We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, Overpriced. Much better value out there.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Smithfield
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average Hotel, Overpriced. Much better value out there.”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The hotel is clean, located close to tourist sites and has free wifi in common areas. I ordered room service which you will find isn't really room service as you have to go down to the restaurant yourself to collect it. What's that all about. The rooms are very basic. Especially for the rate they charge. Lack of towels, pen paper the normal items you would find in a hotel. The staff however are friendly. Particularly in the restaurant, where I also had breakfast the usual full Irish and continental breakfast buffet. All in all an average hotel wouldn't go back to again. There are better hotels out there for less money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkep10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear clarkep10,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. Your feedback is important and I am grateful for any comments received from our valued guests.
I am very disappointed to hear that your room allocation was such a disappointment. Each room is equipped with 2 sets of towels and if more are needed they will be delivered to the room as soon as they are requested. Each room is equipped with basic amenities such as tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryers, iron & ironing board as well as shampoo/shower gel/soap. Should anything extra be required reception is 24 hours and can be contacted from your room.

Unfortunately like many 3 star hotels we do not offer room service. We do however have an order and collect menu available in each room. This service allows you to order from your room and when the food is ready and prepared on a tray you are called in your room to inform you. Although we do not offer room service this does ensure that there is no waiting time for you in the restaurant.

Please feel free to contact me to should you wish to discuss the above matter further.
I can be contacted on the hotels number 01 4850900.
Thanking you once again for taking the time to write your informative comments on trip advisor.
Kind Regards,

Ann Marie Traynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    800
    247
    74
    31
See reviews for
366
620
120
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Hi We were very disappointed with our stay at this hotel. We booked a dinner bed and breakfast package for 116 euro. At the time of booing other similar hotels had better room only and b and b packages but We went with the package.
On arrival ivana nformed us that his deal was not available on Sunday or Monday's. When We asked why the web site accepted and confirmed our bookng she advised that We should have read all your terms and conditions. I Found this very insulting as you don't expect to have to read all the terms and conditions of a hotel just to book one night online.
We went ahead with the room even though We had been conned by your offers and ivana said 82 euro for b and b. The room was nice an We made the most of our night in Dublin.
The next morning when We went to check out the Receptionist wanted to take ninety euros from our credit card. When We queried this and said We had been told 82 euro She had to go find somebody else. That girl also tried to argue We owed 90 euro so We explained again. Eventually We sorted it out and were charged 80 euro. I have never had this experience checking out of a hotel before. That girl then asked had We been disappointed that the package We booked hadn't been available. When We said yes we were disappointed she also said that We should have read the hotels terms and conditions that even though it was available to book on website they didnt serve dinner on Sun or Bank hol Mondays.
The terms and conditions line rolled of all your staffs tongues too freely which makes me think it's used a lot.
We have never been treated like this by Jurys or Bewleys and We always liked you hotel in Cardiff lane.
We will never be staying in one of your hotels again as it was an awful experience.
I am only advising you of our disappointment so you can maybe sort out your website and stop trying to fool people as the other hotels in your price range are not fooling pople the same way. I will also be advising the Consumer people of your sharp practices on both occasions.
I have just checked their website an they ar still allowing peopl to book this midweek deal even though not available as restaurant not open in evenings.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorby72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Gorby72,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. Your feedback is important and I am grateful for any comments received from our valued guests.
As per the email I sent you after your stay, once again I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused during your recent stay. I was very disappointed that you were not happy with your stay and the interactions with the staff here. The confusion is entirely our fault as we did not close out the June Bank holiday Monday for the offer. Our restaurant opens for dinner Monday to Saturday and closes for dinner on Sunday evenings and bank holiday Mondays. The issue with the offer on the website has been rectified for the remainder of Bank Holiday Monday’s for the year. Regardless of this we should have spotted this when the booking came in and rang you to advise you that the restaurant does not open on Bank Holiday Monday nights.
As discussed in the email I sent you there is no excuse for the way you were treated and you are right it should not be necessary to read terms and conditions for a simple one night.
I am very sorry once again for the way this was handled and I apologise for the inconvenience caused. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future and should you wish to discuss anything further or from the email sent to you please do not hesitate to contact me on 01 48509900.

Kind Regards

Ann Marie Traynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here over the June Bank Holiday and were pleased with the hotel. We had both breakfast and dinner in the hotel and both were very good and served by a friendly waiter who was kept extremly busy but got the job done.The hotel is close to the Luas and we found this handy for getting in and out to the city. We used the car park and found it to be safe secure and reasonably priced. The supermarket adjoing hotel has excellent variety of foods, drinks etc. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise99Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Louise99Ireland,

Thank you so much for you wonderful review on Trip advisor. Your review is much appreciated and the team and I are delighted with your positive comments.

We are lucky to be a city centre property which is conveniently located for local attractions, shopping areas, legal district, temple bar, O2, Heuston and Connolly station along with having the Luas on our doorstep.

Both I and the Maldron Hotel Team look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and thank you once again for taking the time to make our day with your wonderful and positive comments.

Kind Regards,

Ann Marie Traynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The Maldron Hotel Smithfield is located just around the corner from the Old Jameson Brewery, and a block from a Hop On/Hop Off Bus Stop and the tram line. There is a grocery next door which is very convenient. The area is quiet at night, and seems safe. There is no WiFi in the rooms, but free WiFi in the lobby and restaurant. The restaurant food was actually quite good (I recommend the lamb stew), and you can get full English Breakfast or Continental, for an extra charge. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I found a great deal on Orbitz and felt like we would be ready for a traditional hotel after several B&Bs. The reviews here on TripAdvisor were good so I went for it.

Initially, I was a bit disappointed in the location and the hotel. This was our first trip to Dublin and it felt like the hotel was located far from the sights of the city and in an area that was a bit dodgy. The room was large and nice enough, but a bit worn and there isn't wi-fi in the rooms. However, after exploring the city a bit, the location was actually very good if you are looking for a place that is affordable. The luas is just down the street and we were able to easily walk to the Henry Street Area, and the historical sights and the Temple Bar area within fifteen minutes. The area was also fine and we enjoyed watching the local scene from our balcony.

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, but did eat at a great little place down the block , Third Place and loved having the little grocery store next door. The beds aren't great and we didn't like having a top sheet on the beds as the duvet was too warm. Our request for additional pillows was also not fulfilled. But I would stay here again if the price was right!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candygirlky418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Not sure why this hotel has such high reviews. Our room was really gross - filthy carpet, old, flat mattresses that were pushed together to make a bigger bed, old pillows, tube TV, switch plates falling off of the walls, etc. Also, no working thermostat; when we opened the window, room filled w/ smoke from folks outside. Location is odd - not terribly far from City Centre, but a bit of a strange neighborhood. We never felt unsafe, but weren't out after dark, either. The positives were that our room was ready when we got there (hours before scheduled check in), the front desk staff was very nice, parking was reasonable at 10EUR/night, and the Fresh grocery store below was handy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieBalt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear JulieBalt33,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. Your feedback is important and I am grateful for any comments received from our valued guests.
I am very disappointed to hear that your room allocation was such a disappointment and you found the mattress to be uncomfortable. Our accommodation team are currently auditing all mattresses to ensure that we replace any mattresses that are below standard. We have begun refurbishment throughout the hotel and many carpets have recently replaced throughout the lobby and many bedrooms. We hope to complete the remainder of the bedrooms in the near future.

Unfortunately we do not have air-conditioning in the bedrooms of the hotel but fans are available from reception should you wish.

Please feel free to contact me to should you wish to discuss the above matter further.
I can be contacted on the hotels number 01 4850900.
Thanking you once again for taking the time to write your informative comments on trip advisor.
Kind Regards,

Ann Marie Traynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Came back at 11.00 in the evening and asked for a sandwich. I was ti
old that nothing at all was available afetr 9.30 in the evening. I was pointed to a mediocre vending machine containing just chocolate and nuts. No good whatever. This is well below the standard for an international hotel

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Peter G,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. Your feedback is important and I am grateful for any comments received from our valued guests.
Once again I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused during your recent stay.
Unfortunately our kitchen does not currently open after 9pm. We do however as mentioned have snacks available from the vending machine located in the lobby. Also there are numerous restaurants in the location that will deliver to the hotel until late at night and menus are available at reception. Also there is a supermarket located beside the hotel that opens until 10pm and a 24 hour supermarket within 4 minutes walk from the hotel.
I can only apologise if the full range of options was not explained fully and I will certainly speak to the staff member you were dealing with regarding this.
Please feel free to contact me to should you wish to discuss the above matter further.
I can be contacted on the hotels number 01 4850900.
Thanking you once again for taking the time to write your informative comments on trip advisor.
Kind Regards,

Ann Marie Traynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,311 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Property: Maldron Hotel Smithfield
Address: Smithfield Plaza, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#54 Business Hotel in Dublin
#54 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Smithfield 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location the Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. The Maldron Hotel Smithfield has just undergone a new refurbishment and is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station. All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary WIFI access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre. The Stir Restaurant and bar offers an extensive all day dining menu and shows all major sporting events on the big screen. Complimentary WiFi access is offered throughout the hotel. Shopping, entertainment, sightseeing, eateries and business districts within the O'Connell St and Quays area are within an easy stroll from the Hotel with Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College just a stone's throw away. The O2 theatre, the Bord Gais energy theatre and Croke Park Stadium are very easily accessible. Smithfield's LUAS light rail station is only moments away from the Maldron Hotel Smithfield providing easy access to the airport and main bus & rail stations. Facilities at a glance - Superior 3 star property - City centre location - 92 superior guest rooms and suites - Stir Restaurant - 2 state of the art meeting rooms - Complimentary WIFI access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maldron Hotel Smithfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin
Comfort Inn Smithfield Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing