We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the hard of Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Smithfield
Ranked #54 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Arnsberg, Germany
1 review
“Right in the hard of Dublin”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I did spent my nights in Dublin for several times at the Maldron and the staff was very friendly and helpfull. The hotel is perfectly located in Dublin Citycenter and it is just a short walk either to the Guinness storehouse or the Temple Bar quarter. Jameson Destillery is just 100 meters away but the Hotel is really quiet. The parking garage with very reasonable prices for midtown Dublin (10,00€ per day) can be accessed directly from the Lobby. A supermarket next door is well assorted with fresh food all day.
Ingo Weigt

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingoweigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Ingoweigt,

We are delighted you took the time to post your very nice comments on your previous stays with us here in the Maldron hotel Smithfield.

We are very pleased that our hotel is your chosen hotel when visiting Dublin and hope to welcome you back again very soon

Best regards

Ann Marie Traynor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    812
    256
    78
    32
See reviews for
378
627
120
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel is beautiful. Upon arrival, I found the staff very friendly and welcoming.

Our room was very spacious and bright. Importantly, both the room and the bathroom was spotless. I liked in the bathroom how they provided you with Dove hand and shower wash. I felt it was a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable and I slept very well. We had a little balcony off our room which was a nice touch.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but other members of our party did and couldn't praise the food and selection enough. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Considering its location and standard of the rooms it is well worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 737Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear 737Michelle,

Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent stay with us in the Maldron Hotel Smithfield

The team and I were delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

kind regards

Ann Marie Traynor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We visit our son in Dublin about 5 times a year, this was our first experience of the Maldron Smithfield (2nd March 2014). We booked online (158 Euro) for B&B for 2 adults. At check in we were asked to pay our bill in full (which should have sent me running). The Double Room (109) is a decent size but the carpet is covered in stains. The bed is hard. The area around the hotel is pretty rough and extra care should be taken at night. We did come across some junkies who although didn't approach us, we were slightly concerned for our safety. Buffet Breakfast was basic and the ingredients seemed to be "cheap". There is no food at the Hotel until after 6.00pm at the weekend. On arrival I put my business card in a bowl (with a chance to win a free nights accommodation) - On departure I removed my card! I cannot believe this hotel has a 4.8 rating in Tripadvisor. I would recommend the Ashling or Gibson Hotels.

Room Tip: Take a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerrymac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Gerrymac2014,

Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent stay.

I am sorry to hear your experience was not as you had hoped.
With regard to payment we do only ask for payment upfront if paying by cash/debit card but if a credit card is provided then guests can pay on departure by any means.

We are in the process of having the remaining of our rooms renovated and hopefully will have them completed in the next couple of months. You will see from previous reviews the feedback on our rooms is very good but the room you mentioned is not yet completed.

I can assure you we use only the best ingredients for breakfast and would love if you could contact me to explain where you feel we fell short on this occasion so I can address your comments. My e-mail address is amtraynor@maldronhotels.com.

I look forward to hearing from you

Kind regards

Ann Marie Traynor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 761 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Nice city room....pity about the stained carpet. Good comfortable bed and all the bathroom you might need. No way of cooling down the room... only opening the window while we went out for the evening (and left open all night) and turning off the radiator. But it didn't really work too well.
The breakfast room was kind of off putting... but a nearby little 'social enterprise' cafe was a treat and only 100 mtrs away. Not a bad experience - but the report on the hotel says "must strive for better"

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room particularly if you have to open the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 34210king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear 34210king,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review or our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to see you found the rooms very warm as February was in general quite a cold month and we had many requests for more heat.

Our breakfast generally scores very highly on all review sites so it is a pity you did not get to try it.

I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards

Ann Marie Traynor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burley in Wharfedale, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Smart hotel in quiet area of Smithfield but close enough to walk into city centre. Plentiful and tasty breakfast....comfy clean spacious room. Staff very friendly and helpful. Always had a wood to say and a smile on their face,.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Karen C

Thank you for posting your review about our Hotel.

The team and I were delighted you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards

Ann Marie Traynor- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Got a deal on secret escapes 83% off 'rack' rate which is apparently 3 x the normal rate. Which I would never have paid (for any hotel). Hotel staff were polite and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Room was refurbished all but the bed which was a little tired to be honest. The manager apologised- new beds on order, but due to the floods in the UK these were delayed. Breakfast was good and there were a wide variety of foods available. Only 10 mins walk down the Liffey to Temple Bar and the shopping area. Guinness factory even closer. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baohx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Boahx

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted, as was the team, that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards

Ann Marie Traynor- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel with my partner as we wanted to be close to the city centre. Although it is extremely close to the city the only complaint about the location is there were a lot of addicts hanging around,but they didn't bother me or my partner. We were just a little worried coming home late but it was ok. We were really impressed by the gorgeous waitress and bar woman , a blonde girl named Danielle. Reception were helpful in enough, but wasn't that impressed. Rooms are a decent size but were a little cold , restaurant was lovely and cosy and food was also delicious at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furtherfurther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,483 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,436 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Property: Maldron Hotel Smithfield
Address: Smithfield Plaza, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#54 Business Hotel in Dublin
#54 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Smithfield 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location the Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. The Maldron Hotel Smithfield has just undergone a new refurbishment and is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station. All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary WIFI access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre. The Stir Restaurant and bar offers an extensive all day dining menu and shows all major sporting events on the big screen. Complimentary WiFi access is offered throughout the hotel. Shopping, entertainment, sightseeing, eateries and business districts within the O'Connell St and Quays area are within an easy stroll from the Hotel with Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College just a stone's throw away. The O2 theatre, the Bord Gais energy theatre and Croke Park Stadium are very easily accessible. Smithfield's LUAS light rail station is only moments away from the Maldron Hotel Smithfield providing easy access to the airport and main bus & rail stations. Facilities at a glance - Superior 3 star property - City centre location - 92 superior guest rooms and suites - Stir Restaurant - 2 state of the art meeting rooms - Complimentary WIFI access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Smithfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin
Comfort Inn Smithfield Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing