We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Smithfield
Ranked #55 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for one night with my mam and sisters while attending the Bord Gais Energy Theatre. Lovely hotel with friendly & helpful staff especially in the bar. Spotlessly clean and food great. Couldn't fault anything. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mairead77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Mairead77,

Thank you for posting your views on your recent stay in Maldron Smithfield.

The Team & I are delighted with your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Kind regards

Ann Marie Traynor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    789
    244
    73
    31
See reviews for
360
612
119
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Was an excellent stay. I travelled on business so had little time to go out but the location of the hotel did all the trick. It has an excellent location for site seeing, close to Luas Red line (Smithfield stop) so easily accessible to work and with a health club adjacent to it but I preferred the morning run along the river side.
The staff was very friendly and informative. You need to request for a room with a view if you want to enjoy one, else you will have a wall to look out at (like was the case for my colleague but he didn't really care) the rooms are huge and so is the bathing area. I requested for top floor room with a view and I was provided an excellent room with a view of the city and the sun rise. Only issue I faced was with the Wifi speed which was very bad when using a video application like Skype. Eating at the hotel resto was great too, not expensive and I could take my meals from the resto to my room.

Room Tip: You need to request for a room with a view if you want to enjoy one. No ask, no get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pris10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Pris10

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in Maldron Hotel Smithfield

The team and I were delighted with your feedback and glad to here you liked the rooms and the suberb view over Dublin

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Best regards

Ann Marie Traynor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We visited in March and enjoyed the location. Very quiet for a city location. We walked easily to the Luas and reception happily organized a taxi to take us further. The Jameson Experience is just across the square was less than 1 minute walk. There is a bicycle rental station right in front but we noticed that they were all used very early in the day.

We did not eat in the restaurant but bought some food at the food store that is next door. For breakfast we walked up the block to Oscars and had the mini Irish which was excellent...the sausages were homemade and the best we had while in Ireland. We also ate a late lunch in the café/restaurant in Jameson.

On the downside....the whole place could be cleaner. Bits on the carpet and in the elevators to be vacuumed and some paint work missing. Ours was a balcony room with a nice view but there was so much garbage, cigarette butts, etc on the gravel overhang which was awful. Parking was underground but we stayed one night and it was 20 euro.

I doubt we would stay here again. Sorry Maldron. Next time I would consider finding a location with free parking on the outskirts along the Luas.

Room Tip: Nice view of the square, the spire, St Michan's, Jameson and beyond if you get a room facing out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean and nice, its a little walk to the city center but definitely not too far away. Its very quiet at nights which is nice. The breakfast here is pricey, it would have been nice to have it included with the room. The room gets warm at nice, so we cracked our balcony door open to let in some cool fresh air. For the price this hotel is a good value.

Helpful?
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed at the Maldron Smithfield recently. Very nice hotel and all the staff were great. Rooms were very clean and a decent size. Location is a little out of the way but the Luas Light Rail is just down the street. Can have you at the Dublin City Center in 5 minutes. Did not eat at the hotel restaurant but heard from other guests that it was good. There are also several restaurants within walking distance. It appears that this area of the city is rapidly expanding, so I'm sure there is more to come. The Old Jameson Distillery is just across the street. Its worth the tour. All in all this was a very good hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zebrasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Zebrasky,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Maldron Hotel Smithfield.

The Team and I were delighted you enjoyed your stay and would consider staying again.

Smithfield is expanding and many lovely restaurants and pubs have opened in the past couple of years and has brought a lovely atmosphere to the area. Have the famous Jameson distillery across the square is a great asset to our Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future

best regards

Ann Marie Traynor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here recently for more than a week. Was looking for a hotel in the city center and this was recommended by our colleague in Dublin. The location is couple of blocks away from the temple bar. Walkable to most shopping and entertainment hubs in the city center. You are right there and its still nice and quiet.

Location : 4 Stars.

Room : The room i checked into had a balcony with a view with a double and single bed. The rooms are clean and well maintained although not modern. Comfortable beds. The Heating strangely doesn't seem to work in the wee hours of the morning. Free WIFI is good. Overall : 3.5 stars

Food : Didn't chose to visit the restaurant due to plenty of choices available within walking distance. With the B and B option, the breakfast was pretty good. Spread was ok but the Sausages/bacon and croissants were fantastic. Overall : 3 stars.

Service : This is something which was away above par. Very friendly, attentive and going a step ahead to help - Right from booking taxis for us, touristy information and Restaurant bookings. Need to mention 2 names for sure, Vlad - Shift manager and Tomas - Intern(Hope i got both the names right). Overall : 5 stars.

The 4 stars are just because of the exemplary service attitude and i would come back and stay here if i continue to read good reviews of the service.

Room Tip: The Rooms with the front facing Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Bumboo,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay.

I am delighted to read your comments re the service from the team here as that is something we pride ourselves in. Vald and Thomas in Particular were delighted to be mentioned and are key members to the team here

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Best regards

Ann Marie Traynor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I must start by saying that this hotel is easily one of the cleanest hotels i have ever stayed in it was spotless!!! the staff were extremely friendly, especially when we were hungry at midnight and they rang to get us a takeaway pizza from a takeaway close by!!

the location is great, opposite the jameson factory and a 1 minute walk to the luas redline. we took the luas 2 stops up to jervis street (a 5 min ride) and from there we walked 5 minutes over the hapenny bridge and we were in the centre of temple bar!! perfect!!!

the guinness storehouse is also just a 10-15 minute walk away

the bus stop for the coach to the airport (you can buy tickets at reception for 6 euros) is within a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

the location is just fabulous. Oscars is a nice restaurant adjacent to the hotel, the irish breakfasts were delicious at oscars,
christophes is another restaurant in smithfield square, we also had breakfast there and it was delicious, the entrance is directly opposite the main doors of the jameson factory. We also went to the bar in Generator which is the hostel on smithfied square, this was also very nice, and you must also try the cobblestone pub which is just to the left of the hotel entrance, they have traditional irish music on every evening,

the supermarket next door is brilliant, they have a hot food counter and we had sandwiches made there on a few occassions and they were great and well priced.

all in all a fabulous hotel in a great location

thanks maldron hotel smithfield

Room Tip: we requested a room with a balcony and it was gorgeous and the view was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanglish_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,174 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,287 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Property: Maldron Hotel Smithfield
Address: Smithfield Plaza, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#54 Business Hotel in Dublin
#54 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Smithfield 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location the Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. The Maldron Hotel Smithfield has just undergone a new refurbishment and is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station. All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary WIFI access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre. The Stir Restaurant and bar offers an extensive all day dining menu and shows all major sporting events on the big screen. Complimentary WiFi access is offered throughout the hotel. Shopping, entertainment, sightseeing, eateries and business districts within the O'Connell St and Quays area are within an easy stroll from the Hotel with Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College just a stone's throw away. The O2 theatre, the Bord Gais energy theatre and Croke Park Stadium are very easily accessible. Smithfield's LUAS light rail station is only moments away from the Maldron Hotel Smithfield providing easy access to the airport and main bus & rail stations. Facilities at a glance - Superior 3 star property - City centre location - 92 superior guest rooms and suites - Stir Restaurant - 2 state of the art meeting rooms - Complimentary WIFI access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Smithfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin
Comfort Inn Smithfield Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing