We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Home away from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Smithfield
Ranked #55 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Thurles, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have stayed in this Maldron on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed . From the moment we checked we were made to feel welcome and every effort was made to meet our accommodation requests .Our room was bright and airy and spotless as was the bathroom with everything in ship shape order. Breakfast was extensive with high quality food as was dinner and served with a smile. Every member of staff we met bent over backwards to facilitate us. This is a super hotel right in the heart of the city. I just love being able to trot to Henry St.in a matter of mins.The Luas line runs within 100 metres of the hotel . As in most city centres caution should be exercised especially at night in the area around the hotel .I am really looking forward to my next stay here .

Room Tip: Ask for what you'd like in advance .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldron, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Aine U,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and positive review on tripadvisor.

The entire team and I were delighted with your comments and in particular with your comment about the attentive service.
Customer service is a priority here at the Maldron Hotel Smithfield and we aim to ensure that each guest is given an exceptional welcome and exceptional service throughout their stay. We are delighted you were made to feel so welcome in the hotel and you found the hotel to be so comfortable.

I agree that our location is a special key factor and a great advantage to us. Although we are a city centre the area is very peaceful, while still being walking distance to many local attractions such as Jameson Distillery, Guinness Storehouse, Dublin zoo, shopping areas and Temple Bar. Also with the Luas on our doorstep it is extremely convenient for CCD, the O2 and Heuston station.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time to write such positive feedback on your stay.


Kind Regards,

Ann Marie Traynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    789
    245
    73
    31
See reviews for
360
612
119
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

The Hotel is pretty well situated - a short tram ride from the centre or you can walk.
Modern and clean. We had a large room with a big comfortable bed.
Breakfast was buffet style with pretty much anything you would want.
We took advantage of half board on one night and I thought the meal was better than you would have expected for the price.
The Staff all deserve a special mention as they were all very helpful and polite.
The only niggle was the TV in our room kept switching off - a problem with the service provider apparently.
All things considered a bargain at the price we paid!

Room Tip: Go for a corner room for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JOHN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldron, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear John T
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful and positive review on tripadvisor.
I am delighted you found your room to be comfortable and clean. Cleanliness is a priority for us here at the Maldron Hotel Smithfield and we strive to ensure our rooms are 100% for each of our guests.
Service is vitally important to us here at the Maldron Hotel Smithfield, and the whole team was delighted that you found the staff to be so friendly and helpful.
Although we are a 15 minute walk from Temple Bar and O’ Connell Street, with the Luas on our doorstep we are extremely convenient for O’ Connell Street, Hueston station, and the main bus station as well as The O2, CCD and the Grand Canal theatre.
Unfortunately we had experienced some issues with the TV’s but we are constantly working with our provider in order to rectify this issue.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and thank you once again for taking the time to post your positive comment on Trip advisor.

Kind Regards

Ann Marie Traynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

In Dublin for work and stayed here. The staff could not have been more helpful and the room was spotless. A short walk to great bars and restaraunt. I would reccomend as a base for holidays or as a stop over for business. A big thank you to reception who directed me to a great curry house!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy24658977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldron, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Andy24658977,

Thank you so much for you wonderful review on Trip advisor. Your review is much appreciated and the team and I are delighted with your positive comments.

I agree our location is certainly a special key factor. We are lucky to be a city centre property which is conveniently located for local attractions, court services, shopping areas, and temple bar along with having the Luas on our doorstep, as well as numerous bars and restaurants.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Service and cleanliness are two elements that we here at the Maldron Hotel Smithfield strive to excel at. The entire team and I are delighted that you found the rooms to be so clean.

We thank you once again for your positive review and both the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Maldron Hotel Smithfield in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ann Marie Traynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Just spent three nights in the hotel and everything was excellent. All the staff were incredibly friendly and most helpful . The room was lovely and the location is really good for everywhere.we had breakfast which was an ideal start to the day. It was really filling and varied and I find it difficult to understand the previous review. I travel and stay in many hotels for my job and rate this hotel well up there and will definitely return the next time I go back to Dublin..

Room Tip: Excellent hotel friendly staff and great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldron, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear CorkLondon,

Thank you so much for you wonderful review on Trip advisor. Your review is much appreciated and the team and I are delighted with your positive comments.

I agree that our location is certainly a special key factor. We are lucky to be a city centre property which is conveniently located for local attractions, shopping areas, and temple bar along with having the Luas on our doorstep.

Excellent customer service is something we strive to excel here at The Maldron Hotel Smithfield, and I was very upset that a breakdown in communication which led to the issue with your TV not being rectified immediately. Training is currently being carried out with all front office staff to ensure this does not happen in future.

The chef was delighted with your comments in regards to breakfast as she is currently working on trying to improve the quality and standards of our breakfast and was delighted to receive such positive feedback.

We thank you once again for your positive review and both the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Maldron Hotel Smithfield in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ann Marie Traynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Room at the Maldron was good, large an confortable bed.
Thew breakfast which cost a lot was a DISASTER:
There wasn't much choise. Mainly Irish breakfast, no intenational.
Bad quality and cold sausages, slow toaster , watered orange juice, cappuccino that tasted like soap...but above all the PUDDING was so disgusting that I almost got sick in front everybody, I think it was off.
If you decide to stay in this hotel have breakfast somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldron, Ann Marie Traynor, General Mananger at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear GiuliaCam79,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.

I am delighted you found the room to be so comfortable. Cleanliness is also a high priority for us, as we strive to ensure that every room is 100% for our guests.

I was very upset to learn that you were so disappointed with breakfast. All of your comments have been passed to the head chef who is currently working hard with the kitchen team in order to improve the standard and quality of the breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ann Marie Traynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
402 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

The hotel is located in Smithfield - a great location just north of the river. Well sign posted & we found easily arriving by car. It is just a 5 - 10 min walk from Temple Bar - the main place for restaurants & bars where we easily found some good food & just a nice stroll back to the hotel. Car parking underneath the hotel in garage for just 10 euro for 24 hours was perfect. We had 2 rooms - connecting as we had kids with us. The rooms were a reasonable size, clean, good bathrooms & internet connection. Breakfast was downstairs & a good assortment again at a very reasonable price. We were only there over night on business - but staff were helpful & efficient so would definitely stay there again for such a reasonable room rate.

Room Tip: a room overlooking the plaza seems larger with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldron, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Andy P,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful and positive review on tripadvisor.
I am delighted you found your room to be spacious and clean. Cleanliness is a priority for us here at the Maldron Hotel Smithfield and we strive to ensure our rooms are 100% for each of our guests.
Service is vitally important to us here at the Maldron Hotel Smithfield, and the whole team was delighted that you found the staff to be so efficient and helpful.
Although we are a 10 minute walk from Temple Bar and O’ Connell Street, with the Luas on our doorstep we are extremely convenient for O’ Connell Street, Hueston station, and the main bus station as well as The O2, CCD and the Grand Canal theatre.
As we are in a very peaceful area of the city, it may seem quiet at night. But with the current regeneration programme being carried out by Dublin City Council in Smithfield we have that that the area is greatly improved.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and thank you once again for taking the time to post your positive comment on Trip advisor.

Kind Regards

Ann Marie Traynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Lovely Rooms, convienent to Luas, Staff Pleasant , will stay again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldron, Ann Marie Traynor at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Tjb64,

Thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor.

Our location is extremely convenient as we are lucky to be have the Luas tram line on our doorstep areas such as the O2, Grand Canal Theatre and Convention Centre Dublin are easily and quickly accessible. Also we are located within walking distance of many of Dublin’s main attractions such as Jameson Distillery, Guinness Storehouse, Dublin Zoo and Temple Bar.

I was delighted you found the staff to be so friendly as service is a main priority for the team and I here at the Maldron Hotel Smithfield.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maldron Hotel Smithfield in the future and we thank you once again for your positive feedback.

Kind Regards,

Ann Marie Traynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,177 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Property: Maldron Hotel Smithfield
Address: Smithfield Plaza, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#54 Family Hotel in Dublin
#54 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Smithfield 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location the Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. The Maldron Hotel Smithfield has just undergone a new refurbishment and is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station. All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary WIFI access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre. The Stir Restaurant and bar offers an extensive all day dining menu and shows all major sporting events on the big screen. Complimentary WiFi access is offered throughout the hotel. Shopping, entertainment, sightseeing, eateries and business districts within the O'Connell St and Quays area are within an easy stroll from the Hotel with Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College just a stone's throw away. The O2 theatre, the Bord Gais energy theatre and Croke Park Stadium are very easily accessible. Smithfield's LUAS light rail station is only moments away from the Maldron Hotel Smithfield providing easy access to the airport and main bus & rail stations. Facilities at a glance - Superior 3 star property - City centre location - 92 superior guest rooms and suites - Stir Restaurant - 2 state of the art meeting rooms - Complimentary WIFI access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Maldron Hotel Smithfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin
Comfort Inn Smithfield Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing