We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Smithfield
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I will be fair with my review of this hotel.
Pros:
Good size rooms
Friendly and helpfull staff
Good location, close to good restaurants, supermarket, pubs and bars, gym, Luas tram, movie theater

Cons:
I was given room 207, across from the elevator. It was noisy due to drunk and loud people using the lift. The commotion happens between midnight to around 3:00 am. Needless to say, I did not get a single good night sleep during my 9 day stay at Maldron Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlj327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

775 - 781 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my partner for a city a break. Staff were a little under whelming (looked terribly uninterested) on check in but more than helpful. Had a little issue with the window in the room not wanting to close, but they were pretty swift in resolving. Room was lovely and clean, can't fault it at all really. Had breakfast on the first morning in the hotel which was around 10 euros each, fairly decent buffet selection but won't blow you away. Was a little cold and I'm confident the sausages were plastic. I recommend the little red cafe en route to the river as the breakfast there was brilliant. Hotel situated a good 10-15 minute walk from Temple Bar, really good access to everything you will want to see. The area itself is a little run down, a few derelict houses and supposedly not the area it once was. Overall though can't really argue with what was on offer for the price, though would try somewhere different if we return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here for the final night of a Roadtrip around Ireland and booked the hotel through a Secret Escapes deal. Excellent value for money. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and although the food wasn't anything special, it was good enough. The breakfast was a buffet as you'd expect in a city centre hotel. Again, good enough. Our ferry back home was cancelled so we had several hours to wait. The 3 pm checkout was a godsend! The only drawback was finding the hotel in the first place. I had to call reception and they were very good at directing me in. Perhaps better directions to the car park could be put on the hotel website?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinkleineye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend who lives in Ireland and has used this hotel on a number of occasions.

The hotel was clean and tidy and the room we had was spacious and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well.

The hotel is situated just away from the river and within easy walking distance of the City Centre shops, bars, cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelann9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Maldron Hotel, Smithfield for two nights. Access by car to the hotel was easy and the car was very secure overnight in the car park beneath the hotel. Both duty managers were most helpful as was all of the staff that we came in contact with. The bedroom itself was clean and spacious and all systems inclusive of free WiFi worked as one would expect. The Breakfast menu was comprehensive, well prepared and came at a reasonable cost. The hotel is situated at Smithfield Market, an area which is spacious with a number of interesting historical and cultural amenities quite literally at its doorstep. Although it is just a twenty minute walk from the city centre a very convenient to the tramway (Luas) also aids the visitor. Smithfield Market becomes quiet and restful at night. We slept well. We shall revisit when in Dublin again

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Market square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very pleasant and helpful staff. Rooms were very clean. Convenient to Green Bus and to other attractions without being in the congestion. Just a short walk to most attractions. Price was much better than other hotels

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1tyler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear 1tyler1,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Maldron Hotel Smithfield and for rating it so highly.

The team and I were delighted to read your comments

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind regards

Ann Marie Traynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very pleased with our recent stay. The hotel is very conveniently located so it's very easy to park your car in their secure garage and wander around Dublin on foot. The rooms were quite spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff also were extremely helpful and accommodating. To top it off, it's a very competitive price for a room in the city. We'll definitely look to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DepLaurable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear DepLaurable,

Thank you for writing a review for the Maldron Hotel Smithfield

The team and I were delighted with your comments and feedback and look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Kind regards

Ann Marie Traynor - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,697 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 150 in Dublin
1,400 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Address: Smithfield Plaza, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Dublin
#51 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#54 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £67 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Smithfield 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location the Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. The Maldron Hotel Smithfield has just undergone a new refurbishment and is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station. All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary WIFI access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre. The Stir Restaurant and bar offers an extensive all day dining menu and shows all major sporting events on the big screen. Complimentary WiFi access is offered throughout the hotel. Shopping, entertainment, sightseeing, eateries and business districts within the O'Connell St and Quays area are within an easy stroll from the Hotel with Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College just a stone's throw away. The O2 theatre, the Bord Gais energy theatre and Croke Park Stadium are very easily accessible. Smithfield's LUAS light rail station is only moments away from the Maldron Hotel Smithfield providing easy access to the airport and main bus & rail stations. Facilities at a glance - Superior 3 star property - City centre location - 92 superior guest rooms and suites - Stir Restaurant - 2 state of the art meeting rooms - Complimentary WIFI access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Smithfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin
Comfort Inn Smithfield Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing