We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful, great location”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I just had the most special time in Dublin, our first trip to Ireland. At the St. Stephen's Green O'Callaghan Hotel, hotel manager Sally gets top, top marks for looking after us in royal fashion. First off, we arrived early, like 8:00 am, and when asked, they upgraded us to perhaps the best room in the hotel: a secluded corner "honeymoon penthouse" on the 5th floor with king-size bed and 30 feet of windows and sliding glass doors onto a private rooftop patio overlooking St. Stephen's Green! (Room 1526. If you are a smoker, this is absolutely the room for you). Sally was even willing - bless bless bless her! - to act as our chaplain for renewing our wedding vows, as St. Patrick's Day was our 10th wedding anniversary. Hotel staff were alert and responsive, particularly Josef, who got on the taxi people right away when I forgot my purse in one. The kitchen was terrific for a chain hotel: every dish was delicious. We went on a bus excursion to the Wicklow mountains, Glendalough and Kilkenny as well, and toured the Guinness Brewery in Dublin (worth the price). Mid-March was coat-and-scarf weather, around 55, but it only rained one day while we were there and afternoons were usually sunny (yay!). And if you've never been to Dublin during the St. Patrick's Day Festival, the people-watching is superb. Thank you Sally, Josef and Sinead for managing us California lovebirds so wonderfully well! (Recommend also Kehoe's pub on Dawson Street for good company, and the Old Mill Restaurant in Temple Bar, for to-die-for mussels.)

Room Tip: Pillows were a bit flat, just ask for extra ones. We loved Room 1526. Really a gem. Bit of a trek th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetOutAndAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback relating to your recent stay with us, as always, we very much appreciate that you took time to do so.

We look forward to accommodating you in the upcoming future!
Best Regards
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    523
    191
    69
    32
See reviews for
140
546
81
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

As a group/tour leader, no better place than this one. Located smack centre, 4-star, great breakfast, Bewley's decaf in your room. Allows you to do anything and go anywhere in Dublin departing from here on foot. I'll book again. Alan

Room Tip: better street side (harcourt/st. stephen's green)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Alan D,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your very kind comments, delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to welcoing you back the next time you are visiting from Italy.
With Kind Regards - Sally Hughes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

FLAWLESS hotel, beautiful modern room, friendly staff.. and the best shower i ve ever had!

the location of the hotel is in walking distance from all the major venues and attractions in dublin, I would highly reccomend a stay here to anyone who appreciates a quality hotel, and a great nights rest.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Jon B,
Many thanks for your kind comments, delighted you enjoyed your stay & that you will recommend us to your friends. Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments.
With Kind Regards - Sally Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Had a lovely few days at this hotel, the staff were very helpful and the food was fantastic. The only down side was that there was no entertainment on in the hotel not even for St Patricks Day but still an enjoyable time. Thank you from your Scottish guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Lorraine L, our Scottish guests, it was a pleasure too meet with you & delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken on board your comment concerning entertainment in the bar. Thank you so much for your kind comments & we look forward to weloming you back the next time you visit Dublin.
With Kind Regards - Sally Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We checked in on St. Patrick's Day, but everything was great. Convenient location to everything, including Temple Bar. Beds were pretty comfy. Reception was pleasant and helpful with everything...even called around and found a car rental open the Sunday afterwards and helped us make arrangements. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and would stay there again if I was in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Tasha B,
Delighted you had a comfy nights stay with us & happy we could help with your car rental, we very much appreciate your kind comments & look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Dublin.
With Kind Regards - Sally Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The prices were standard - by that I mean $200 or so, it was St Paddy's weekend, after all. Staff was great - extremely helpful with questions, check-in/out, finding us a rental car and anything that we needed. Rooms were nice, clean, quiet and the bed was super comfortable. I think they just renovated all rooms as the entire place looked great. Convenient location in Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear RPettee,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments, delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & you found the rooms comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Once again, thank you so much for your kind comments.
With Kind Regards - Sally Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

on arrival the hotel looked good, it was easy to find and only a short distance from public transport. the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming. the breakfast room was wonderful - i sat and watched the world go by while eating a very good breakfast. the rooms were large and well appointed, the curtains blocked out the light to ensure a good lie in. the beds were absolutely divine.( could have done with a few more channels on the tv though) the bathroom was large - the shower was nice but even on the coldest setting was extremely hot, good for us adults but something to be aware of if you are taking small children.the rooms were extremely clean and well looked after and supplied. the bar was lovely as well. by far one of the best hotels i've stayed in. will DEFFINATELY be booking it again for next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Jan P,
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you so much for your kind comments concerning staff & our breakfast. I agree it's a great place to sit & watch the world go by. We look forward to welcoming you back next year or before. Once again, thank you so much for your comments.
With Kind Regards - Sally Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing