We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality hotel”
Review of Maples House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maples House Hotel
Ranked #99 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great quality hotel”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in February. The room was adequate and the wifi sporadic but the service was friendly and efficient. The location was superb - a quiet location on a residential street but easily accessible from the airport and not too far to walk (downhill) to the city centre, which we did both days. We would recommend this as a base for anyone visiting Dublin, but be warned - there was an event on in the restaurant/bar when we were there, until 1am. If you want an early night, check what is booked in the bar first!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    77
    49
    19
    20
See reviews for
60
68
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

I stay here regularly,The staff are a credit to the hotel,Especially Ann Marie,Terri,Brendan and the one and only singing barman Jason!!Great food,music Friday and Saturday night's,can't go wrong,Great location,great atmosphere in the bar at weekends!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauls1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplesHotel, Manager at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Guest/Customer,

We are thrilled to hear that you are a repeat customer who comes to the Maples House Hotel to soak up the lively atmosphere in our cosy bar and especially that the staff are welcoming, friendly and efficient....just what every hospitality business aims to achieve with regard to good customer/guest care.

We look forward to looking after you for a long time to come.

Kind regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Check-in was smooth. Chose a 2-twin room, and it was fine.
The restaurant food, however, was outstanding!
I was able to charge my cell and laptop and Wifi worked without a hitch.
Though we showed up with a car, the bus line was so close that we utilized the bus to go to O'Connell St and Temple Bar and Guinness.

We will return,
Joe

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justgothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplesHotel, Manager at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your very welcome feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that both the hotel and team at the Maples came up to your expectations. We are especially glad to hear that you thought the food in our restaurant was 'outstanding' as we pride ourselves in the quality and value of our food which is lovingly prepared by our very talented chefs. We look forward to your return visit when we will get the opportunity to look after you again.

The Manager and Team at the Maples House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I've been heading down the road from Belfast and staying in the Maples regularly for the last year and a half or so while working on a project for an organisation based in Dublin. Almost always midweek, usually for 2 nights max.
I have to say that the staff there are the best I've come across bar none in any hotel I've been - and I've travelled a lot. They - Catherine, Anne-Marie, Jason etc - are very courteous, helpful and are good craic. The hotel is not luxurious, but comfortable, warm and serves great food and drink - scrambled eggs to die for! It's very handy for Croke Park and a short bus or good brisk walk into town. Try the bistro offer they have on at the moment or visit the Porterhouse or Fagan's, 2 nearby pubs which serve good grub. If you want the homeliness of a good B and B with the extras of a cosy wee bar in a nice safe residential area, you'll like the Maples. Oh forgot to mention, it's very reasonably priced!

Room Tip: Ask for a large room away from the street, some rooms are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplesHotel, Manager at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Paul,

We are always delighted to look after you whenever you are in Dublin, as you are a very valued guest. It is truly lovely to see that our guests appreciate the efforts that the team here at the Maples House make to ensure that everyone who stays here has a comfortable, enjoyable home-from-home experience. It is what we endeavour to do, and it is always nice to hear that we are getting it right. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Kindest regards
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This hotel is on a lovely quiet residential street. It's a bit out of the center, but not too far, and well worth it for the price. Mostly the staff were great! My early check in turned out to be before dawn, 'cause my flight was early, and the night porter checked me right in, no problem. My only complaint is that when the wifi in the back of the hotel (where my room was) stopped working, the woman I told really didn't seem much bothered, and it still wasn't working by the time I left 2 days later. It was still fine in the lobby and lounge, though.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iPhiginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplesHotel, Manager at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that overall you were happy with your stay with us, and we thank you for your positive feedback and are glad to hear that you think us a 'great spot'.

Unfortunately, with regard to the WIFI signal in the hotel, as the building is a period Edwardian property some of the walls are quite thick which can mean that sometimes the signal is not as strong or uniform in some areas as it is in others. We are endeavoring to address this problem, but we are very sorry that you experienced a difficulty, and we hope that this did not detract too much from your enjoyment of the overall stay with us. We hope that you will return to us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stay here regularly-it's extremely friendly, close to the city and lots of good walks for the fit people. Bus and Dart service excellent. Lots of Restaurants to avail of nearby, these are just about a 5 minute walk from the Hotel.

Room Tip: Should you be above average size make sure to inform Reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThereseCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplesHotel, Manager at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Hi Therese from Cork,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to put finger to keyboard and letting us know that you think we are doing well for our customers and guests. We are indeed a family run hotel, and that is why it is all the more awarding to us to hear that we were able to give you, our guests, that home from home experience which is so very important to us. Again, thank you, and we look forward to seeing you sometime in the future when we will endeavor to look after you once more.

Management and team at the Maples House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2013

myself and my daughter stayed in this hotel on the 18th and 19th of Jan, we really enjoyed our stay. The location is excellent as the Dublin bus is only down the road that brings you straight to the city centre. Breakfast was very enjoyable as was dinner. i would definitely recommend staying there to a friend

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browneyedgirlSligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplesHotel, Manager at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very positive feedback and for taking the time to let us know how well you enjoyed your stay with us. We endeavor at all times to maintain the highest possible standards to ensure that our guests and customers have a very comfortable and home from home experience at the Maples House Hotel. We hope to see you again on a return visit.

Manager and all the team at the Maples.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#109 of 151 in Dublin
651 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#89 of 151 in Dublin
615 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,864 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,331 reviews
Maple Hotel
#132 of 151 in Dublin
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maples House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maples House Hotel

Property: Maples House Hotel
Address: 79 - 81 Iona Road | Glasnevin, Dublin 9, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maples House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maples House Hotel is a family run hotel in Glasnevin, built in the early 1900's. The Maples House offers you elegance and charm, tucked away in a prestigious and leafy red brick enclave. The transition from residential quiet to the buzz of the city will provide you with a stay that you will remember for a long time to come, only minutes from Dublin city center, Glasnevin Cemetery, Ireland's sporting home Croke Park and the famous Botanical Gardens. The Hotel is on all major bus routes and tourist attractions are all close to hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Maples House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maples Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing