We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything Perfect”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in Dublin and this was my first stay at O'Callaghan's on St. Stephen's Green. I can't understand why this establishment is at number 76 on the tripadvisor listing when it far exceeds the majority of the hotels listed before it. I find it extremely hard to comprehend any of the negative ratings it has been given. I presume it is often simply a case of attitude. I found the staff extremely courteous, friendly, efficient, professional, obliging and just generally nice people that evidently enjoy their jobs and are very good at them. The hotel couldn't be in a better position, on the Green, bar the Shelbourne and the Fitzwilliam it is the most favourably located. Top marks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Babeling,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your recent stay with us.
I am so pleased that you felt you were well taken care of throughout your time with us. Please be assured that I will be sharing your words of appreciation with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another memorable stay.

Best Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    523
    191
    69
    32
See reviews for
140
546
81
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed here for a romantic/shopping weekend. Really good location but quiet also considering its location. I expected more from the executive room but at the same time there was nothing wrong with it. Staff were helpful but highlight of stay was the particularly impressive breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear drdryan,


Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted you had a nice trip to Dublin. I am hopeful we will get the pleasure of your company in the coming months.


Best Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel in August 2013. We had a "junior suite" which was a terrific room and really a surprising amount of space for a European hotel. The hotel breakfast is only fair, the real advantage to this hotel is the location. It's close to Grafton Street and a manageable walk to Temple Bar but it is located on a quiet corner of St. Stephen's Green which is more relaxing. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gf2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear gf2020 ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased that you felt you were well taken care of throughout your time with us Please be assured that I will be sharing your words of appreciation with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another memorable stay.

Best Personal Regards,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

O'Callaghan's Stephens Green Hotel

We've been fortunate to visit Dublin more than once. We've stayed here before.
We've stayed at Jury's Christ Church on occasion.
While each has its features, O'Callaghan's Stephens Green Hotel has a few more pluses.

Located on the southwest corner of St. Stephen's Green, the hotel is 15 minute walk to St. Patrick's Church and Marsh's Library (you really have to visit this place!), a 5 minute walk to Grafton Street, and the start of the southern line of the Luas light rail system. The hotel sports it's own pub and a delightful dining room for breakfast and other meals. The rooms are functional and clean. We stayed in a twin room on the the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel on Cuffe Street. Traffic noise was inescapable despite heavy drapes. The building's electrical system seems stretched by the needs of current travelers. We tripped a breaker by having an iPhone, iPad, iPod touch charging and attempting to rest the thermostat while watching TV. I know. First world problems.

Breakfast is a treat and a nightcap in-house is as good a way to end the day as any other.

The staff is friendly and efficient and exceedingly accommodating to special requests.

The price was right, the locations swell. In fact, the only complaint is that they just can NOT get the whole wake-up-call thing right. On one try, we got transferred to the front desk of another O'Callaghan's hotel! Either there is no one to answer at the front desk to take the request, or they get the time wrong, or they get the room wrong or they call the wrong room in the morning. This happened twice during our stay, including on our last morning in Dublin. It had taken forever for someone to answer at the desk to take the request the night before. Instead of calling our room in the morning, the desk called another room and but for our waking up on our own, we would have missed our flight home.

There is a 5 to be had. But more care must be taken regarding the essentials. And so, only a 3.5.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Tripcon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Stephens Green Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was my second visit to Stephens Green Hotel and this time I was on business and not on holiday as I was last summer. The room I was allocated was fabulous with a lovely view over the Green. I had room service for my dinner and breakfast and the attention given to this was outstanding. I received a call mid way through my dinner to ensure everything was ok, I have never in all my travels had this service and I was so impressed . For breakfast I think it may have been the Manager of the Restaurant or Reception who brought it up and again outstanding customer care. With the hotel being right in the centre of Dublin beside all the shops and tourist attractions I would highly recommend this hotel and this is from either a Leisure or Business point of view. 5 stars for service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marian40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Marian40,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased that you felt you were well taken care of throughout your time with us.
Please be assured that I will be sharing your words of appreciation with the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another memorable stay.

Best Personal Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

lovely hotel, well located, room was clean and tidy.disappointed that free internet not available.
no cream Friday night so Irish coffee not quite what it should have been
staff pleasant and helpful, Christmas lights on Grafton street were beautiful.

Room Tip: room overlooking the front quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Heather C.,


Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

Your constructive feedback allows us the opportunity to review and improve upon the hotels facilities and services and I have shared your comments to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travel plans see you return to Dublin.

Best Personal Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

First visit to o'callaghan at stephens green, hotel in perfect location just on stephens green at the top of grafton street, very good location for tourist attractions near the green .Check in was very quick and pleasant, room was superb thought I just booked a standard room but I got an executive. Very clean and everything you could possibly need, the only gripe I would have was that for a four start hotel there was no mini bar, like to have a drink whilst getting ready to go out. Bed was very comfortable and room was very quite, lovely nights sleep.
Would recommend this hotel,Yes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cillian25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear laurainne,

Thank you for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor.
I have shared your comments with the team in the hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed your trip to Dublin, hopefully we will get the pleasure of your company in the not to distant future.

Best Personal Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing