We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great helpful staff”
Review of Maples House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maples House Hotel
Ranked #97 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booked this very last minute for a weekend stay. Price was very reasonable for Dublin accommodation.

Reception and bar staff were extremely helpful and friend.

Bedroom was small and basic, but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkGirl_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Staff friendly, rooms nice and clean, very comfortable for a few nights stay.

Me and my friend came here over the 6th to the 9th of June, both of us found the staff very helpful and approachable, the room albeit small but just big enough for the both of us and still gave us plenty of room to not get in each other's way.

It's in a great, quiet location, easy to navigate bus routes and plenty of buses as well into the city centre.

Would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to visit Dublin!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jade E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We only have positive things to say about this hotel. After a 24 hour flight from Australia it was a relief to sleep in a comfy bed in a quiet part of town. Liam found us a parking spot for our car soon after we arrived. The hotel is an older style building but nicely renovated and has all the amenities we needed. The restaurant is good value for money and all the staff made us very welcome. We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our first time in Dublin and we picked a great spot. Let me tell you why it was good for the both of us: we were in Dublin with the purpose of visiting as much as possible in a short period of time (4 nights).

The beds were great! The mattress had a memory foam I think. Anyway, once we came in the rooms late at night it felt great and fell asleep instantly. Also I think the walls are very thick. We couldn't hear any neighbours at all (no voices, no showers etc, only sometimes on the hallway, no biggie).

The House is located in a very nice residential area filled with Georgian Style Houses. Basically, if you want to get a sense of how they live, this is it. The roads were quiet at night. And there isn't much traffic during the day either. 5 Minutes from the hotel you could walk to a bus station that gets you anywhere in the city center, buses that go to and from the airport and a railway station (Drumcondra). Also there's a small supermarket near the bus station and a little down the road a good Pizza place if you like that.

10-12 minutes walking from the hotel, you can find the Botanical Gardens (free entry) which are splendid and a must-see. Great place to take a stroll and take a breath of fresh air.

There's also a Bar and Restaurant which serve good meals at smaller prices (a bit, not much) than in the city center.

All in all we really liked it and enjoyed our staying there. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illuminatus4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed there only two nights but was fantastic - is not really about rooms or location it is all about service - Lana from reception was so nice from the moment we arrived , so professional , helpful, nice, polite !
And the next morning we met Peter who was the so nice , happy and make our stay there so nice .
I work in industry where customer satisfaction is a key to business and customer service(especially Peter and Lana ) is absolutely amazing - I would recommend this hotel to everyone and definitely will stay there again. I hope Peter and Lana still will be there and managers do realise and appreciate them working for them

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed in Dublin for a short city break and this hotel has suited us perfectly. Hotel rooms were basic but clean ( good value for money). Location of hotel has proved to be perfect for seeing Dublin ( City centre within walking distance and bus links are excellent).
What has made this hotel stand out for us was staff. All of the staff we met at the hotel were friendly and have made our stay enjoyable. Special mention to Lana ( very professional and knowledgable) and a big thank you to Peter who was professional, helpfull and such a joy to be around. I think that both Lana and Peter are massive assest to hotel and can honestly say that they have made our stay simpler and more enjoyable.
Would definately reccomend this place to anyone - Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms and good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slav c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

4 of us stayed for 1 night on 14th May 2014 (4 bikers). on our way up to the NorthWest 200. The welcome from the reception was very friendly. The rooms were very clean and ours was spacious. The beds were VERY comfortable and the rooms lovely and warm. Everything was clean and in good condition. It was our first time in Dublin and the staff were really helpful. We had a couple of pints of Guiness in the bar and it was the BEST pint of Guiness we have EVER had. 10 Euros taxi from the Temple bar area. All in all excellent value, really good friendly service and lovely clean comfortable rooms. We were able to park our bikes on the road outside the hotel. One of us left the tent on the bike. The receptionist rang our room to suggest that we take it off just to make sure. How thoughtful was that? All in all excellent. Would definitely recomend

Room Tip: Best Guiness EVER
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lloydangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#109 of 151 in Dublin
680 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#89 of 151 in Dublin
645 reviews
Maple Hotel
#135 of 151 in Dublin
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dergvale Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
373 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#82 of 151 in Dublin
1,161 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 151 in Dublin
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maples House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maples House Hotel

Address: 79 - 81 Iona Road | Glasnevin, Dublin 9, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £58 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maples House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maples House Hotel is a family run hotel in Glasnevin, built in the early 1900's. The Maples House offers you elegance and charm, tucked away in a prestigious and leafy red brick enclave. The transition from residential quiet to the buzz of the city will provide you with a stay that you will remember for a long time to come, only minutes from Dublin city center, Glasnevin Cemetery, Ireland's sporting home Croke Park and the famous Botanical Gardens. The Hotel is on all major bus routes and tourist attractions are all close to hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Maples House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maples Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing