We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find in the heart of Dublin (fantastic)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #59 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I cannot rate the hotel highly enough - we had a great weekend there - from start to finish it was fantastic - the location is spot on - staff cannot do enough for you - in all a great find - I will be back and can highly recommend

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mississippi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Mississippi1234,

Let me start by thanking you on behalf of all the team for your feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the location to be ideal.

We do hope to see you again in the upcoming future,

Best wishes,


Elena Talpalaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 1,398 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

All aspects of this hotel are very nice. Stayed for four nights in late January. The room was available early which was a pleasant surprise. The staff throughout the hotel could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Every time I interacted with one of them they had a smile on their face. Special shout to Linda in the bar. Very pleasant and had a nice conversation with her during a slow period. The room was nicely appointed and clean. The location was great...an easy walk to all of the city centre and I found it to be very quiet. I have stayed in two of the other OCALLAGHAN properties in Dublin and this was my favorite.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear jrotte,

Thank you most kindly for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your previous stay. We are delighted that all was to your satisfaction and we certainly look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

Rest assured that your positive comments have been passed on to all the team.

Best wishes,


Elena Talpalaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Where to start with this review i have to ask. Firstly i emailed the hotel twice but weeks later is yet to receive a reply.

My husband and i booked this hotel on a two night get away in december and decided to stay at the O Callaghan's Hotel St. Stephan's Green. After a long journey we checked in, the parking location is not explained great and we were told there was a hotel discount but on paying you could clearly see there was no discount.

Our room was clean but the bathroom was not and it could be clearly seen that there was a need of a deep clean, Our duvet cover was torn as it was so worn but worst than the the duvet itself was a yellow colour certainly no a white clean cover it should be. The disappointment started from there !!!!!!!!!

The next day, we went to use the safe before we left the room but it wasnt work, of coarse this happens and i totally understand. i rang reception, explained that the safe isnt working but thought it was in need of a new battery and was told that a porter would be up to our room within a couple of minutes. we waited 30 minutes when i said i would leave first to go sightseeing while my husband waited for the porter. When passing reception i reminded the receptionist that we were waiting on a porter and he apologised and said he were look after it straight away again reminding him it was more then likely just a battery needed. Another hour and a half and 2 further phone calls to reception from my husband, in total 2 hours for the porter to arrive and when he did he said it was the battery and needed to get one!!!!!!!! Also the ironing board in our room was broken and the iron did not work.

My biggest grip was on the morning we were checking out at 8.30 am YES!!! 8.30 AM, we were woken up by a member of house keeping staff waking us and walked just inside our room. CHECK OUT IS 12 NOON, This was extremely frustrating to woken up so they could get us to check out but also to step foot in our room is totally unacceptable. Again before check out they knocked on our door again to make sure we were awake. The hotel was closing for christmas that day and i understand everyone wants to go home but harassing guests to wake up and check out before the stated time of check out is not acceptable.

On check out i went to pay as i gave a credit card on check in but only as a guarantee and told the receptionist that i wanted to pay by cash but when i went to pay, the bill had already been charged to my credit card. I told the girl on reception about all our issues only to be told sorry that was it, nothing like do you want to speak to a manager. i wasn't looking for a discount!!

I sent 2 emails to the hotel as i felt the issue of a employee walking into a guests room needed highlighting but have yet to receive a reply

SO SO Disappionted to say the least

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hanora79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Hanora79,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am very sorry your stay was so dissappointing - I have sent you a private message via Tripadvisor, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail.

I very much look forward to talking with you in person .
My direct email address is elena.talpalaru@ocallaghanhotels.com

Best Personal Regards,

Elena Talpalaru
O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The room was very nice and comfortable, and a short walk from the Grafton St area, with great restaurants, pubs and shops in the immediate area. The breakfast was nice, and staff very friendly, quite inexpensive for the centre of Dublin. You can park in the close by Stephen's Green Shopping centre - at a good rate if you get your card stamped at the hotel. I would definitely recommend, and will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear DublinKevin,

Firstly, we would take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to highlight your stay with us.

First of all, let us start by taking this opportunity for taking the time to send us your kind words regarding your recent stay.

The satisfaction of our customers is central to our team and as such, we are very happy to hear your positive feedback which has been passed over to all the team.

We look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

Best wishes,

Elena Talpalaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Location is 2 min walk from Grafton St so perfect for shopping in town or getting the Luas to Dundrum Shopping Centre. Room was very comfortable, clean and had everything you would expect. The isn't a luxury hotel but is certain a step up from your standard budget place. No parking which is a pity but as its so central you can walk everywhere anyway. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeO105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear DeeO105,

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us here at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green.

We were delighted to receive your positive feedback, this means a lot to us.

As you can understand, given the location in the heart of the city, we are unable to provide on-site parking but I do hope that you were made aware of our co-operation with the Q Park at Stephen's Green whereby we offer a discount rated for parking there?

We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,

Elena Talpalaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Stephens Green Hotel in Dublin is located on the corner of Stephens Green, beside Harcourt Street and Cuff Street, minute’s walks from the main shopping street, Grafton Street and many international business headquarters in Dublin.

Very rich breakfast, rooms are very clean and comfy, staff very useful and friendly. Free wi-fi!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IonutChepeneag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear IonutChepeneag,

Let me start by mentioning that, as a team, we are thrilled with your positive comments! I will ensure to pass this on to all members of our team.

We are glad that you found your stay comfortable and that you enjoyed the breakfast options provided as part of our breakfast buffet.

O'Callaghan Stephen's Green aims to always provide our clients with a comfortable, relaxing stay and we certainly appreciate the time taken by yourself to provide us with your feedback.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Va multumim.

Best wishes,


Elena Talpalaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Everything was perfect, meals, very hospitable stuff, beautiful room.

Breakfast had many little delicacies.

The only downside would be that probably in my room the AC unit was malfunctioning and was getting pretty loud during the night.

I would stay again.
Not in that room though.

Room Tip: Make sure to check with the front desk that your room has a non-loud AC unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Markos S,

Firstly let me start off by thanking you for leaving us feedback regarding your recent stay.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our stay and enjoyed the breakfast offered.

With regards to the lousy A/C unit, we can only apologise for this inconvenience but having raised this issue, we will follow up with our maintenance team and ensure these issues are looked into.

Once again, thank you sincerely and we look forward to seeing you again in the upcoming future.

Best regards,

Elena Talpalaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#64 of 150 in Dublin
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,402 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £92 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing