We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, quiet and convenient”
Review of Maples House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maples House Hotel
Ranked #100 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quiet and convenient”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We only have positive things to say about this hotel. After a 24 hour flight from Australia it was a relief to sleep in a comfy bed in a quiet part of town. Liam found us a parking spot for our car soon after we arrived. The hotel is an older style building but nicely renovated and has all the amenities we needed. The restaurant is good value for money and all the staff made us very welcome. We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    79
    50
    22
    21
See reviews for
65
68
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our first time in Dublin and we picked a great spot. Let me tell you why it was good for the both of us: we were in Dublin with the purpose of visiting as much as possible in a short period of time (4 nights).

The beds were great! The mattress had a memory foam I think. Anyway, once we came in the rooms late at night it felt great and fell asleep instantly. Also I think the walls are very thick. We couldn't hear any neighbours at all (no voices, no showers etc, only sometimes on the hallway, no biggie).

The House is located in a very nice residential area filled with Georgian Style Houses. Basically, if you want to get a sense of how they live, this is it. The roads were quiet at night. And there isn't much traffic during the day either. 5 Minutes from the hotel you could walk to a bus station that gets you anywhere in the city center, buses that go to and from the airport and a railway station (Drumcondra). Also there's a small supermarket near the bus station and a little down the road a good Pizza place if you like that.

10-12 minutes walking from the hotel, you can find the Botanical Gardens (free entry) which are splendid and a must-see. Great place to take a stroll and take a breath of fresh air.

There's also a Bar and Restaurant which serve good meals at smaller prices (a bit, not much) than in the city center.

All in all we really liked it and enjoyed our staying there. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illuminatus4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed there only two nights but was fantastic - is not really about rooms or location it is all about service - Lana from reception was so nice from the moment we arrived , so professional , helpful, nice, polite !
And the next morning we met Peter who was the so nice , happy and make our stay there so nice .
I work in industry where customer satisfaction is a key to business and customer service(especially Peter and Lana ) is absolutely amazing - I would recommend this hotel to everyone and definitely will stay there again. I hope Peter and Lana still will be there and managers do realise and appreciate them working for them

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed in Dublin for a short city break and this hotel has suited us perfectly. Hotel rooms were basic but clean ( good value for money). Location of hotel has proved to be perfect for seeing Dublin ( City centre within walking distance and bus links are excellent).
What has made this hotel stand out for us was staff. All of the staff we met at the hotel were friendly and have made our stay enjoyable. Special mention to Lana ( very professional and knowledgable) and a big thank you to Peter who was professional, helpfull and such a joy to be around. I think that both Lana and Peter are massive assest to hotel and can honestly say that they have made our stay simpler and more enjoyable.
Would definately reccomend this place to anyone - Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms and good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slav c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

4 of us stayed for 1 night on 14th May 2014 (4 bikers). on our way up to the NorthWest 200. The welcome from the reception was very friendly. The rooms were very clean and ours was spacious. The beds were VERY comfortable and the rooms lovely and warm. Everything was clean and in good condition. It was our first time in Dublin and the staff were really helpful. We had a couple of pints of Guiness in the bar and it was the BEST pint of Guiness we have EVER had. 10 Euros taxi from the Temple bar area. All in all excellent value, really good friendly service and lovely clean comfortable rooms. We were able to park our bikes on the road outside the hotel. One of us left the tent on the bike. The receptionist rang our room to suggest that we take it off just to make sure. How thoughtful was that? All in all excellent. Would definitely recomend

Room Tip: Best Guiness EVER
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lloydangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We dined here for lunch 3 times over the last few weeks. Food was consistently good, great choice and price and on two of our visits was served politely and efficiently. Parking is a huge problem. We had to run out to top up the meters! I read robertmurpy123's review and agree about the rather obnoxious older woman who appeared on the last occasion we ate there. She had the sergeant major approach to guests and everything was a nuisance to her. It was a pity because all the other staff were so nice and helpful. Two of our party wanted chips with their lunch and what a big issue that was! How can chips be a problem at lunchtime in a good restaurant? Anyway the chips did appear and they were lovely served by a very polite different lady. If this sergeant major could be made disappear when guests are around, the Maples would get a five!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank limericklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

It was a nice hotel and we slept very well. I would give it more stars but for the parking.

We were told there was free parking. What they don't mention is that it's a short little strip beside the hotel that was full of cars when we arrived. We were then told there was more free parking 100 metres up the road, down another side Road. Again, all full. After what seemed like an age, and VERY irritated, we gave up and paid for parking.

The only thing that redeemed this blatant untruth on their website (because clearly they can't always guarantee parking) is that the staff were lovely.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank raptor999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dergvale Hotel
#76 of 151 in Dublin
358 reviews
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#110 of 151 in Dublin
667 reviews
West County Hotel
#87 of 151 in Dublin
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,921 reviews
Maple Hotel
#134 of 151 in Dublin
511 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maples House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maples House Hotel

Property: Maples House Hotel
Address: 79 - 81 Iona Road | Glasnevin, Dublin 9, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maples House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maples House Hotel is a family run hotel in Glasnevin, built in the early 1900's. The Maples House offers you elegance and charm, tucked away in a prestigious and leafy red brick enclave. The transition from residential quiet to the buzz of the city will provide you with a stay that you will remember for a long time to come, only minutes from Dublin city center, Glasnevin Cemetery, Ireland's sporting home Croke Park and the famous Botanical Gardens. The Hotel is on all major bus routes and tourist attractions are all close to hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Maples House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maples Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing