We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I Pricelined this. My bet was 80 dollars per night for a weekend stay.

My room was in the modern wing. It was huge, with a king size bed, big flat screen tv, and huge, good shower.

Location is really good as well. Just on the southwest corner of the Green.

There is a gym, though it has only a few, old machines. Internet is NOT free, and is kind of expensive. Breakfast was not included with my priceline and I did not try it. The staff was very nice and lent me an iPod charger when I was in a crunch.

I had a great room and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariposa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback relating to your recent stay with us, as always, we very much appreciate that you took time to do so.

We look forward to accommodating you in the upcoming future!
Best Regards
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    549
    199
    72
    35
See reviews for
152
566
83
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2011

As a first time visitor to Dublin, my experience at the O'Callaghan Hotel improved my entire stay. The front desk attendants were so helpful and recommended great restaurants for what we were looking for each day. They suggested worthwhile attractions and sights to see during our stay and helped us perfect our itinerary upon arrival.

What really surprised me most was their honesty. I forgot my passport and travelers checks in safe of our hotel room on July 27th after check out. Before exiting with our luggage, the front desk attendant found me to return my important belongings. The house keeper had found them in the safe and by giving them to the front desk, was able to make sure they were returned to me. I could not be more appreciative and thankful for such above and beyond star service. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexisDempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and i am delighted to hear that our front office team made such an impact on your stay with us.
I shall certainly compliment them on the above.

Thank you for choosing O'Callaghan hotels, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Faithfully
Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My fiance and I are from the US and stayed at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green hotel on our recent excursion to Ireland. I travel significantly for work, and am used to staying in chain hotels (Hilton brands), and this hotel was pretty decent.

Highlights:
- Location is superb. Walk to St. Stephen's Green, Trinity college, Grafton Street, Temple Bar. Close to the stop for the hop-on, hop-off tours.
- Value. We booked through Orbitz and got a great rate for our stay.
- Staff was helpful in providing recommendations for food
- Room was spacious, clean, had everything you'd expect to find.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willshingleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Dublin.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Faithfully
Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klagenfurt, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for several days and enjoyed its closeness to all the sights one has to see when visiting Dublin. The room - thanks to a very, very nice receptionist - was spacious, with a big comfortable bed, and very quiet. Reception staff was very kind and helpful - and, being Austrians, we were pleased to meet a receptionist from Vienna. Staff in the breakfast room was very reserved and never showed a smile - what a shame.
Otherwise, a very conveniently situated hotel and absolutely recommendable to tourists.
Erna& Franz, Austria

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gino09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin, and also in the O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Faithfully
Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This hotel was pretty good for it's price. We did however pre-pay half our reservation in order to get a discount rate. The place was clean and the service was pretty good. They were kind enough to give us a free upgrade for our honeymoon. The location is the best attribute of this hotel. It is across the street from St. Stephen's Green (thus the name) and very close to Temple Bar and Grafton Street.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkeyeCubs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guests.

Firstly, congratulations on your recent wedding, and i hope you had a nice honeymoon, and secondly, thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write your review.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and also that you had a very enjoyable stay in Dublin, and i hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future, maybe for your anniversary.

Yours Faithfully
Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

As a frequent traveller to Dublin I have had the pleasure of staying in two of the O'Callaghan hotel's - the Alexander and more recently the Stephen's Green hotel. I usually stay in a 4 star hotel and have found the 4-star hotels in Ireland to range from poor to fantastic - pleased to say that St.Stephen's Green hotel falls into the later category.

A passive user on tripadvisor for many years - this is the first time I've felt motivated to post. I'm always surprised at the range of experience guests appear to have with their stay at the Stephen's Green Hotel . I find the refurbished rooms to be of a high standard,
the location very central and in particular the staff to be welcoming and helpful at all times. I'd have to mention the bar staff but in particular Jozef and Jonathan? from the reception desk for special mention.
Their patience with some demanding guests was noticed by my wife and I. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank york_knights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and i am delighted that the O'Callaghan Stephens Green hotel met with and exceeded your expectations.
I shall certainly pass on your lovely comments and feedback to all the staff, and especially those you have so findly mentioned.

We at O'Callaghan hotels look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Faithfully
Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed here for 4 days. Interesting experience because it ranged from very poor to outstanding. Rudest employee/person I have ever been around is Jozef. I was embarrassed for other guests over the 4 days when overhearing his short, surly, almost defiant attitude towards them, never mind to my travelling companions. It is beyond me why he is still working there. Completely opposite experience with Jonathon, who went out of his way for us (and other guests). Julian and Catharine also deserve special mention. The lounge staffing is very poor. Often, the front desk staff (fortunately, never Jozef) were pulled in to take our orders. The food is good, however. When we checked in upon arrival, we had no issues with our room. It was clean, well-stocked, and had an in-room safe that worked. When we stayed again the night before we left, our rooms weren't ready, it was stocked with 8 tubes of shampoo, but no lotion or shower gel, and the safe didn't work. You can't phone room to room so it took me 16 tries to get a) the front desk and b) the front desk at this hotel (there are two other O'Callaghan's nearby), when I was trying to give my travelling companions a wake up call as we were leaving early for the airport. I got the Mont Claire front desk once. Most of the other times it would ring then I'd get a dial tone. At 0440 in the morning, when I finally did get an answer, I was connected to the wrong room room/hotel(?) and woke a lady up. The location is very good as it's close to all the action on Grafton Street. Jozef is the reason I can't give the hotel a higher rating. Without him, I'd give it an overall 4.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Queen_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and for highlighing the positives and negatives during your stay.

I shall certainly compliment the staff that you have mentioned, and address those who have not performed, and i would like to take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of the staff member, as i can assure you, this is not his usual high standard of customer service.

Once again, please accept my apologies, and i do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel


Yours Faithfully
Dara McEnenaey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,479 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,321 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#77 of 151 in Dublin
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing