We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never to return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #58 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My first trip to Dublin and the first stop was O'Callaghan's. The experience was terrible from beginning to end. I was locked out of my room 3 times, & 3 times I waited in the hallway for someone to verify that the room key did not work. I was promised they would have someone reset the key but that never happened. The restaurant service was so slow, that a woman seated next to me walked out. I originally planned on a 4 night stay, but gave a 24 hour advance notice that it would be 3 nights. The hotel never changed it, I was charged for the extra night. Hotels.com called the hotel to verify I only stayed 3 nights, and the hotel said they had no record of my ever staying there. It's a very disorganized, unfriendly atmosphere, and I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write your reviews, and i was most dissappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and that you experienced certain difficulty's throughout your stay.

We at O'Callaghan hotels take pride in the quality and service that we provide to all our customers, however we are the first to admit to our shortcomings, and we clearly fell short on this occassion, and for this, i sincerely apologise.

I do hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the O'Callaghan Stephens Green hotel in the future, and prove to you that we deliver on our mission statement.


Yours Faithfully
Dara McEneaney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,102 - 1,108 of 1,398 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

We booked a room here back in January for our trip in June. When we arrived, we had to wait for them to finish cleaning our room. When they showed us to our room, we had a view of a brick wall on an alleyway. The room was hot, so we opened a window. We were greeted by the aroma of garbage. I called and asked them to see about the air conditioner. When they arrived they told me they would try to fix it.
After thirty minutes they finally told us that the air conditioner was broken and that they would bring us a fan. I reminded them that I had booked months in advance a room with an air conditioner and more of a view than an alley. They told me they were full and could do nothing about it. I told them that I wanted my money back. They found us a nice, cool room with a view of the corner of the park. After that, our stay was much more enjoyable. Make certain you read the fine print before you agree to anything and be very specific about your expectations.

Room Tip: Be very specific about what you want in a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safronia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback relating to your recent stay with us, as always, we very much appreciate that you took time to do so.

We look forward to accommodating you in the upcoming future!
Best Regards
Elena Talpalaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Our family of five, visited Dublin the week before Christmas 2010 after my son finished a semester abroad. Hotel is in a convenient location to shopping and food. We had a one bedroom suite and regular hotel room. The one bedroom was very large even by our American standards, the living room had a queen sofa bed, a love seat, chair, and a large desk. The bedroom was very large. The shower was large enough for several people and had a great shower head. We did have some heat issues (as it was below freezing and snowing every day), but the staff quickly brought up an effective space heater. There were no problems with the other room.
The parking was at the nearby shopping mall and was a 10 minute walk. The hotel was hard to find, we drove by twice before we noticed it right on the corner. The bar was nice, but we were the only ones there.
The staff was very helpful. Our car broke down while we were in Dublin. The front desk (I believe it was mostly Dara) helped us call the rental company and AAA and fielded many calls for us from AAA. We had to stay an extra night and were able to get the internet special rate we had for our planned two night stay. We got a great rate which made our stay very affordable and the location was very convenient to what we wanted to see. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback relating to your recent stay with us, as always, we very much appreciate that you took time to do so.

We look forward to accommodating you in the upcoming future!
Best Regards
Elena Talpalaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We had booked on-line & arrived mid-afternoon. They had a lot of trouble finding our reservation, and when they did, told us that we had to stay at one of their other hotels, The Alexandria, in a less desirable location. No attempt was made to make any recompense.Wi Fi is expensive. Terribly disappointing. The hotel also put the full price on credit card approval, but then had no record of that, so we paid AGAIN on leaving.We also had to pay a lot for parking.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaurieG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I like the location. Room is nice service is good. However, Internet is only available at a charge, and is not broadband unless you pay an exorbitant fee. Since I was in Dublin on business, this is unacceptable. O'Callaghan's need to enter the 21st century and provide good internet service. If Insomnia can do it, surely the hotel can afford a router.
Every thing else was fine, but I will now look elsewhere for rooms in Dublin.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Das45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This hotel was REALLY hard to find but once you did it looks just like the pictures. The glass structures were really cool, inside was not our favorite place we stayed but it is in the middle of the city centre.

Great location for shopping (within walking distance), several AMAZING restaurants in the area and across from one of the main parks. Overall beautiful!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksteff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel.


Kind Regards,
Dara McEneaney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This hotel whilst a little difficult to find is in a good location across from St Stephens green close to transport and near a shopping centre and pedestrian mall.The staff are very good and helpful.The rooms are well appointed with an iron and trouser press.There is a safe in the room also.The beds are very comfortable,my only complaint is despite insulation there is still a lot of traffic noise in the rooms facing the street.There is no onsite parking and it is a good 5-10 minute walk to park the car in the arranged parking area,but there is a park out the front of the hotel to unload your bags.Lots of eating places nearby and some great pubs!

Room Tip: Ask for room at back to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jensSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review in relation to your recent stay with us, and for the lovely feedback.
I was delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and also in Dublin.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the O'Callaghan Stephens Green hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards
Dara McEneaney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#64 of 150 in Dublin
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,401 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £92 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing