We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent conditions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #56 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Stephens Green Hotel in Dublin is located on the corner of Stephens Green, beside Harcourt Street and Cuff Street, minute’s walks from the main shopping street, Grafton Street and many international business headquarters in Dublin.

Very rich breakfast, rooms are very clean and comfy, staff very useful and friendly. Free wi-fi!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IonutChepeneag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear IonutChepeneag,

Let me start by mentioning that, as a team, we are thrilled with your positive comments! I will ensure to pass this on to all members of our team.

We are glad that you found your stay comfortable and that you enjoyed the breakfast options provided as part of our breakfast buffet.

O'Callaghan Stephen's Green aims to always provide our clients with a comfortable, relaxing stay and we certainly appreciate the time taken by yourself to provide us with your feedback.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Va multumim.

Best wishes,


Elena Talpalaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
There are newer reviews for O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Everything was perfect, meals, very hospitable stuff, beautiful room.

Breakfast had many little delicacies.

The only downside would be that probably in my room the AC unit was malfunctioning and was getting pretty loud during the night.

I would stay again.
Not in that room though.

Room Tip: Make sure to check with the front desk that your room has a non-loud AC unit
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Markos S,

Firstly let me start off by thanking you for leaving us feedback regarding your recent stay.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our stay and enjoyed the breakfast offered.

With regards to the lousy A/C unit, we can only apologise for this inconvenience but having raised this issue, we will follow up with our maintenance team and ensure these issues are looked into.

Once again, thank you sincerely and we look forward to seeing you again in the upcoming future.

Best regards,

Elena Talpalaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 5am and staff went overboard to make sure we got to our rooms immediately. They were so friendly and accommodating. Room was large and very well appointed in the new wing.
Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peggypilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Peggypilot,


Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us here at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green.
The satisfaction of our customers is central to our team and as such, we are very happy to hear your positive feedback which has been passed over to all the team.

We look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Elena Talpalaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My family and I recently spent a three night stay in the Dublin area and were extremely impressed with the Stephen's Green Hotel. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Juan assisted us in getting settled and made sure we were heading in the right directions per our itinerary. I had several documents I needed to print and when I asked where I could make copies (expecting and fully prepared to pay for a service), Juan offered to print anything I emailed to him for free. This was one of many small touches that make the hotel stay memorable and will ensure that we return.

Our rooms were clean, quiet and well equipped. Room service was prompt and courteous and too boot, they serve a mean fish and chips at the restaurant/bar (and great Guinness!)

Thank you to all who made our trip special. See you on our next pass.

Note, we stayed Jan 2nd - Jan 4th.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Simon B,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments! I am happy you found the staff very friendly, our location very central.
Please be assured that I will be sharing your words of appreciation with the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another memorable stay at the O’Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Best Personal Regards,
Elena Talpalaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and were very pleased with our choice. The location was perfect for our particular needs and is also very convenient for the Grafton Street shopping area. There is a Luas stop just across the road. The hotel does not have its own car park, but offers a discounted rate for a public car park a few minutes walk away.

We had a lovely room which was a nice size and surprisingly quiet given the location. The bed was very large and comfortable. The lighting was very good both in the bedroom and the bathroom. Everything was very clean though I would suggest replacing the grouting in the shower area.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We got a very good deal for a mid week stay.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanonRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Canon Rock,

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us here at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green.

We were delighted to receive your positive feedback, this means a lot to us.

We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,
Elena Talpalaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This standard business hotel has a great location on St.Stephen's Green but the hotel feels cold and no personality. Staff and warm and friendly, bedroom large, clean comfortable bed if dated decor. Bathroom spartan but clean. Breakfast basic but I wouldn't rate this a four star hotel. The lounge/bar feels more like a motorway cafe. But if you want a comfortable bed, generously proportioned room in a great location I would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Tish A,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
We are working on a redevelopment plan for the hotel which will include all our public areas.
Your constructive feedback allows us the opportunity to review and improve upon the hotels facilities and services and I have shared your comments to our team.

Hopefully we will get the opportunity to welcome you back and you can see the improvements we have made.
Do not hesitate to contact me directly on elena.talpalaru@ocallaghanhotels.com.

Best Regards,
Elena Talpalaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. we were allocated in one the best room in the house, top floor ,great view and and good facilities. However, the bed was awful. we couldn't sleep properly for the 2 nights. We complained to the manager and he kindly refunded some of our cost. The public areas of the hotel looked dated and tired. The breakfast room a bit small but very basic. you can see dust and dirt on the curtain walling frame. The hotel charge 10 euro for breakfast if you pre-book it which was not bad. The breakfast was great but was bad either.The staff of the hotel were very polite and helpful. The hotel is situated in one the nicest area in Dublin within walking distance to the main South shopping area, temple bar and Trinity college. Number 7 hop on hop off bus stop is within 10 mins walking distance whilst the bus stop for airport is within 20 mins walking distance.Overall, it is not bad hotel but shame about the bed it can ruin your holiday. If get a special deal on this hotel from internet then go for it otherwise I would go for other hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have balconies
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Villa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear guest,


We are very grateful that you've taken the time to provide us with your comments referring to your recent stay with us here at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel.

.Your constructive feedback allows us the opportunity to review and improve upon the hotels facilities and services and I have shared your comments to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travel plans see you return to Dublin.
Do not hesitate to contact me directly on elena.talpalaru@ocallaghanhotels.com

Best Personal Regards,

Elena Talpalaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#72 of 150 in Dublin
805 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,347 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £128 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing