We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #54 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This hotel whilst a little difficult to find is in a good location across from St Stephens green close to transport and near a shopping centre and pedestrian mall.The staff are very good and helpful.The rooms are well appointed with an iron and trouser press.There is a safe in the room also.The beds are very comfortable,my only complaint is despite insulation there is still a lot of traffic noise in the rooms facing the street.There is no onsite parking and it is a good 5-10 minute walk to park the car in the arranged parking area,but there is a park out the front of the hotel to unload your bags.Lots of eating places nearby and some great pubs!

Room Tip: Ask for room at back to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jensSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review in relation to your recent stay with us, and for the lovely feedback.
I was delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and also in Dublin.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the O'Callaghan Stephens Green hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards
Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    548
    199
    71
    35
See reviews for
150
566
83
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Really expected more from this so called 'Chick Boutique Hotel'. Had problems with the heating in our room and the staff in reception kept trying to fix it but to no avail. Eventually we were given a small heater, it could not be plugged in as the cord was so short and the power points were all up very high so no warmth for the evening so in the beginning of January in Dublin in minus tempretures no heating! The next morning after complaining again got moved to another room, this room was smaller than the original room and the curtain at one end was all coming off the rail but the heating worked, this time so much happier about that but the safe did not work!

We called down to reception and the Manager came to us with a new safe which she put on the floor and walked out!!!! To me a safe should be bolted down so no one can just walk in and take it like it was brought in! Called reception again and some batteries were brought up for the original safe to see if that fixed the problem, it did.

We were only in Dublin for a city break so it was a shame that we ended up spending so much time at reception, calling reception and changing rooms!

The one thing going for this hotel is the location so if you don't mind bad service stay there!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and also for your feedback in relation to your recent stay.

I was disappointed to hear the issues you experienced throughout your stay, as this is certainly not the quality and service that we provide.

We are the first to admit to our shortcomings, and we clearly fell short on this occassion, and for this i apologise.
I hope we get another opportunity to welcome you back to the O'Callaghan Stephens Green hotel, and to prove to you the quality and service that we at O'Callaghan Hotels provide.


Kind Regards
Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coast Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

ideal place to stay for easy access on foot around Dublin. Two friends sharing - only one chair in the room - and not another to be had because of refurbishment. Offered a stool from the bar. Feel a chair could have been got from somewhere.
All staff very friendly, helpful and obliging. Nice quiet room. Breakfast not quite up to the standard one would expect from a hotel like this.
Apart from breakfast I would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I found this hotel to be a total wast of money. We live in Dublin but stayed here for a riends birthday to make it more special. he staff were incredibley rude!! We arrived at 4 O'clock- after the 2pm check in time to be told no rooms were available. The receptionist took my credit card and started typing away. Another guy then showed up and the two of them started speaking a foreign language while still looking at my card. i became worried as i thought something may be wrong with my booking-- which there wasn't. It took us over half an hour to check in. When we finally got to our room it was nice and spacious with a big bathroom. We went out, however when we came back we couldn't get into our room- there was a problem with the card- 4 trips to reception later it was sorted!!!
The room was very clean and tidy and the beds comfy. The room was on a busy main road so not exactly quiet but we didn't mind. However, the hot water in the taps was way too hot and we couldn't use it for fear of getting burnt.
I would recommended girls staying here to bring their own hairdryers the one is the room does not work!
We were also woken up by the maid at 9am on a Sunday moring- dispite only getting home at 5!! we didn't put the do not disturb sign on the door as we have never felt the need before

Upon checking out we came accross more utter rudeness from reeption- we were told we had already checked out and to just leave!!!

This hotel is not as near as you would think and i would never stay again!

Room Tip: Bring your own hairdryers and keep expectations l!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiFitzsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

General impression of this place was good. Easy to find, being at such a great location in the nicer part of south-central Dublin. Smart looking building, and a good intro to the city. Dealt with very quickly and pleasantly by the person on reception.

The room (1226) was fairly large, and nicely presented. Took us a while to figure out how to turn the lights on - you have to put your keycard into a slot in the wall - and a bit surprising this wasn't explained on check-in. Bit more of the old Cillit-Bang on the grouting in the bathroom would be good, but otherwise nothing wrong with the appearance or cleanliness. Hairdryer, iron, kettle. No biscuits though!

Our room was very quiet, with no street noise as it was to the side - however, because of this we did get a fairly grim view of the building next door - although much preferred to having a noisy room. The temperature was too high though, even without the heating on. We tried in vain to get the air-con working, which just seemed to chuck out hot air no matter what combination of buttons we used. In retrospect, we should have asked but did not want to disturb the staff at 3am! Didn't get much sleep due to the temperature on the first night, and so opened the window on the second night - luckily it was fairly quiet.

Give the bar a miss by the way - staff not quite on the ball in there (if they are there at all), but this is an aside and don't let that put you off staying in the hotel itself.

3 stars seemed too low, but 4 is probably a bit too much for just shy of £90 (without breakfast). I think if the price included breakfast, even just the continental, then it would be better value. I would recommend this place without hesitation but think there are probably slightly cheaper comparable options.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoAdMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I stayed in this hotel with a friend for a few days around St Patricks day. The hotel was great. It was clean, comfortable, had the amenities needed, etc. I was on the second floor up so I could hear people if they were loud in the street....but surprisingly it wasnt that bad. I think it was because the location was further away from most of the bar areas. I enjoyed the stay and would recommend it to others. It is especially good for being in a convenient location with easy access to most areas - but outside of the temple bar or trinity college areas which can get quite noisy.

My one complaint about the hotel is that at check in they made us give our credit card again and took $400. Despite the room being already paid for. When we asked why the woman just keep saying that it was for protection and that we would get it back if there were no damages. It was really weird but when we were leaving we ended up speaking to a manager who informed us that it was to cover for damages, and wasnt actually charged to the credit card, just pre-approved in case they need to take it. It would have been much better if that was explained when we arrived.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiek957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review in relation to your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin, and in the O'Callaghan Stephens Green hotel.

Upon checkin, it is policy to take a preauthorisation on checkin, even though the room is prepaid, to enable you to charge back drinks, food telephone calls etc to your room. If however, you do not use any facilities within the hotel during your stay, we release the preauthorisation upon checkout. It is just a security swipe, and does not take anything from your credit card upon checkin.

Thank you once again for your positive feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the O'Callaghan Stephens Green hotel.

Yours Faithfully
Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

I stayed in this hotel the night before International womens day. To be frank I had tried to cancel it because of reading poor reviews but lastminute.com assured me to go ahead and all would be well. I arrived during the hours of darkness and to be honest walked right past the hotel as it's not directly on the green and it's poorly lit, despite the availability of good signage through glass at the side. Despite it being 8.15 pm the restaurant was empty and in near total darkness. Check in was friendly enough and I was shown to a room near the elevator. Expecting signs of age, I was pleasantly surprised. Curtains and furnishings were new and the bed good. The room overlooked the main room and was noisy but this is to be accepted for the area. Plumbing was also noisy.
With no one in the restaurant, I made for the bar. Service was friendly but the seating throughout requires extensive refurbishment and the flooring needs a scrape and polish to bring it to it's former glory. TV only was available in the bar. As a frequent resident in the Elliott Gibraltar O'Callaghan I missed the availability of live music which would have added to the atmosphere. The bar food was more than acceptable, good quantity and quality and nicely presented. Prices were also acceptable.
Considering the location of this hotel a lot more could be done to make it a happening place to be and something the staff could be proud of, rather than the tired place to be that it has become.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelaholic63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback relating to your recent stay with us, as always, we very much appreciate that you took time to do so.

We look forward to accommodating you in the upcoming future!
Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,314 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,477 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#78 of 151 in Dublin
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing