in Ballsbridge Inn on last trip to Dublin, which I regret and will be booking into Grand Canal next time we are visiting!
Definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsFABP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
2,232 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
1,892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
492 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Property: Grand Canal Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#8 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing