We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A little hard to find as we had never been to Dublin and we expected it to be right on St Stephens Green it is actually diagonally across from one corner of St Stephens Green but once we checked in we realized how conveniently located it was and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank condonlongbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear condonlongbeach,

Thank you for choosing O'Callaghan Hotel Stephen Green on your recent visit to Dublin.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us - I am hopefull you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Dublin.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    541
    199
    71
    34
See reviews for
148
563
83
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Being frequent visitors to Dublin my girlfriend and I took a gamble and booked O'Callaghan's on the Green without knowing anything about the hotel. By the end of our stay we were quite satisfied, although the hotel is certainly not without some glaring flaws.

The hotel is attractive from the outside and is in a fantastic location, just on the outskirts of the Green, a three minute walk from Grafton Street and right in the heart of Dublin's city centre. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. There was a new girl training on the front desk and despite being quite unsure of herself she seemed competent and professional. This friendliness continued throughout our stay as staff were ever eager to answer our questions and accomodate us. We were provided with a late check-out and our luggage was leftover for upwards of ten hours as we attended a concert.

The rooms were lovely, very clean and presented. A slight flaw was that our double bed was actually two single beds pushed together...a minor gripe but it was still contrary to what we ordered. We had also requested a room with a view, I understand that this can sometimes not be provided but our e-mail request for this (which was made months ago) was not even replied to. Quite disappointing.

Sadly, that disappointment continued during the stay, hence the title of my review. Firstly, the mere notion of a "4 star" hotel in Dublin City centre not having free WiFi for its guests is almost borderling infringement on one's human rights. We live in an age where you can access free WiFi in cafes, fast-food diners and buses, yet in a hotel that boasts four stars you have to actually pay for pitiful WiFi? Similar to this is the TV in the rooms, providing 18 channels and only roughly 9 of these work. Not great when all you want to do is take a couple of hours to relax before bed or going out.

Lastly, the bath and shower in the room could certainly do with an upgarde. While the sink etc were lovely the bath took a lot of the shine from the room. Sealant that had dried up and was past its designed use.

O'Callaghans is a nice hotel. It's fine. It isn't outstanding and it isn't the worst place I've ever stayed. However, would I stay here again when there are hotels like the Fitzwilliam just down the street? I really don't think so.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chickstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Chickstop,

Thank you for your lovely review, your review is very positive in parts.

I am sorry you had difficulty with our internet service.

We have addressed the TV stations in our rooms and our service has resumed to normal. Thank you for bring the issue to our attention.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Dublin is not the cheapest place in the world to stay. O'Callaghans though is a Great hotel for the price. The staff are very friendly, the beds are very comfortable and the location is great for the City centre. I had been warned that noise from the street was an issue with some rooms however this wasn't my experience.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Chris W,

Thank you you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

I am very grateful about the positive commitments about the team around the building.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Reading the negative reviews of O'Callaghan Stephens Green and can't help but feel our American friends are expecting a little too much and being overly harsh in their comments. Remember folks, there is no tipping in Ireland so you won't get as much faux helpfulness from staff!

I stayed in O'Callaghan Stephens Green last weekend. The hotel is in a fab location right in Dublin City Centre. Lobby nice and clean. Pleasant and efficient reception staff. Arrived and was given key to a second floor room. Bedroom really is 4*. Great mattress, lots of pillows, warm room. Really heavy curtains too - keeps out all light! Shower good, everything of a clean standard.

I went out to a concert and returned at about 1am with a friend who the lobby staff kindly called a taxi for. Not much street noise as it was a Sunday night but having stayed on a street-facing room at the Gresham I'm well accustomed to loud Dublin nights!

I will take marks off for the 30mins only free wifi. In this day and age that is unacceptable. Didn't eat in the hotel but bar and restaurant areas looked inviting.

O'Callaghan Stephens Green does the job. Good location, nice rooms, friendly staff, lovely and clean. Use booking.com to place your reservation - they have great deals. Aside from wifi, I can't fault my stay at all!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank maeveobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear maeveobrien,

Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here in the hotel.

I very much hope we get the pleasure of your company in the coming months.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Good hotel, excellent front desk staff, large spacious rooms, very good location close to shopping, breakfast is good but staff are slow responding. Elevators are small but fast and easy to get when needed. Hosts a major Canadian airlines air crew.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hind B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Hind B,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We were delighted you enjoyed your time with us here in the hotel.

I do hope we get the pleasure of your company in the near future.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My whole week stay there was a calamity of errors so its hard to know where to start.

One with the unkept room, hard as hell bed, paper thin pillows, ceiling that leaked like a waterfall as soon as the person above you started showering, the banging of the doors by the housekeeping staff, the piece of bacon n the floor that stayed there my entire visit just to see if anyone ever cleaned it! Its probably still there!

The breakfast is the worst part, gross! I thought most people could get breakfast right. Awful coffee, watery overcooked scrambled eggs, yuck!!

After requesting a room away from the street as it is incredibly loud street side, we were promised everything would be moved into the new room. They forgot. Even though we were paying a higher rate for the new room. We then moved everything ourselves in their broken down luggage cart.

Now I realize why this was the only hotel with rooms.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street and away from Housekeeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherB1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear HeatherB1111,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am very sorry your stay was so dissappointing - I have sent you a private message via Tripadvisor, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss youre stay in more detail.

I very much look forward to talking with you in person.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The title says most of it. You get, free, 30 minutes of Wi-Fi every 24 hours and the connection is slow. Otherwise they want 5 Euro a day.

I left a pair of jeans at the desk one night for cleaning and they had not even been sent out 24 hours later when i went to pick them up. This is not good customer service.

Most of the front desk people do not acknowledge your existence. The early morning people are the most helpful.

Room Tip: In the back. The street is really noisy when the pubs close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NellieBelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear NellieBelle2013,

I am delighted you were able to take the time from your busy day to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We are dissappointed that you had difficulty accessing our internet service - we have increased our complimentary access to 60 minutes.

All bookings that are made directly through our website receive complimentary access to our internal wifi.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.7 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,288 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing